Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8561 (Marcy Tilton) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1220 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/09 2:20 AM
Last Updated:1/23/10 7:32 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Yvonski said...
I feel for you. Well done, the outfit looks fantastic. Vogue should send you a bottle of wine for bringing it to their attention. As if they care LOL
3/3/09 2:26 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for being the pioneer on this one. Your results are great, but I feel your pain.
3/3/09 7:37 AM
CarolynGM said...
Thank goodness you reviewed this pattern. I have it and had hoped to make it up soon, but now it's going on the back burner. Yours turned out well despite all the problems you had.
3/3/09 7:52 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Lovely outfit...shame you had the problem that Vogue was not able to figure out. They certainly should owe you something!
3/3/09 8:56 AM
pterion said...
Your outfit looks lovely despite the ordeal. I also think that at the very least Vogue should replace the pattern and reimburse you for the fabric. Thank you so much for the review!
3/3/09 9:09 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
This really looks gorgeous! The Plaza Jacket looks cool with it, too. Thanks for the review though, I've been drooling over that pattern but haven't bought it yet. Wonder how long it'll take them to get ti fixed! LOL!!
3/3/09 9:32 AM
hmacski said...
Hi Ann: I just read your review and it prompted me to go back and re-read the other reviews for this pattern just in the nick of time. This was my next sewing project and I really like the fabric I've picked out for it, so I don't want this project to end up in the trash!! Instead, I've just sent an email to customer service at vogue patterns asking about their plans to revamp the pattern and make good on it for all of us who rushed to purchase it. So thank you all for having educated us about the pitfalls of this pattern. Ann: As always, you've done a creditable job. Great outfit and you've inspired me to try the plaza jacket on a piece of fabric I have in stash. I just gotta say, Missy Ann - you totally rock and always inspire me to try something new.
3/3/09 9:44 AM
moushka said...
Your outfit is gorgeous despite the pattern nightmare. A less experienced sewist would have ended up with a wadder. Let's hope Vogue fixes this error quickly for all of us who love Marcy's designs. Thanks also for identifying the problem with the pattern. At least PR readers will know what to look for if they want to try it out. What an incredible help you are to us here on PR, Ann! Thank you for so generously sharing your expertise and experience with us. Sue
3/3/09 10:07 AM
Robynz said...
I tried this pattern.... luckily I cut a muslin first.... I didn't have the fortitude to go through everything it would have required to make it work.. You are right.. The pattern in incorrect in several places. The length is so long that after I would have shortened it to a better length, I felt I would have lost quite a bit of the feel, (and that would also mean fixing all the other errors.) In the end I tossed the pattern - an expensive throwaway... I was very disappointed!
3/3/09 11:14 AM
DorothyK said...
I know what you went through with this pattern. I'm in awe that you were able to work it out - and thankful that I haven't yet purchased the pattern. The entire outfit looks stunning on you.
3/3/09 12:24 PM
cecelia said...
Thanks for the warning on this since I just bought the pattern. Yours turned out beautifully though.
3/3/09 12:41 PM
sewtime said...
FANTASTIC outfit!!
3/3/09 1:37 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Ann, this is not the first time I've seen you evade the pitfalls of a faulty pattern/difficult fabric and rise from the ashes like the Phoenix. Your entire ensemble is Utter Class and I'm pea green with envy. Lovely, Lily
3/3/09 2:09 PM
Physics Girl said...
Wow... I eyed this pattern quite a bit but passed on it, because there's just too many patterns and too little time. Phew! I'm glad this eventually worked out for you... your results are lovely as always.
3/3/09 4:24 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Ann..thanks so much for this review! I have this pattern and you just saved me alot of angst...whew!
3/4/09 4:00 AM
Mahler said...
This is such a great skirt, littlejazzbird and I wanted to buy the pattern. Am I ever so happy I red your review. Your rescue 911 worked really well. The final look is excellent. For the traumatic stress, I hope that Vogue as good lawyers ! ;-)
3/4/09 9:59 PM
Kit said...
Your skirt turned out great despite all the problems. I have this pattern too so I wrote to Vogue customer service to ask them how to get a corrected version, and they replied with a new instruction sheet in pdf format. The fix is just what you said -- remove extra fabric from perimeter of the three pieces.
3/6/09 8:16 PM
gotasew said...
Thankyou I have this pattern and was going to try it with a pinstripe polyester??? Maybe I'll give it a miss.
3/9/09 10:19 PM
Barbara V said...
Even though the fabric was fussy and the pattern contained fatal flaws your finished skirt is beautiful especially combined with the top and jacket!
3/12/09 1:17 PM
ssssdeb said...
This was very helpful but a bit scary! So glad I read the review before sewing it up. I will contact Vogue to find out about a replacement pattern. Thanks!
3/17/09 1:21 PM
ssssdeb said...
I just got this from Vogue. It sure doesn't seem to jive with this review. I believe the reviewer and think Vogue is not taking full responsibility. Dear Debbie, Thank you for your email concerning Vogue Pattern 8561. Whenever possible we try to provide our home sewers with the information they request. I will send you a copy of the revised guide. The tissue has not been changed. The optional part on the guide you have, has been now made apart of the construction no longer optional. Cordially, Meg Carter Consumer Services
3/18/09 11:18 AM
ssssdeb said...
I just got this second response. Thought I'd share. Dear Debbie, When the problem 1st originated, I pinned the tissue using the new method, and it works correctly. There is nothing wrong with the tissue. Cordially, Meg Carter Consumer Services
3/18/09 11:38 AM
Ann Smith said...
ssssdeb, none of that makes any sense to me. What are they saying?
3/18/09 11:52 AM
m/m said...
Marcy Tilton's website now has an explaination of how to use the pattern piece(s) that gave Ann so much grief. It's all got to do with ironing out the stretch in the bias cut pattern pieces and then recutting them with the stretch removed. See http://www.marcytilton.com/index.php?cid=760 for directions and photos of how to cut the bias pieces. It looks like the directions are being corrected too.
3/22/09 5:03 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Ann, your pinstripe skirt is gorgeous! I want, want, want it. :) Your whole outfit is wonderful. I am bookmarking this review as inspiration for when autumn rolls around. Great outfit!
1/23/10 7:31 PM
sew2little said...
Great look, Ann! As usual, your sense of style is right on! Did you hem by hand or machine? Marci
1/23/10 7:53 PM
Christas said...
Well, you have forged through your traumatic stress and made another very pretty skirt! Your pocket detail is just lovely. Both skirts look so nice! Glad you stuck with it and came up with a solution to the mistakes in the pattern.
1/24/10 0:10 AM
Ann Smith said...
sew2little, I hand sewed the hem. Now that I see it in the photos I think I should have trimmed the hem narrower to prevent drag on the stitches.
1/24/10 1:33 AM
lmg said...
The pocket looks fantastic. I love this new version in grey wool. Dressy but casual. Lovely.
1/24/10 1:39 PM
Barbara V said...
Ann, Both of your skirts are fabulous each creating a different mood and fashion need. That your DH assisted in leveling the hemline is very sweet!
1/24/10 1:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Farbenmix Xater
photo
Review by Sandi S on 12/23/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2414 Misses Skirt
photo
Review by PAMomof3 on 6/17/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3600 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3600 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1286 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1286 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us