SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8561 (Marcy Tilton)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1224 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 384 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/09 2:20 AM
Last Updated:1/23/10 7:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Yvonski said...
I feel for you. Well done, the outfit looks fantastic. Vogue should send you a bottle of wine for bringing it to their attention. As if they care LOL
3/3/09 2:26 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for being the pioneer on this one. Your results are great, but I feel your pain.
3/3/09 7:37 AM
CarolynGM said...
Thank goodness you reviewed this pattern. I have it and had hoped to make it up soon, but now it's going on the back burner. Yours turned out well despite all the problems you had.
3/3/09 7:52 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Lovely outfit...shame you had the problem that Vogue was not able to figure out. They certainly should owe you something!
3/3/09 8:56 AM
pterion said...
Your outfit looks lovely despite the ordeal. I also think that at the very least Vogue should replace the pattern and reimburse you for the fabric. Thank you so much for the review!
3/3/09 9:09 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
This really looks gorgeous! The Plaza Jacket looks cool with it, too. Thanks for the review though, I've been drooling over that pattern but haven't bought it yet. Wonder how long it'll take them to get ti fixed! LOL!!
3/3/09 9:32 AM
hmacski said...
Hi Ann: I just read your review and it prompted me to go back and re-read the other reviews for this pattern just in the nick of time. This was my next sewing project and I really like the fabric I've picked out for it, so I don't want this project to end up in the trash!! Instead, I've just sent an email to customer service at vogue patterns asking about their plans to revamp the pattern and make good on it for all of us who rushed to purchase it. So thank you all for having educated us about the pitfalls of this pattern. Ann: As always, you've done a creditable job. Great outfit and you've inspired me to try the plaza jacket on a piece of fabric I have in stash. I just gotta say, Missy Ann - you totally rock and always inspire me to try something new.
3/3/09 9:44 AM
moushka said...
Your outfit is gorgeous despite the pattern nightmare. A less experienced sewist would have ended up with a wadder. Let's hope Vogue fixes this error quickly for all of us who love Marcy's designs. Thanks also for identifying the problem with the pattern. At least PR readers will know what to look for if they want to try it out. What an incredible help you are to us here on PR, Ann! Thank you for so generously sharing your expertise and experience with us. Sue
3/3/09 10:07 AM
Robynz said...
I tried this pattern.... luckily I cut a muslin first.... I didn't have the fortitude to go through everything it would have required to make it work.. You are right.. The pattern in incorrect in several places. The length is so long that after I would have shortened it to a better length, I felt I would have lost quite a bit of the feel, (and that would also mean fixing all the other errors.) In the end I tossed the pattern - an expensive throwaway... I was very disappointed!
3/3/09 11:14 AM
DorothyK said...
I know what you went through with this pattern. I'm in awe that you were able to work it out - and thankful that I haven't yet purchased the pattern. The entire outfit looks stunning on you.
3/3/09 12:24 PM
cecelia said...
Thanks for the warning on this since I just bought the pattern. Yours turned out beautifully though.
3/3/09 12:41 PM
sewtime said...
FANTASTIC outfit!!
3/3/09 1:37 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Ann, this is not the first time I've seen you evade the pitfalls of a faulty pattern/difficult fabric and rise from the ashes like the Phoenix. Your entire ensemble is Utter Class and I'm pea green with envy. Lovely, Lily
3/3/09 2:09 PM
Physics Girl said...
Wow... I eyed this pattern quite a bit but passed on it, because there's just too many patterns and too little time. Phew! I'm glad this eventually worked out for you... your results are lovely as always.
3/3/09 4:24 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Ann..thanks so much for this review! I have this pattern and you just saved me alot of angst...whew!
3/4/09 4:00 AM
Mahler said...
This is such a great skirt, littlejazzbird and I wanted to buy the pattern. Am I ever so happy I red your review. Your rescue 911 worked really well. The final look is excellent. For the traumatic stress, I hope that Vogue as good lawyers ! ;-)
3/4/09 9:59 PM
Kit said...
Your skirt turned out great despite all the problems. I have this pattern too so I wrote to Vogue customer service to ask them how to get a corrected version, and they replied with a new instruction sheet in pdf format. The fix is just what you said -- remove extra fabric from perimeter of the three pieces.
3/6/09 8:16 PM
gotasew said...
Thankyou I have this pattern and was going to try it with a pinstripe polyester??? Maybe I'll give it a miss.
3/9/09 10:19 PM
Barbara V said...
Even though the fabric was fussy and the pattern contained fatal flaws your finished skirt is beautiful especially combined with the top and jacket!
3/12/09 1:17 PM
ssssdeb said...
This was very helpful but a bit scary! So glad I read the review before sewing it up. I will contact Vogue to find out about a replacement pattern. Thanks!
3/17/09 1:21 PM
ssssdeb said...
I just got this from Vogue. It sure doesn't seem to jive with this review. I believe the reviewer and think Vogue is not taking full responsibility. Dear Debbie, Thank you for your email concerning Vogue Pattern 8561. Whenever possible we try to provide our home sewers with the information they request. I will send you a copy of the revised guide. The tissue has not been changed. The optional part on the guide you have, has been now made apart of the construction no longer optional. Cordially, Meg Carter Consumer Services
3/18/09 11:18 AM
ssssdeb said...
I just got this second response. Thought I'd share. Dear Debbie, When the problem 1st originated, I pinned the tissue using the new method, and it works correctly. There is nothing wrong with the tissue. Cordially, Meg Carter Consumer Services
3/18/09 11:38 AM
Ann Smith said...
ssssdeb, none of that makes any sense to me. What are they saying?
3/18/09 11:52 AM
m/m said...
Marcy Tilton's website now has an explaination of how to use the pattern piece(s) that gave Ann so much grief. It's all got to do with ironing out the stretch in the bias cut pattern pieces and then recutting them with the stretch removed. See http://www.marcytilton.com/index.php?cid=760 for directions and photos of how to cut the bias pieces. It looks like the directions are being corrected too.
3/22/09 5:03 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Ann, your pinstripe skirt is gorgeous! I want, want, want it. :) Your whole outfit is wonderful. I am bookmarking this review as inspiration for when autumn rolls around. Great outfit!
1/23/10 7:31 PM
sew2little said...
Great look, Ann! As usual, your sense of style is right on! Did you hem by hand or machine? Marci
1/23/10 7:53 PM
Christas said...
Well, you have forged through your traumatic stress and made another very pretty skirt! Your pocket detail is just lovely. Both skirts look so nice! Glad you stuck with it and came up with a solution to the mistakes in the pattern.
1/24/10 0:10 AM
Ann Smith said...
sew2little, I hand sewed the hem. Now that I see it in the photos I think I should have trimmed the hem narrower to prevent drag on the stitches.
1/24/10 1:33 AM
lmg said...
The pocket looks fantastic. I love this new version in grey wool. Dressy but casual. Lovely.
1/24/10 1:39 PM
Barbara V said...
Ann, Both of your skirts are fabulous each creating a different mood and fashion need. That your DH assisted in leveling the hemline is very sweet!
1/24/10 1:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now