SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4848 (Swimsuits & Sarong: View B top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 778 times 
Reviewed by:KiwiWendy
photo

 
 
About KiwiWendystarstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/09 0:56 AM
Last Updated:2/25/09 2:04 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
writerchicknyc said...
I'm so glad that this popped up on the front page. Thank you so much for the fantastic review and pic!
4/19/10 11:35 PM
Aless said...
Fabulous job, Wenz! The skirts on similar rtw float up too. One pair I had had the under-shorts attached at each side of the dress part with a long length of elastic. Thanks so much for all the technical detail-I'll definitely be using the bra info in my next pair. Love that colour on you.
3/5/09 1:01 AM
Annette Wright said...
This suit is absolutely STUNNING. No RTW one would have fit as nicely. Maybe I'll give it a try myself.
3/4/09 8:03 AM
mssewcrazy said...
nice work! If larger women pretty much cannot find clothing in the mall, it is to be expected there won't be swimsuits for sure. I am thinking about making one this summer and a mesh coverup thingy as the odds are good I will get pool duty with the grands sometimes. I definitely don't need to be shining the boobage in a cheap suit that allows a peep show. Thanks for sharing your experience with this pattern.
2/25/09 8:58 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I love the support you built into this. The fabric is cute and it covers just enough to be modest while giving you a great decolletage.
2/25/09 8:18 PM
brrmm said...
Yes KW, the "chamber of horrors" aka change-rooms and itsy bitsy togs are great motivators for hand made togs, I agree totally! Yours are fab darhlingk, and I really love the print and colour. Great work - now quick, off to the beach.
2/25/09 6:49 PM
KiwiWendy said...
Thanks for all the kind comments. What motivated me to get back to sewing this was trying on the RTW versions. They all fitted so badly they were funny and/or p*rn as they didn't cover the acreage. I'm already figuring out how to improve them
2/25/09 6:06 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wendy, great bathers! As soon as I saw your photo I had to read the review as they looked so good. They are flattering, fit well and look to be supportive. All your work paid off. Great job!
2/25/09 5:24 PM
jannw said...
love the fabric and the cut of the top..great idea
2/25/09 4:31 PM
sideseams said...
I have this pattern and was just thinking about trying it! Thank you for the review. It has given me the courage to at least try and make a muslin before I buy some fabric!
2/25/09 4:23 PM
KateS said...
Well done, looks great!
2/25/09 8:23 AM
JTink said...
I just love this style bathing suit(the swimdress)I just wish they offered Misses sizes. Luckily I have some OOP patterns from days gone by, that are Misses swimdresses. You've inspired me to go dig them out of the pattern drawer. Good job!
2/25/09 8:10 AM
cindyann said...
Great review! All of your changes made this a very attractive suit. Love the neckline.
2/25/09 8:09 AM
Renren said...
Wow, I love the neckline and the fabric. Also, I thought powernet was just for tummies so I'm glad to learn it is for straps and side/backs of swimsuits. Thanks for detailing your process/approach to making this a better pattern. I'm not ready to do anything like this . . . yet . . . but I have taken in lots of info that I will help me be a better craftsperson. Thanks!
2/25/09 6:51 AM
knitlitcamper said...
thank you for the detailed info, great review!
2/25/09 2:38 AM
morzel said...
Great review! Glad the suit got over the swimming test. I wondered - this is a plus size pattern, but the models on the envelope are skinny and the details (straps!) are not done for it. Hmmh. Not too smart. But - you mastered it. Now off to get your skin treated!
2/25/09 2:16 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
This is a very cute, flattering swimsuit style and you've written a great review detailing the bra insertion! Let us know how it "swims" too! :)
2/21/09 7:03 AM
Renren said...
Thanks for your very complete review including the process of how you approached alterations and all the photos of alterations. Looking forward to seeing the photo of the finished swimsuit, too!
2/20/09 9:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

McCall's 5668

photo
by: lilyloulad...

Review

Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
McCall's 6694

photo
by: penelopey4

Review