Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1405 (Basic Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 6596 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 239
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/02 1:38 AM
Last Updated:7/14/04 12:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Absolutely georgous! This has convinced me that I need this pattern too. I can't believe that you have been sewing for such a short time, you are amazing. :-)
4/4/02 1:43 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That looks really great! Great sewing job, great fit. That will be a wonderful dress come summer.
4/4/02 8:04 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
You have become a seewing tornado. We'll never catch up with you! 40 minutes???? This dress is the one I made for my daughter the other night, and I would have gotten more sleep if I could sew as fast as you....Good job, Deepika. Now slow down, will ya please? You're embarassing the rest of us....;-)
4/4/02 9:08 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This is BEAUTIFUL! You've mastered the rolled hem foot -I'm impressed. This foot can be tricky especially when sewing around a curve like the armhole.
4/4/02 9:24 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, it was not easy, as I said I had to redo it one time but it worked out in the end. Its still not neat as I would have wanted it to be, but its ok. I swear by the rolled hem foot in rayons. I have two of them one is 2mm the other one is 5mm. I used the 5 mm one in this dress.
4/4/02 9:26 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I thought this dress would be perfect for you - and it is.
4/4/02 11:41 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow! I agree with everyone else's comments re your amazingness(if that's a word!). I have this pattern in my collection. Looks like it might be time to get it out of there and use it!
4/4/02 2:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, I think this pattern is very versatile. I am thinking of shortening it (Karla made a knee length version for her daughter) and using it as a Kameez for Salwar Kameez. I am also thinking of making the sleeve version but shortening the sleeves (I like cap sleeves).
4/4/02 2:07 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I was going to suggest using it for a salwar kameez: I think it would work really well. I have made the dress with short sleeves, and think it looks better that way.
4/4/02 6:02 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, did you just chop off the long sleeve to the length you desired or is there something more to it?
4/4/02 6:04 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I just used the regular sleeve. I measured a short sleeve I liked and traced the upper part of the sleeve to the same length.
4/4/02 6:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, this dress is lovely! You did a wonderful job and have written a really helpful review. And, last but not least, I am so happy to see your pretty face!
4/5/02 1:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika - absolutely stunning work! You started sewing at about the time I bought my daugther a new sewing machine. I wish she were making as great progress as you are! Thanks for the lovely picture, too.
4/7/02 2:54 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I agree that hte rayon version is better, ut the knit doesn't look so bad. I think the Stretch & Sew 1500 dress is perfect for knits, so I would stick with that one.
4/24/02 2:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I agree with Mini. The knit print version is fine, just not quite as chic.
4/24/02 10:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I would agree with you, but the knit looks fine too. You are sewing up a storm! Really enjoy this website!
4/27/02 0:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Deepika! After seeing your rayon version, I decided it was time I pull this pattern out of my stash and use it. And I love it! I made my first one yesterday and bought some linen/rayon for another today.
5/10/02 7:15 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Joanne, I am glad this pattern worked for you. Did you make it with or without sleeves?
5/10/02 7:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The sleveless rayon version is very nice. Could I lengthen this to just above the ankle and make it out of linen or a linen/rayon blend. A la Eileen Fisher?
5/27/02 3:00 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Stephaney, I have been thinking about making this dress in linen also but I am not sure. The key in this pattern is the fabric and the drapeyness. You can try...
5/27/02 10:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Stephaney and Deepika, I made this in a linen, cotton, lycra blend last year and it was very successful. I was looking at the review, as I'm planning to make another Basic Dress soon.
6/30/02 1:58 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Hilary said...
Beautiful dresses, Deepika! I have been looking for a nice sheath type dress with comfortable wearing ease. I will have to add this to my wish list, it may be my first independent pattern purchase :o) thanks for bringing it up again!
7/14/04 12:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
The fit of this dress on you is as good as fit can get. It looks so beautiful and sleek.
7/14/04 12:45 PM
SandraB said...
This is a beautiful dress Deepika. It is very simple, but very elegant.
7/14/04 1:45 PM
Modiste Madness said...
This is the best looking basic dress I have seen.
7/14/04 2:08 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
What a perfect little dress. You look absolutely polished and elegant.
7/14/04 2:32 PM
jlg said...
These dresses are very flattering on you. I particularly like the new one. Thanks for pointing out this pattern again.
7/14/04 3:03 PM
JoleneF said...
The dress looks great on you.
7/14/04 3:05 PM
Meredith P said...
Wow! This looks wonderful on you. Sold! ;-)
7/14/04 6:36 PM
AnneM said...
Your alterations are perfect. And your dress looks nothing like their pattern photos, in which we can't see any detail at all. Great job. Now you have to make a sweater to go with it, if you want to wear it around here this summer!
7/14/04 6:41 PM
mudcat said...
Deepika, with the fit is it hard to get off? I wonder if the LH Tank Dress is the redo of this basic dress.
7/14/04 9:24 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice! This style really suits you.
7/14/04 11:17 PM
Deepika said...
Alice, its not hard to get off at all. Plus if the fabric is slippery, its easier still.
7/15/04 8:12 AM
slee said...
Deepika, I love your new dress. It fits you very well. How did you do the narrow shoulders adjustment? I noticed the straps are also more narrow than your original dress. Did you use the same size?
7/16/04 5:33 PM
Sew it seams said...
Deepika, that dress looks fabulous on you. Your alterations have made a perfect fit! And sewn in less than an hour, it sounds like the perfect dress.
7/17/04 8:50 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
OMG Deepika, how did I miss this? I love the dress in that fabric. Beautiful job!! -Ann
2/4/05 7:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 2101
photo
Review by cecelia on 5/30/06
Read Review

Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1399 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 3370 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6221 (Vintage)
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 7/29/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Ben & Mia Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us