Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2890 (MISSES' DRESS AND DETACHABLE S) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1255 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:wendlesue
photo
Friend of PR
About wendlesuestarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/7/07
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/09 8:32 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
inkstain said...
Are you out of your mind? Warmest best wishes! Europe is watching, tuned in!
2/20/09 9:28 AM
TalyQ said...
I am nervous just reading this, but really looking forward to your results! Another European =)
2/20/09 10:22 AM
Tipseysmum said...
another european looking forward to the next update.. good luck.
2/20/09 10:45 AM
Byrdie said...
I can't wait to see the finished dress. You can do it! My mom always procrastinated too when she was making me things... even if I did tell her a month ahead of time she would wait until the last one or two days. She always managed to produce so I have faith in you:)
2/20/09 10:52 AM
Rhoda K said...
Good luck on getting it finished and I, too, look forward to the finished product.
2/20/09 12:12 PM
Mahler said...
All my energy is with you !
2/20/09 12:53 PM
Mary W said...
Good Luck ,I hope everything goes well
2/20/09 1:01 PM
FurGal said...
Oh my...you really do it to yourself, don't you? lol I can't wait to see the finished product, the pattern is lovely. When my sister and I were little girls, Mom would wait until the Saturday night before Easter to begin sewing our Easter dresses. I was always terrified we would not have a pretty new dress for Easter, she always came through with beautiful dresses. I don't know how she did it!
2/20/09 1:13 PM
emo said...
32 pieces in the bodice?! That's crazy. I can't wait to see how it comes out...
2/20/09 2:28 PM
LoriU said...
I love this story - I work best under deadlines, too! And your toile looks great - I would love to have somewhere to wear this dress - Good Luck!!
2/21/09 1:12 AM
elanor said...
Did you ever know that you are my hero...Best of luck. Everyone knows procrastinators are the most efficient people on earth - can you imagine getting all this done without a deadline?
2/21/09 9:15 AM
RottenTots said...
I can't wait to read the rest. Mama-sewers everywhere are laughing because we've been in similar situations!
2/21/09 9:57 AM
katlew03 said...
Been there, done that -- bridesmaids drresses for DD#!'s wedding and then stayed up all night making my own dress--45 min. sleep in two days--I know what you are going through. We always say never again -- until the next time. The dress is going to be beautiful. Can't wait to see the final version.
2/21/09 10:22 AM
Elona said...
So far, the dress looks beautiful! Holding my breath...
2/21/09 11:02 AM
Rhoda K said...
A great idea of taking photos of a black garment in the sun - definitely shows the details alot better.
2/21/09 12:20 PM
Bernadette W said...
Been there, done that--should we start a support group?
2/21/09 12:25 PM
castout said...
It looks beautiful so far! I love the gathers down the front!
2/21/09 12:42 PM
Markie1 said...
OMG OMG...this is so exciting! I can't wait for the end. This dress is gorgeous, and you have the hardest part done...She will be beautiful.
2/21/09 3:34 PM
FurGal said...
Should we make a fire in the fireplace, bring out the drinks and snacks, and have a nice chat while waiting for the finished gown?
2/21/09 5:22 PM
Annette1 said...
SO pretty! :o)
2/21/09 7:43 PM
BlossomKyle said...
Oooh! I can't wait to hear/read/see how this all turned out! Is she at the dance right now while you are slumped over your sewing machine? ;)
2/21/09 10:34 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Eek! I wish I had paid attention to your disclaimer paragraph! Good luck, can't wait to see the finished dress, bet you can't either!
2/21/09 11:50 PM
KathleenS said...
So, did you make it? Are you still sleeping it off?
2/23/09 3:04 AM
wendlesue said...
Thanks for your comments everyone! You really kept me going! You are all THE BEST!!!!
2/23/09 8:36 AM
Renren said...
Oh, this is so beautiful! Lucky, lucky daughter! I bet she was the belle of the ball.
2/23/09 10:04 AM
DaisyEsq said...
The dress looks amazing! Thank you for a great review.
2/23/09 10:18 AM
TalyQ said...
Great job!
2/23/09 10:18 AM
MaryDB said...
Bravo! The dress is fabulous; you did a wonderful job. This was such a fun review - I was in suspense to see how it turned out. It's just great, and I bet it looked terrific on DD.
2/23/09 10:18 AM
Judy Wentz said...
All I can say is WOW! I have been waiting to exhale. Beautiful dress! jw
2/23/09 10:33 AM
5sugarplumbs said...
Awesome dress. I really liked how you made sleeves to go with this pattern!!! Great idea!!!!
2/23/09 10:50 AM
inkstain said...
Wendlesue, I opened this blog by suggesting that you were crazy to try this, and I am just astounded at the prodigiously wonderful result. I can only conclude that it was the skipped showed that made all the difference! AND you went to the movies??? Are you trying to give the Continent a heart attack? This was like watching one of those reality shows where you're so afraid you've going to see something that will make you avert your eyes, but in the end we're applauding! WOW!
2/23/09 10:58 AM
nglalala said...
wow! it looks great!
2/23/09 11:25 AM
Mary W said...
Great job. I hope she enjoyed the dance
2/23/09 11:43 AM
FurGal said...
Thanks for the wonderful review/story. The dress turned out beautifully.
2/23/09 12:15 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Stunning! Thanks for sharing the whole saga - definitely heartstopping thrills, much more exciting than Iron Man! The end result is simply beautiful... excellent job!
2/23/09 1:04 PM
MissCelie said...
Quite beautiful and I could not love the roses more!
2/23/09 1:54 PM
EleanorSews said...
Isn't this what being the mom is all about? Gorgeous dress, lucky daughter. COngrats on being done with time to breath ~ how often does that happen??? LOL
2/23/09 2:24 PM
Rhoda K said...
Just beautiful - would love to see this on your daughter. You really took on a challenge and came through like a trooper!
2/23/09 2:45 PM
carolynw said...
Been following along as you made this and what can I say but WOW!! This could have been on the red carpet last night. Bravo!!
2/23/09 2:58 PM
aminat said...
What a great job you have done, a very beautiful dress and higly resourceful mom. Your daughter must be so proud
2/23/09 3:02 PM
aminat said...

2/23/09 3:02 PM
aminat said...
What a great job you have, a very beautiful dress and higly resourceful mom. Your daughter must be so proud
2/23/09 3:03 PM
ibbizy said...
All I can say is BEAUTIFUL!!! Can you make me one just like that?? LOL!!! You did a lovely job!!
2/23/09 7:58 PM
Erica B. said...
That dress is gorgeous! Fabulous job!
2/23/09 9:44 PM
im2melo4u said...
WOW! The dress came out beautifully and your review was excellent.
2/24/09 10:22 AM
Novice4Now said...
I LOVE this pattern and have been waiting for someone to review it. Unfortunately, it's a little beyond my current sewing skills. Great job though!
2/24/09 11:36 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding!
2/25/09 4:51 PM
Kellie R. said...
BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!! I hope you get some pics of your daughter wearing this stunning dress! I'm impressed with how quickly you made this! Well done!
2/25/09 5:47 PM
sfgb said...
Fun! Fun! Fun! You are the best Mom.
5/8/10 9:24 PM
pinkcontractor said...
I suffer the last minute disease, and since last weekend I made the first of 3 formals and this weekend I am plunging into this one for an event at the end of the month, I now know all the potential pitfalls that await me! Thanks so much for the details!
1/7/11 1:18 PM
SoVintage said...
Beautifully executed!!!!!!!!!! I just purchased this pattern and LOVED your review....very encouraging! Thank you
2/6/11 8:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's M5752
photo
Review by Eme on 2/5/09
Read Review

Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8876 Misses Dress
photo
Review by valerie se... on 1/7/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us