Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 714 (Cross Your Heart Top and V-Nec) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 999 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/09 5:09 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
This one is REALLY cute too. AND...... they ASSUME you have a serger because you have a sewing friend who has been TRYING to talk you into getting yourself one for a long time. YOU NEVER LISTEN TO ME!!! Oh, well! The top looks great even though you DON'T have a serger. If you would only listen..........
2/20/09 5:26 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top.
2/20/09 5:29 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your new top looks beautiful on you. And I agree you should splurge on a serger.
2/20/09 5:30 PM
Christas said...
Since you won't listen to me, then listen to Nancy2001! LOL! You NEED a serger!!! You would enjoy one so much.
2/20/09 5:40 PM
Peggy L said...
Wonderful review as always and I love your new top. I had not noticed this pattern before but it sure looks like a winner. Okay, girl, I cannot believe you sew as much as you do and don't have a serger. I'm with Christas and Nancy - hustle down to the store and get one!! We won't tell you "I told you so!". Promise!
2/20/09 5:48 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Gorgeous top, Annette, and you've just sold me on this striking pattern. Generally, if a design is flattering on you - and this one *surely* is - then I can make it work for me. ( I'll watch for the drag lines that you had to do surgery on.) I too love the narrow sleeves, with vents. Since your Review not only delineates each potential problem, as well as solves it, you better send me a bill - and make it a big one, so you can buy a serger. Lovely, Lily
2/20/09 5:50 PM
Annette1 said...
Y'all must all be in CAHOOTS! You've ALMOST talked me into a serger. "Just one thing holding me back," as Daddy would say. Lily, I wish you WOULD make this top, so you can tell me what to do about those drag lines. I'm pretty new to knits, so I'm CLUELESS. Can you do it tonight, please? :o) Heh-heh-heh.
2/20/09 5:56 PM
FurGal said...
I like that top!
2/20/09 5:57 PM
shesflipped said...
Beautiful top, Annette! Your review is very timely as I have this pattern ready to go~I'm glad to hear it's easy! P.S. Ever think of getting a serger?
2/20/09 6:34 PM
carolynw said...
Really nice top Annette - have been thinking about getting this pattern - now with your great review may actually take action!!
2/20/09 6:51 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Ditto every comment here!! This top is just GORGEOUS!! You look absolutely SMASHING!! You know how I LOVE the British!! Oh, and one more thing..........you NEEEEEEEEEED a SERGER!!
2/20/09 6:52 PM
carolynw said...
Me again - come on Annette - get a serger - you'll love it!!
2/20/09 6:53 PM
Annette1 said...
I'm starting to wonder if I just ATTRACT smart alecks, or if EVERYBODY (almost) on PR is a smart aleck (or at least a serger smart aleck). Boy, I'm glad I'M not that way! :o) OKAY, OKAY, I'll THINK about a serger!
2/20/09 7:01 PM
EleanorSews said...
Beautiful top ~ another one of those for whom this pattern had just not popped up on the radar screen. It's got to eb a keeper. A little different from the run of the mill.
2/20/09 7:31 PM
CTBarb said...
Hi Annette, I love the fabric and the top really does look smashing on you. The drag lines you are so crazy over don't seem so bad to me....although my midriff is so much larger than yours that I have never had to worry about excess fabric there...lol. Thanks for the great review...I had just discovered Christine Johnson and was thinking of giving her a try....maybe with this pattern...hmmmm.
2/20/09 7:34 PM
Kay Y said...
I really like your top. CJ makes nice patterns. But Annette, um really, you should have a serger.
2/20/09 7:49 PM
angie.a said...
Ok, must have this. I LOVE it, and I really want to see your next version with the kinks worked out. So hurry up. :P (hehehe at Peeholes in the snow!!)
2/20/09 8:50 PM
Izzie said...
I'm with angie.a still giggling over pee holes in the snow. But seriously, your top looks fab on you, the S dart really did the trick. I always enjoy reading your reviews and please, get a serger.
2/21/09 0:00 AM
Heatherrique said...
Shazam!!!!!!!!!! You look so fiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine! So what if you don't have a serger....you always create stunning outfits! Maybe a serger would simplify things. I guess you and I (and probably many others) like to do things the "old school" way (Hmmmm....guess who also does not have a serger). I have an idea! Let's create a support club called the "No Urge to Serge (just yet) Club". Then when the urge strikes us unexpectedly to buy a serger, we can transition to "Splurge to Serge"!
2/21/09 1:02 AM
Annette1 said...
Not only THAT, but notice that our ACRONYM could be NUTSY (No Urge to Serge Yet)! PERFECT. I should have KNOWN you would come up with something CLEVER, Louella. :o)
2/21/09 1:39 AM
Grammy Gin said...
See how everyone wants you to get a serger? I tried to talk you into one a couple of years ago or so....you just like to do the extra sewing. Another lovely top. AND another great review.
2/21/09 8:34 AM
fryman said...
I viewed the pattern cover and can't say that I see the sleeve details and the top, in both views looks like only a size 2 should consider it. . .from the picture only. Then I checked out how much you increased the sleeeve head and upper arm fullness, what a nice job you did on that!I do like your fabric although I feel that the line design in the top are lost. I hope you next attempt makes you happier.
2/21/09 9:19 AM
Sherril Miller said...
What a fine fitting job you did on this beautiful top. Do you have plans to make the other view? That's the one I'm looking at.
2/21/09 12:54 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is super Annette! So pretty and fun - just like you! And don't feel bad, I don't have a serger either. One of these days, I may cave in... Great job!
2/21/09 1:24 PM
Sigrid. said...
Love your top, and all the comments on sergers: I remember my joy that sewing knits was so much easier when I bought my first serger (a loooooooooong time ago). So, yes it's easier on some points, but you definitely don't need it to get your beautifull clothes, gorgeous top.
2/22/09 5:07 AM
marjenann said...
Magnifico!!! You look hot!!! Definitely a great top!!
2/22/09 10:21 AM
janet said...
Only you could take a 'tinky' and make it a SLINKY! Your top fits to perfection. What patience and creativity you have in the pattern alteration department. Maybe that is why you alway look like a "knock out" in your pictures...
2/22/09 2:04 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, Your review is very thorough with instructiive pictures. But it doesn't really seem too easy to me. I didn't even quite understand that front step #2 portion. I guess if I were working on it, it would be more clear. Anyway, the top is lovely and really looks good on. Did I notice a little bit of glitz on that top? LOL, you're beginning to look like a Southern Girl! LOL. As always, your review entertained and instructucted.
2/23/09 1:44 PM
Mahler said...
ahhh here is the serger party I missed ! Better late then never. You really put the pattern to your hand. I like the final product a great deal. Nice fabric. Do you have a pair of pants that is lighter and would match the color of the top. I think it would be very chic. I really like it.
3/1/09 10:47 AM
selvage said...
gorgeous top, and don't get a serger unless you really want to. (If you don't get one, there will still be at least two of us on this site without one. ha.)
5/25/09 1:42 AM
msgadget said...
Really good details! Thank you.
6/7/09 1:41 PM
lorrwill said...
Rats. I bought my first serger last year. I wanted to be NUTSY. (GREAT narrative and photos of your alterations. Thanks for this.)
3/10/12 3:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 8294
photo
Review by Jane S on 10/27/10
Read Review

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Home Sweet Home Pillow
photo
Review by Sew Nanny on 12/12/08
Read Review

Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us