SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5530 (Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 866 times 
Reviewed by:imsewcrazy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About imsewcrazystarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 1/10/08
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/09 4:00 PM
Last Updated:2/21/09 4:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
What a beautiful jacket. You did a wonderful job. Very professional looking.
2/21/09 4:09 PM
Christas said...
You did a beautiful job of sewing this. This is a pattern I recently purchased. So nice to see it sewn up.....looks so perfect! ***Edited***I just looked at your review again and saw that you rate yourself as an advanced beginner. I agree with Aixoise, you should bump up your rating. This jacket shows wonderful skill.
2/21/09 4:14 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Lovely jacket! It is now on my to-do list.
2/21/09 4:22 PM
Map said...
I think your jacket looks better than the model on the envelope. Beautiful!!!
2/21/09 4:24 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful jacket! The collar sits so nicely. Great job!
2/21/09 4:27 PM
castout said...
Wow - that looks really sharp!!! Yours looks SO much cuter than the picture on the pattern. This might go on my wish list just based on your picture!
2/21/09 4:28 PM
FurGal said...
Beautiful jacket!
2/21/09 4:46 PM
jent said...
Lovely.
2/21/09 4:53 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow. I have to make this!
2/21/09 5:00 PM
Aixoise said...
Elegant. Don't you love wool crepe? I agree with those who said that your version looks so much better than the one in the envelope photo. Are you sure you're still a beginner - even an advanced one? I'd say Intermediate is more apt.
2/21/09 5:08 PM
Mahler said...
This is such an interesting pattern. Wonderful jacket. Your choice of colour is excellent. It allows us to fully appreciate your excellent craftsmanship and the original lines. Bravo !
2/21/09 5:09 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty--your wool is perfect for this pattern. Lovely work!
2/21/09 5:19 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Gorgeous!! Classic, feminine, interesting--all-in-one, eh!! LOVE that it's in grey, too! It's a "more male colour"/very female look... Very sexy, too!
2/21/09 5:26 PM
Lori V said...
That is very classy.
2/21/09 5:30 PM
CShelley said...
Wow is that nice! Very different and I like that it's not all that boxy. Great job.
2/21/09 5:50 PM
jbsew said...
very well done!
2/21/09 6:37 PM
Shirleyjoy said...
Fabulous jacket! Well done!
2/21/09 6:58 PM
wendlesue said...
Wow, that looks perfect
2/21/09 8:03 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your fabric choice is excellent and your workmanship is outstanding. Lovely jacket.
2/21/09 8:16 PM
Opals Passions said...
Beautiful jacket! Great job with the workmanship....
2/21/09 8:21 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Very nice.
2/21/09 8:24 PM
Annette1 said...
SO chic and elegant. I LOVE this (especially in that wool crepe, the BEST FABRIC in the universe). :o)
2/21/09 8:29 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
That jacket is just beautiful!
2/21/09 8:34 PM
avancleve said...
This turned out so cute. I am so glad I already have this pattern. Looks like I will need to make it up
2/21/09 8:42 PM
EleanorSews said...
That is one stunning jacket! From the pattern envelope it is impossible to see how elegant it might be. Gorgeous!
2/21/09 9:25 PM
Peggy L said...
So very elegant!
2/21/09 9:28 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a sharp looking jacket! Elegantly constructed!
2/21/09 9:41 PM
Riesie said...
Just beautiful!
2/21/09 9:57 PM
carolynw said...
Well so you should like this jacket - it is absolutely perfect in every way - very elegant and chic - way to go!!
2/21/09 10:20 PM
DivaQ said...
WOW! Very nice!
2/22/09 1:31 AM
petro said...
Nice jacket. I have this pattern, may actually get it made up now!
2/22/09 5:02 AM
Judy Wentz said...
This is outstanding. It looks so much better than the envelope. Great job! jw
2/22/09 9:25 AM
sewbehind said...
Very special jacket. It is so lovely. Your sewing, pressing and attention to detail make it a cut above.
2/22/09 1:00 PM
DoggyGirl said...
Absolutely elegant. This reminds me of some of the fabulous timeless fashions from movies made in the 1950's. You are going to look like a million dollars wearing this (or at the very least like Grace Kelly or Tippy Hedron)!
2/22/09 1:13 PM
knitlitcamper said...
very classy, you did a beautiful job!
2/22/09 2:40 PM
nglalala said...
Lovely jacket!
2/23/09 1:07 AM
nicegirl said...
I bought this pattern a while back and you have just reminded me why I loved it so much! I really like it in the sober menswear fabric.
2/23/09 2:33 PM
testbunny said...
Yum yum- that is fab!
5/1/09 8:15 AM
riski said...
Your jacket is gorgeous and far more beautiful than the pattern picture.
7/5/09 11:22 AM
dlwk said...
This is a beautiful jacket, well executed. I think the use of natural fibres always makes a garment look better.... and who wants to wear a plastic bag i.e. polyester? Would be ideal over a simple shift dress.
8/5/09 10:33 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Beautiful job! Professionally done! :)
11/14/11 11:52 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Gosh that's gorgeous! And I agree with Christas and Aixoise - you should update your skill level. Ha! especially since this was 3 years ago!
12/11/12 9:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 82155-1004

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Marfy 2573

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Buy Now