SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5530 (Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 871 times 
Reviewed by:imsewcrazy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About imsewcrazystarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 1/10/08
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 157 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/09 4:00 PM
Last Updated:2/21/09 4:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dreamdesigner said...
Gosh that's gorgeous! And I agree with Christas and Aixoise - you should update your skill level. Ha! especially since this was 3 years ago!
12/11/12 9:33 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Beautiful job! Professionally done! :)
11/14/11 11:52 AM
dlwk said...
This is a beautiful jacket, well executed. I think the use of natural fibres always makes a garment look better.... and who wants to wear a plastic bag i.e. polyester? Would be ideal over a simple shift dress.
8/5/09 10:33 AM
riski said...
Your jacket is gorgeous and far more beautiful than the pattern picture.
7/5/09 11:22 AM
testbunny said...
Yum yum- that is fab!
5/1/09 8:15 AM
nicegirl said...
I bought this pattern a while back and you have just reminded me why I loved it so much! I really like it in the sober menswear fabric.
2/23/09 2:33 PM
nglalala said...
Lovely jacket!
2/23/09 1:07 AM
knitlitcamper said...
very classy, you did a beautiful job!
2/22/09 2:40 PM
DoggyGirl said...
Absolutely elegant. This reminds me of some of the fabulous timeless fashions from movies made in the 1950's. You are going to look like a million dollars wearing this (or at the very least like Grace Kelly or Tippy Hedron)!
2/22/09 1:13 PM
sewbehind said...
Very special jacket. It is so lovely. Your sewing, pressing and attention to detail make it a cut above.
2/22/09 1:00 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is outstanding. It looks so much better than the envelope. Great job! jw
2/22/09 9:25 AM
petro said...
Nice jacket. I have this pattern, may actually get it made up now!
2/22/09 5:02 AM
DivaQ said...
WOW! Very nice!
2/22/09 1:31 AM
carolynw said...
Well so you should like this jacket - it is absolutely perfect in every way - very elegant and chic - way to go!!
2/21/09 10:20 PM
Riesie said...
Just beautiful!
2/21/09 9:57 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a sharp looking jacket! Elegantly constructed!
2/21/09 9:41 PM
Peggy L said...
So very elegant!
2/21/09 9:28 PM
EleanorSews said...
That is one stunning jacket! From the pattern envelope it is impossible to see how elegant it might be. Gorgeous!
2/21/09 9:25 PM
avancleve said...
This turned out so cute. I am so glad I already have this pattern. Looks like I will need to make it up
2/21/09 8:42 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
That jacket is just beautiful!
2/21/09 8:34 PM
Annette1 said...
SO chic and elegant. I LOVE this (especially in that wool crepe, the BEST FABRIC in the universe). :o)
2/21/09 8:29 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Very nice.
2/21/09 8:24 PM
Opals Passions said...
Beautiful jacket! Great job with the workmanship....
2/21/09 8:21 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your fabric choice is excellent and your workmanship is outstanding. Lovely jacket.
2/21/09 8:16 PM
wendlesue said...
Wow, that looks perfect
2/21/09 8:03 PM
Shirleyjoy said...
Fabulous jacket! Well done!
2/21/09 6:58 PM
jbsew said...
very well done!
2/21/09 6:37 PM
CShelley said...
Wow is that nice! Very different and I like that it's not all that boxy. Great job.
2/21/09 5:50 PM
Lori V said...
That is very classy.
2/21/09 5:30 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Gorgeous!! Classic, feminine, interesting--all-in-one, eh!! LOVE that it's in grey, too! It's a "more male colour"/very female look... Very sexy, too!
2/21/09 5:26 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty--your wool is perfect for this pattern. Lovely work!
2/21/09 5:19 PM
Mahler said...
This is such an interesting pattern. Wonderful jacket. Your choice of colour is excellent. It allows us to fully appreciate your excellent craftsmanship and the original lines. Bravo !
2/21/09 5:09 PM
Aixoise said...
Elegant. Don't you love wool crepe? I agree with those who said that your version looks so much better than the one in the envelope photo. Are you sure you're still a beginner - even an advanced one? I'd say Intermediate is more apt.
2/21/09 5:08 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow. I have to make this!
2/21/09 5:00 PM
jent said...
Lovely.
2/21/09 4:53 PM
FurGal said...
Beautiful jacket!
2/21/09 4:46 PM
castout said...
Wow - that looks really sharp!!! Yours looks SO much cuter than the picture on the pattern. This might go on my wish list just based on your picture!
2/21/09 4:28 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful jacket! The collar sits so nicely. Great job!
2/21/09 4:27 PM
Map said...
I think your jacket looks better than the model on the envelope. Beautiful!!!
2/21/09 4:24 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Lovely jacket! It is now on my to-do list.
2/21/09 4:22 PM
Christas said...
You did a beautiful job of sewing this. This is a pattern I recently purchased. So nice to see it sewn up.....looks so perfect! ***Edited***I just looked at your review again and saw that you rate yourself as an advanced beginner. I agree with Aixoise, you should bump up your rating. This jacket shows wonderful skill.
2/21/09 4:14 PM
katlew03 said...
What a beautiful jacket. You did a wonderful job. Very professional looking.
2/21/09 4:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 5668-Vintage

photo
by: thepegret

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 1919

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review