Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-129 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 785 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/09 3:54 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Natasha B said...
Really pretty top! I was looking forward to your review when you blogged you were making it, so thanks for the elastic advice!
2/22/09 4:08 AM
Sigrid. said...
this turned out very nice. I want to make this when summer comes here. Thanks for the tips on the elastic.
2/22/09 4:44 AM
sewingstacy said...
really nice top!
2/22/09 6:23 AM
kerrynw said...
Your finished top looks lovely! I was looking for a pattern to test out some shirring, so will give it a go.
2/22/09 6:41 AM
Vonnevo said...
Allie, your top is gorgeous !!!! Thanks for a great review :)
2/22/09 8:05 AM
CShelley said...
I love your top. Very feminine and pretty.
2/22/09 8:27 AM
angie.a said...
Looks very pretty. I loved this in the issue too.
2/22/09 9:07 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
OH!!! What a PRETTY top!! I LOVE the color of your fabric!! It is just PERFECT for this top!!
2/22/09 9:09 AM
Judy Wentz said...
Lovely top. jw
2/22/09 9:09 AM
Beek said...
Very cute! The fabric makes it look so soft and rich.
2/22/09 9:16 AM
Christas said...
As soon as I got the newest issue I loved this design. I LOVE it sewn in olive! This is just beautiful. This was already on my list to make. Your lovely top made me move it up closer to the top of the very LONG list I have. Sooo pretty!
2/22/09 9:27 AM
emo said...
This is beautiful -- I didn't even see it in the magazine!
2/22/09 9:33 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Wonderful.
2/22/09 9:44 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I didn't notice this top when I flipped through my Burda, but I would have had a photo of your gorgeous garment been included! Lovely top. Thanks for the helpful hints.
2/22/09 10:09 AM
Re Becca said...
Very cute! I hadn't noticed the side zipper in this, they are kind of a pain. Thanks for the tips on the elastic.
2/22/09 10:32 AM
kasizzle said...
Great looking top!
2/22/09 10:33 AM
sewtime said...
Cute Top, love the design, I would probably want more that one of the blouse!
2/22/09 11:04 AM
Heatherrique said...
Darling top! Thanks for the tips!
2/22/09 11:25 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful top. I would love to see a picture of you modelling it. I fell in love with it when I saw it in the magazine though I'm afraid I may be too tall for the style.
2/22/09 11:39 AM
Izzie said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I can't wait to see the skirt you're making to go with it.
2/22/09 11:40 AM
jent said...
I wasn't sure about this top when I got my issue of BWOF, but yours is so pretty I think I'll have to try it now!
2/22/09 12:16 PM
Twinset said...
Very nice top, great choice of fabric! Thanks for reviewing this!
2/22/09 12:18 PM
sewbehind said...
Very nice top. You did a great job.
2/22/09 1:12 PM
morzel said...
Very beautiful top!
2/22/09 4:25 PM
Mahler said...
As usal, I am amazed by your creations (I am not over the peacock feather fabric.. so beautiful). This is a great top !!
2/22/09 9:11 PM
figtree said...
Thanks for this review, I hope to make it and didnt realize it was a mock wrap over! Thanks for the elastic tips.
2/23/09 4:44 AM
wendlesue said...
Stunning top! Beautiful in that olive silk.
2/23/09 9:10 AM
mochimo said...
Lovely! I bought the February issue of BWOF because of this top. Just waiting for my sewing skills to get better...
2/23/09 10:11 AM
Erin Sooit said...
Love that blouse! Thank you for pointing out the zip on the side. I'm not fond of side seam zippers, and i wonder if this could be made in a knit fabric? You did a great job using the silk though.
2/24/09 5:23 PM
jeanielynn said...
Love, your blouse, over looked that pattern entirely, I will take a second look. How inspiring !
2/25/09 9:29 AM
amy in mpls said...
I love this top too and had problems with my muslin and the elastic. It would break or slip through my casing. I think i will use your approach and continue, thanks for giving me inspiration again!
3/4/09 3:21 PM
CynthiaSue said...
oops, i missed this! and this is one of my "must makes"!! this is adorably and the tip about the elastic is perfect. i don't like sewing over elastic. period. i love your greyish tone color and it looks fabulously sewn!
3/16/09 3:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 3906
photo
Review by Laura O on 11/9/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 8523 Misses Tops
photo
Review by Lisabeans on 6/23/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Paper Pattern
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us