SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2006-107 (Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 749 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/09 7:55 PM
Last Updated:2/22/09 7:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seamingly Simple said...
What a superb jacket skirt--very professional looking. I too am inspired by your eyelet for the shank buttons on the sleeves.
3/23/09 10:24 AM
Grammy Gin said...
What more can I say? Everyone else said it all. I agree that your work is impeccable! I am going to use all of your construction photos & descriptions if I ever get around to making a jacket. You look great in it. Thanks for such a detailed & helpful review!
3/11/09 12:55 PM
Athene said...
Such a meticulously made jacket - absolutely a pleasure to read about and see - very inspiring.
3/5/09 10:29 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm trying to think back to what I was DOING on February 22nd, that I MISSED this WONDERFUL review! The answer is: I have no idea, but I'm glad I found it now anyway. :o) I just can't tell you how much I admire your work. Everything you make is a masterpiece and an inspiration. I love EVERY detail of this jacket. I REALLY like those SLEEVES. But MOST OF ALL, I like your project photo -- WITH YOUR HEAD! :O)
3/4/09 10:33 PM
Winifred said...
Thankyou for letting us in on this wonderful work of precision engineering!!It surely has the WOW factor. And i have so much enjoyed seeing the process on Flickr - very helpful. I love the buttons. The skirt? I think the one with the godets - very classy for a very clever and talented lady - you ought to be on the cover of Threads !!
2/24/09 6:47 PM
Elke said...
Amazing workmanship! Looks great on you.
2/24/09 5:53 AM
Terri A said...
WOW! Speechless!
2/24/09 3:47 AM
valerie sews said...
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. I've been intending to make a jacket from this pattern for a long time. I was wondering how it would look with long sleeves. Thank you for your information on the construction layers of the jacket. It's just perfect.
2/23/09 7:43 PM
ALY said...
I have always been attracted to this jacket pattern. Your jacket is beautiful and the fit is fantanstic.
2/23/09 7:27 PM
mamalobb said...
That looks SOOO good! Thank you also for the flickr tutorial on shoulder pads and sleeve heads. I'm currently making a casual twill sport coat for DH and wondered how to do this. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
2/23/09 5:50 PM
amy in mpls said...
Great review and beautiful jacket. I love the eyelet for the button trick...very nice!
2/23/09 4:58 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your jacket is fantastic! You are going to have a fabulous suit when you complete the other pieces. I love the lines of that jacket - the detail is wonderful.
2/23/09 1:57 PM
JamieLiz said...
Stunning!
2/23/09 1:30 PM
Mahler said...
If I may add to Sigrid's comment, I think that the skirt you suggest is great, but may be with a jacket that has steep angles. But this is very personnal.
2/23/09 1:21 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beatiful as always. I've made this when the issue came out, and it's a great pattern, though as you've experienced, very fitting. If I were you I would think twice about the BWOF skirt, the pleats are a nice feature that you can certainly carry off, but the very prominent zipper? Not that you couldn't wear it, more a personal dislike, which should not hold you back of course from making it.
2/23/09 1:16 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Impeccable. Thanks for yet another gorgeous photo tutorial on how you did it - you have got to be one of the most helpful and generous tailors out there. And of course, the jacket looks wonderful on you - terrific styling. Re the skirt - I'd go for the one with godets.
2/23/09 1:13 PM
Mahler said...
Thank you for this instructive review. I love the top sleeve seam and the shape it gives. I looked at your pictures. If I understand right, you did not do the herringbone stitches to shape the shawl collar and you used the fusible method instead. ? As for skirt or pants, it would be gorgeous to have a skirt wich "recalls" (un rappel de...) the sleeve vent. Either as a side vent on both sides or in center front or back ? Your fabric is formal and I love formal fabric used for feminine clothes. I think that the jacket is in this line of thinking. Round shapes and feminine lines.
2/23/09 1:13 PM
digs57 said...
Beautiful jacket, and a terrific lesson!
2/23/09 11:36 AM
nglalala said...
Amazing jacket! Love the buttons!
2/23/09 11:32 AM
okie2thdoc said...
You did a wonderful job and appreciate your review. I can't wait to see the finished skirt.
2/23/09 11:00 AM
Karen6790 said...
Wow, I forgot about this pattern - I remember marking it at the time and never got to it. Off to dig up my old issues. This turned out beautifully, love the fabric and the shape of the jacket is great on you.
2/23/09 10:25 AM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous jacket - the fit is perfect.
2/23/09 9:41 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Very fine job and great review. Old buttonholers are known to deliver exactly what you need! (I've heard of people who leave them set up on a lesser machine.) Good tip on the eyelet; I love your buttons.
2/23/09 8:59 AM
CarolynGM said...
What amazing underpinnings this jacket has. I must try your batting techniques in my next tailored jacket.
2/23/09 7:08 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very professional looking jacket. I love the rounded shoulders and the whole jacket style. Excellent job!
2/23/09 6:54 AM
poplin said...
Superb, as always.
2/23/09 6:11 AM
Mary Nanna said...
it looks so amazing, I especially love your button choice
2/23/09 2:49 AM
merry-one said...
Wow!!
2/22/09 11:01 PM
DaisyEsq said...
This is an absolutely wonderful jacket.
2/22/09 10:41 PM
Jan B. said...
Your sewing is so impeccable and so is the fit -- would you like to adopt me?? As for a skirt for this ensemble, my vote's for the one with the godgets.
2/22/09 10:26 PM
KarmenG said...
I had been wondering what you were working on lately.....this jacket is perfect! Really stunning on you.
2/22/09 10:14 PM
Robin Denning said...
Beautiful. Exquisite. Amazing. sigh.... thanks for sharing!!!
2/22/09 10:11 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I love this pattern and it looks wonderful in the subtle stripe. Thanks for all the photos and the detailed review.
2/22/09 9:55 PM
cmarie12 said...
I am sooooo stealing the eyelet trick for sewing on a heavy button!!! This is a beautiful jacket and will be a beautiful suit once the slacks and skirt are made!
2/22/09 9:35 PM
FurGal said...
You did a beautiful job on this jacket, expertly made. The idea of the eyelet for the button shank is a nifty one!
2/22/09 9:06 PM
Re Becca said...
Impeccable as always! So, quilt batting is the magic trick. When I ask for that at the fabric store, they will think that I have lost my mind. Your shoulders / jackets always look supreme.
2/22/09 8:59 PM
Byrdie said...
Great looking jacket- very professional looking!
2/22/09 8:35 PM
Christas said...
Absolutely impeccable sewing..... PERFECT!
2/22/09 8:30 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! Your jacket looks AMAZING!! You did a FANTASTIC job on it!! Everything is SOOOO PERFECT!!!
2/22/09 8:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Simplicity 3626

photo
by: PostMuse

Review
Other Gertie\'s Portrait Blouse

photo
by: ShanniLove...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

More Info
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

More Info