Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2006-107 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 743 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/09 7:55 PM
Last Updated:2/22/09 7:59 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! Your jacket looks AMAZING!! You did a FANTASTIC job on it!! Everything is SOOOO PERFECT!!!
2/22/09 8:05 PM
Christas said...
Absolutely impeccable sewing..... PERFECT!
2/22/09 8:30 PM
Byrdie said...
Great looking jacket- very professional looking!
2/22/09 8:35 PM
Re Becca said...
Impeccable as always! So, quilt batting is the magic trick. When I ask for that at the fabric store, they will think that I have lost my mind. Your shoulders / jackets always look supreme.
2/22/09 8:59 PM
FurGal said...
You did a beautiful job on this jacket, expertly made. The idea of the eyelet for the button shank is a nifty one!
2/22/09 9:06 PM
cmarie12 said...
I am sooooo stealing the eyelet trick for sewing on a heavy button!!! This is a beautiful jacket and will be a beautiful suit once the slacks and skirt are made!
2/22/09 9:35 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I love this pattern and it looks wonderful in the subtle stripe. Thanks for all the photos and the detailed review.
2/22/09 9:55 PM
Robin Denning said...
Beautiful. Exquisite. Amazing. sigh.... thanks for sharing!!!
2/22/09 10:11 PM
KarmenG said...
I had been wondering what you were working on lately.....this jacket is perfect! Really stunning on you.
2/22/09 10:14 PM
Jan B. said...
Your sewing is so impeccable and so is the fit -- would you like to adopt me?? As for a skirt for this ensemble, my vote's for the one with the godgets.
2/22/09 10:26 PM
DaisyEsq said...
This is an absolutely wonderful jacket.
2/22/09 10:41 PM
merry-one said...
Wow!!
2/22/09 11:01 PM
Mary Nanna said...
it looks so amazing, I especially love your button choice
2/23/09 2:49 AM
poplin said...
Superb, as always.
2/23/09 6:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very professional looking jacket. I love the rounded shoulders and the whole jacket style. Excellent job!
2/23/09 6:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
What amazing underpinnings this jacket has. I must try your batting techniques in my next tailored jacket.
2/23/09 7:08 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Very fine job and great review. Old buttonholers are known to deliver exactly what you need! (I've heard of people who leave them set up on a lesser machine.) Good tip on the eyelet; I love your buttons.
2/23/09 8:59 AM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous jacket - the fit is perfect.
2/23/09 9:41 AM
Karen6790 said...
Wow, I forgot about this pattern - I remember marking it at the time and never got to it. Off to dig up my old issues. This turned out beautifully, love the fabric and the shape of the jacket is great on you.
2/23/09 10:25 AM
okie2thdoc said...
You did a wonderful job and appreciate your review. I can't wait to see the finished skirt.
2/23/09 11:00 AM
nglalala said...
Amazing jacket! Love the buttons!
2/23/09 11:32 AM
digs57 said...
Beautiful jacket, and a terrific lesson!
2/23/09 11:36 AM
Mahler said...
Thank you for this instructive review. I love the top sleeve seam and the shape it gives. I looked at your pictures. If I understand right, you did not do the herringbone stitches to shape the shawl collar and you used the fusible method instead. ? As for skirt or pants, it would be gorgeous to have a skirt wich "recalls" (un rappel de...) the sleeve vent. Either as a side vent on both sides or in center front or back ? Your fabric is formal and I love formal fabric used for feminine clothes. I think that the jacket is in this line of thinking. Round shapes and feminine lines.
2/23/09 1:13 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Impeccable. Thanks for yet another gorgeous photo tutorial on how you did it - you have got to be one of the most helpful and generous tailors out there. And of course, the jacket looks wonderful on you - terrific styling. Re the skirt - I'd go for the one with godets.
2/23/09 1:13 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beatiful as always. I've made this when the issue came out, and it's a great pattern, though as you've experienced, very fitting. If I were you I would think twice about the BWOF skirt, the pleats are a nice feature that you can certainly carry off, but the very prominent zipper? Not that you couldn't wear it, more a personal dislike, which should not hold you back of course from making it.
2/23/09 1:16 PM
Mahler said...
If I may add to Sigrid's comment, I think that the skirt you suggest is great, but may be with a jacket that has steep angles. But this is very personnal.
2/23/09 1:21 PM
JamieLiz said...
Stunning!
2/23/09 1:30 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your jacket is fantastic! You are going to have a fabulous suit when you complete the other pieces. I love the lines of that jacket - the detail is wonderful.
2/23/09 1:57 PM
amy in mpls said...
Great review and beautiful jacket. I love the eyelet for the button trick...very nice!
2/23/09 4:58 PM
mamalobb said...
That looks SOOO good! Thank you also for the flickr tutorial on shoulder pads and sleeve heads. I'm currently making a casual twill sport coat for DH and wondered how to do this. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
2/23/09 5:50 PM
ALY said...
I have always been attracted to this jacket pattern. Your jacket is beautiful and the fit is fantanstic.
2/23/09 7:27 PM
valerie sews said...
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. I've been intending to make a jacket from this pattern for a long time. I was wondering how it would look with long sleeves. Thank you for your information on the construction layers of the jacket. It's just perfect.
2/23/09 7:43 PM
Terri A said...
WOW! Speechless!
2/24/09 3:47 AM
Elke said...
Amazing workmanship! Looks great on you.
2/24/09 5:53 AM
Winifred said...
Thankyou for letting us in on this wonderful work of precision engineering!!It surely has the WOW factor. And i have so much enjoyed seeing the process on Flickr - very helpful. I love the buttons. The skirt? I think the one with the godets - very classy for a very clever and talented lady - you ought to be on the cover of Threads !!
2/24/09 6:47 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm trying to think back to what I was DOING on February 22nd, that I MISSED this WONDERFUL review! The answer is: I have no idea, but I'm glad I found it now anyway. :o) I just can't tell you how much I admire your work. Everything you make is a masterpiece and an inspiration. I love EVERY detail of this jacket. I REALLY like those SLEEVES. But MOST OF ALL, I like your project photo -- WITH YOUR HEAD! :O)
3/4/09 10:33 PM
Athene said...
Such a meticulously made jacket - absolutely a pleasure to read about and see - very inspiring.
3/5/09 10:29 PM
Grammy Gin said...
What more can I say? Everyone else said it all. I agree that your work is impeccable! I am going to use all of your construction photos & descriptions if I ever get around to making a jacket. You look great in it. Thanks for such a detailed & helpful review!
3/11/09 12:55 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
What a superb jacket skirt--very professional looking. I too am inspired by your eyelet for the shank buttons on the sleeves.
3/23/09 10:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

No Pattern Used 2012-3 large totes
photo
Review by katlew03 on 1/31/12
Read Review

Vogue 8649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9769 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 9769 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2615
photo
Review by annakeeton on 9/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us