SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7762 (MISSES' DRESS)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1110 times 
Reviewed by:Sweetiebop
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sweetiebopstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 1/31/07
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/09 9:46 AM
Last Updated:3/11/09 8:54 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
latebloomer said...
You've made a very elegant dress. I'm impressed you can still fit into a dress you started 5 years ago!
2/25/09 9:55 AM
TalyQ said...
Congratulations on finishing it!
2/25/09 10:08 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
I too find sewing so much better than a therapist--it pays you back with clothes you love and that fit better (once one learns how to fit) and are cheaper than RTW. I think your fabric is stunning and just makes your dress so much more glamorous. Thanks for the review!
2/25/09 1:06 PM
ITAdmin said...
Very pretty. I love the color and the dramatic sleeves.
2/25/09 1:17 PM
Mahler said...
What an elegant mother to be you are. This dress is wonderful.
2/25/09 1:26 PM
EleanorSews said...
5 years... WOW! The dress is lovely. Hats off to you for getting this UFO done. Looking forward to the next version.
2/25/09 1:42 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Mahler I questioned my photo now I know I must retake it. I am just fat. This dress was started 5 years ago and I have a pouch now.
2/25/09 1:42 PM
Fictionfan said...
You've motivated me to get to work on some UFOs! About the back (I can't see the front because the photo isn't there): Looks to me like you could let out the back seam below the zipper a little and maybe let out the side seams at the back just a little to give the dress a bit more room to drape over your derriere. Hopefully that doesn't make the front too baggy, though if you let out for the back side seams, you don't have to let out the front portion (more work though). I like the color and the drape of the fabric, and I've wondered about how the pattern would sew up. I look forward to seeing your new photo of the front of the dress. You posted the photo while I was putting in the comment! Beautiful dress! I love the style. The front drape effect is flattering and those sleeves look fun!
2/25/09 6:57 PM
mars418 said...
Really nice dress and very becoming. I like the color on you. Congrats on pulling it out and finishing it after 5 years!!
2/25/09 8:46 PM
Skye said...
thank you for the review - I have had this pattern in my stash and pulled it out a couple of time but now after seeing your lovely dress I will give it a go
2/26/09 3:02 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress!
2/26/09 7:57 PM
sewingstacy said...
love the color - great job!
2/26/09 9:54 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! Very pretty dress in a very pretty color!
2/27/09 0:18 AM
Caroleleah said...
Sweetiebop - Your dress is gorgeous! Great job on a 5-year old UFO! (I'm jealous - I can't even get into the same SHOES from 5 years ago!) Regarding the bump in the back zipper, I agree with FictionFan that letting out your seams a tad might let the dress slip down a bit over your hips and straighten out "The Lump". I'm wondering if the waist is simply too long, though, and that you might need to do an above-waist adjustment for your next version? It really is a perfect fit other than that lumpy long spot, and you might only need to shorten to a more petite waist length to avoid that in future efforts. Very pretty dress!!
2/27/09 3:14 AM
Gold said...
Wonderful dress!
3/11/09 8:54 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress!
3/11/09 9:22 PM
sewbehind said...
Your dress is beautiful and elegant.
3/11/09 9:30 PM
inkstain said...
fabulous! Anyone ever tell you you're a dead ringer for Donna Brazile, top politico of the Dem Party? I can't imagine a diva like this delivering my mail (was that the job in sneakers?) but it would lift my day to see you on my doorstep! Great sewing ahead!
3/12/09 2:36 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Thanks Inkstain. And that was the job full makeup, do done up and shades everyday. And I hated the sneaker thing. But I loved my customers and I miss them dearly.
3/12/09 2:45 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'll tell you one thing, you look like a MILLION BUCKS in this dress! The STYLE and the COLOR are PERFECT for you. :o)
3/12/09 3:43 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Stellar look on you! Your tweaks worked perfectly. You look fantastic in plum.
3/12/09 11:29 AM
Catbird said...
You say you're "working" on your style?! I'd say you have it nailed! This is GORGEOUS on you. And yes you do look like the captivating Donna Brazile. And p.s., Sweetiebop, you're not in any way fat -- I suspect something got lost in the English-French translation and that Mahler may have thought you meant "in the family way" when you mentioned the illness in the family. I hope all is well now. Enjoy your beautiful creation!
3/12/09 8:27 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Thanks Catbird, It wasn't the translation it was the picture I had posted which had me holding my stomach like I was expecting. My Mom was rolling on the floor laughing at me for posting that picture.
3/12/09 8:59 PM
Em's Summer said...
You look beautiful in your very elegant dress!
3/12/09 11:12 PM
Catbird said...
Aha! I didn't see that picture. I guess that would explain it ....!
3/13/09 10:46 AM
homejewel said...
This is a very flattering style on you. I love it and the color is wonderful!
4/13/09 10:50 PM
Roxxygrl said...
Thanks for the review, I found this pattern hidden amongst my long abandoned stash of fabric and am now seriously considering attempting it one day.
3/17/10 7:13 AM
elinorina said...
This looks lovely on you; I've been contemplating this pattern for quite a while, and you've inspired me to put it on my "yes I'm going to make it" list!
10/30/10 8:13 PM
MACANNE999 said...
You have a great style. I always look at reviews from people who have my body type, but also from those who have a 'style' I admire. Beautiful!
4/18/11 9:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Simplicity 2012

photo
by: Bendy

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now