Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7762 (MISSES' DRESS) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1092 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Sweetiebop
photo
Friend of PR
About Sweetiebopstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 1/31/07
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/09 9:46 AM
Last Updated:3/11/09 8:54 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
latebloomer said...
You've made a very elegant dress. I'm impressed you can still fit into a dress you started 5 years ago!
2/25/09 9:55 AM
TalyQ said...
Congratulations on finishing it!
2/25/09 10:08 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
I too find sewing so much better than a therapist--it pays you back with clothes you love and that fit better (once one learns how to fit) and are cheaper than RTW. I think your fabric is stunning and just makes your dress so much more glamorous. Thanks for the review!
2/25/09 1:06 PM
ITAdmin said...
Very pretty. I love the color and the dramatic sleeves.
2/25/09 1:17 PM
Mahler said...
What an elegant mother to be you are. This dress is wonderful.
2/25/09 1:26 PM
EleanorSews said...
5 years... WOW! The dress is lovely. Hats off to you for getting this UFO done. Looking forward to the next version.
2/25/09 1:42 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Mahler I questioned my photo now I know I must retake it. I am just fat. This dress was started 5 years ago and I have a pouch now.
2/25/09 1:42 PM
Fictionfan said...
You've motivated me to get to work on some UFOs! About the back (I can't see the front because the photo isn't there): Looks to me like you could let out the back seam below the zipper a little and maybe let out the side seams at the back just a little to give the dress a bit more room to drape over your derriere. Hopefully that doesn't make the front too baggy, though if you let out for the back side seams, you don't have to let out the front portion (more work though). I like the color and the drape of the fabric, and I've wondered about how the pattern would sew up. I look forward to seeing your new photo of the front of the dress. You posted the photo while I was putting in the comment! Beautiful dress! I love the style. The front drape effect is flattering and those sleeves look fun!
2/25/09 6:57 PM
mars418 said...
Really nice dress and very becoming. I like the color on you. Congrats on pulling it out and finishing it after 5 years!!
2/25/09 8:46 PM
Skye said...
thank you for the review - I have had this pattern in my stash and pulled it out a couple of time but now after seeing your lovely dress I will give it a go
2/26/09 3:02 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress!
2/26/09 7:57 PM
sewingstacy said...
love the color - great job!
2/26/09 9:54 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! Very pretty dress in a very pretty color!
2/27/09 0:18 AM
Caroleleah said...
Sweetiebop - Your dress is gorgeous! Great job on a 5-year old UFO! (I'm jealous - I can't even get into the same SHOES from 5 years ago!) Regarding the bump in the back zipper, I agree with FictionFan that letting out your seams a tad might let the dress slip down a bit over your hips and straighten out "The Lump". I'm wondering if the waist is simply too long, though, and that you might need to do an above-waist adjustment for your next version? It really is a perfect fit other than that lumpy long spot, and you might only need to shorten to a more petite waist length to avoid that in future efforts. Very pretty dress!!
2/27/09 3:14 AM
Gold said...
Wonderful dress!
3/11/09 8:54 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress!
3/11/09 9:22 PM
sewbehind said...
Your dress is beautiful and elegant.
3/11/09 9:30 PM
inkstain said...
fabulous! Anyone ever tell you you're a dead ringer for Donna Brazile, top politico of the Dem Party? I can't imagine a diva like this delivering my mail (was that the job in sneakers?) but it would lift my day to see you on my doorstep! Great sewing ahead!
3/12/09 2:36 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Thanks Inkstain. And that was the job full makeup, do done up and shades everyday. And I hated the sneaker thing. But I loved my customers and I miss them dearly.
3/12/09 2:45 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'll tell you one thing, you look like a MILLION BUCKS in this dress! The STYLE and the COLOR are PERFECT for you. :o)
3/12/09 3:43 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Stellar look on you! Your tweaks worked perfectly. You look fantastic in plum.
3/12/09 11:29 AM
Catbird said...
You say you're "working" on your style?! I'd say you have it nailed! This is GORGEOUS on you. And yes you do look like the captivating Donna Brazile. And p.s., Sweetiebop, you're not in any way fat -- I suspect something got lost in the English-French translation and that Mahler may have thought you meant "in the family way" when you mentioned the illness in the family. I hope all is well now. Enjoy your beautiful creation!
3/12/09 8:27 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Thanks Catbird, It wasn't the translation it was the picture I had posted which had me holding my stomach like I was expecting. My Mom was rolling on the floor laughing at me for posting that picture.
3/12/09 8:59 PM
Em's Summer said...
You look beautiful in your very elegant dress!
3/12/09 11:12 PM
Catbird said...
Aha! I didn't see that picture. I guess that would explain it ....!
3/13/09 10:46 AM
homejewel said...
This is a very flattering style on you. I love it and the color is wonderful!
4/13/09 10:50 PM
Roxxygrl said...
Thanks for the review, I found this pattern hidden amongst my long abandoned stash of fabric and am now seriously considering attempting it one day.
3/17/10 7:13 AM
elinorina said...
This looks lovely on you; I've been contemplating this pattern for quite a while, and you've inspired me to put it on my "yes I'm going to make it" list!
10/30/10 8:13 PM
MACANNE999 said...
You have a great style. I always look at reviews from people who have my body type, but also from those who have a 'style' I admire. Beautiful!
4/18/11 9:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Kwik Sew 3101
photo
Review by donna mel on 6/25/08
Read Review

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6962 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by vintageclo... on 7/30/10
Read Review

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Sheer White
PerfectFuse Sheer White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1572 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2 )
Simplicity 1572 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6979 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6979 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us