SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M5323 (Wrap Blouse and sash)

1 more reviews
Viewed 237 times 
Reviewed by:halleyscomet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About halleyscometstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/27/07
Reviews written: 197
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 186
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/09 9:32 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Secretsugar said...
When I first clicked on your photo, I thought this was a vintage-looking short wrap coat--maybe '40's era inspired. I was surprised to learn that it was a blouse pattern and I LOVE it! I'm disappointed to learn that the pattern is OOP, but maybe I'll try and find a similar pattern and use a "coat-y" fabric to recreate the effect. This really is so pretty to me! Love the color, too.
2/27/09 10:31 PM
sewingstacy said...
Great top, love the color!
2/26/09 9:47 PM
Christas said...
Your blouse/jacket looks so nice! I really needed your puffed sleeve adjustment on a blouse I recently made. Great job!
2/26/09 5:22 PM
Renren said...
I like how you thought to reduce the sash width, the puffiness of the sleeves, and the cuff width. Those are not things I would think of changing, but I can see how doing so would truly customize the fit. I like how you confidently make such decisions. Very nice.
2/26/09 12:31 PM
Re Becca said...
Yes, I like your better. Your adjustments to the neckline and sleeves make it look more flattering. This looks fabulous.
2/26/09 12:06 PM
EleanorSews said...
Your blouse is just lovely and sounds as if you hit the nail on the head with the adjustments, especially making the cuff and sash more proportional and reducing the fullness of the sleeves.
2/26/09 9:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Godet Jacket

photo
by: Kessem

Review
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now