SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2655 (Misses & Miss Petite Skirts)

19 more reviews
Viewed 670 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 206
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 205
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/09 10:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
singersew said...
I have a question on this skirt and I feel like a goofball because Im sure I confused myself. How many panels are there to this skirt? I confused myself because I wanted to put in a lining and I'm also not sure how I would accomplish that.
5/24/10 3:51 PM
Sharon M said...
Grands1x - My height is 5' 5-1/2" and for skirts I'm usually RTW 6 or 8. With the yoke on this skirt you shouldn't have any trouble fitting her. Pin the flounce pattern piece to the skirt to get an idea of where it will hit her lengthwise. She's tall so this will likely be above her knees.
5/4/10 8:23 PM
Grands1x said...
Sharon - love your skirt. Appreciate your comments. DIL has chosen this pattern for some summer skirts. Normally I make her little A-line style with an elastic waist. So I am concerned about the fit. SHe is tall (5'10") and likes her skirt above the knee. WOuld you mind telling me what size in RTW you purchase? DIL is JR 11.
5/3/10 8:49 AM
mystrygirl87 said...
I'm with you on the flounces and tie belts! I love the fabric you used, very eye-catching.
11/15/09 6:16 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Thanks for your explanation, Sharon!! For me there's no "obviously" ;). I was AMAZED that we have "the stuff" at our Fabricville. Got the pattern & look forward to using your good review ideas!!!
6/14/09 3:56 PM
Sharon M said...
Twill tape is not the same as bias tape. Twill tape will help stabilize a seam as it does not stretch. Bias tape, obviously because it is cut on the bias, can stretch.
6/14/09 12:59 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I see on the pattern back that it calls for "twill tape"... Is that the same as bias tape??
6/13/09 6:44 PM
MelC said...
Thanks for your review. I love your fabric choice! This one is on my list to buy.
3/9/09 2:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute skirt!
3/1/09 8:10 AM
amy in mpls said...
Wow, really cute. Your fabric is perfect for a fun spring skirt!
2/28/09 9:39 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty ensemble!
2/28/09 9:03 AM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!
2/28/09 0:12 AM
wendlesue said...
Wow, I really like this pattern, thanks for drawing my attention to it. So many cute details. And your fabric is so fun!
2/27/09 11:04 PM
sewbehind said...
Very cute skirt in a great fabric.
2/27/09 10:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969

photo
by: julliams

Review
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Buy Now