SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2655 (Misses & Miss Petite Skirts)

17 more reviews
Viewed 665 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/09 10:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.16 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Very cute skirt in a great fabric.
2/27/09 10:52 PM
wendlesue said...
Wow, I really like this pattern, thanks for drawing my attention to it. So many cute details. And your fabric is so fun!
2/27/09 11:04 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!
2/28/09 0:12 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty ensemble!
2/28/09 9:03 AM
amy in mpls said...
Wow, really cute. Your fabric is perfect for a fun spring skirt!
2/28/09 9:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute skirt!
3/1/09 8:10 AM
MelC said...
Thanks for your review. I love your fabric choice! This one is on my list to buy.
3/9/09 2:23 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I see on the pattern back that it calls for "twill tape"... Is that the same as bias tape??
6/13/09 6:44 PM
Sharon M said...
Twill tape is not the same as bias tape. Twill tape will help stabilize a seam as it does not stretch. Bias tape, obviously because it is cut on the bias, can stretch.
6/14/09 12:59 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Thanks for your explanation, Sharon!! For me there's no "obviously" ;). I was AMAZED that we have "the stuff" at our Fabricville. Got the pattern & look forward to using your good review ideas!!!
6/14/09 3:56 PM
mystrygirl87 said...
I'm with you on the flounces and tie belts! I love the fabric you used, very eye-catching.
11/15/09 6:16 PM
Grands1x said...
Sharon - love your skirt. Appreciate your comments. DIL has chosen this pattern for some summer skirts. Normally I make her little A-line style with an elastic waist. So I am concerned about the fit. SHe is tall (5'10") and likes her skirt above the knee. WOuld you mind telling me what size in RTW you purchase? DIL is JR 11.
5/3/10 8:49 AM
Sharon M said...
Grands1x - My height is 5' 5-1/2" and for skirts I'm usually RTW 6 or 8. With the yoke on this skirt you shouldn't have any trouble fitting her. Pin the flounce pattern piece to the skirt to get an idea of where it will hit her lengthwise. She's tall so this will likely be above her knees.
5/4/10 8:23 PM
singersew said...
I have a question on this skirt and I feel like a goofball because Im sure I confused myself. How many panels are there to this skirt? I confused myself because I wanted to put in a lining and I'm also not sure how I would accomplish that.
5/24/10 3:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 4440

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now