Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: B5053 (Butterick by Connie Crawford) - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 627 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:rejoyce
photo
Friend of PR
About rejoycestar
AK USA
Member since: 4/4/07
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/09 10:23 PM
Last Updated:3/1/09 11:46 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tall Mary said...
Thank you for this very helpful review. I have some of Connie Crawford's patterns and had read that they run large. It is helpful that you reiterated this in your review and discussed the type of fabric you used. Kathy
3/1/09 11:51 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for your review! I had considered buying a couple of CC patterns, but my measurements put me right on the border of the smaller and larger sizes meaning I would have to buy both size ranges to make sure I was covered. With this information, that her sizes run larger, I can probably get away with buying just one size range (and I would never actually buy both patterns for coverage, so this means I will go back and seriously consider her patterns). Good luck as you continue tweaking the pattern!
3/2/09 5:30 AM
sewnsew43 said...
CC sizes do run large as I found out with her sccop neck top. It fell off my shoulders. In my ongoing quest for the perfect pants I may try these next. It is better to err on the side of too big so altering is possible and they are not a total loss. Good job
3/2/09 7:51 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi Pants are difficult -- but once you get a better fit, a wearable pair which you clearly have here... you can improve with every subsequent pair. Congrats! You are on a roll. Bravo!
3/2/09 8:32 AM
Ody said...
Rejoyce, You have done a wonderful job on those pants. There is a Plus size sew along with some of the very best fitting people there in that thread. I went back through a few pages and did not see your name, so if you are not posting there, you need to be. We would love to have you with open arms. Sherill or Debbie could help you tweek the fit so your pants could kick it up another notch. Great review, and hope to see you there.
3/2/09 9:36 AM
EleanorSews said...
Lots of information here! Pants fitting is really such a major undertaking and you've come very close indeed. Hats off to you on this one!
3/2/09 12:45 PM
Sherril Miller said...
First of all, congratulations on finding a pants pattern that isn't a pull-on. You need to go to Threads magazine's website and find the Sandra Betzina video on her fly zipper method. It's fool proof and you'll never see the zipper with that method. Honest. Second, your fit is really good over the hips, which is hard to do. The legs still need some tweeking, but it's not quite as hard. I recommend you not wear tapered pants. You need a straight legged pattern and it's easy to alter this pattern for. So congratulations, you're well on your way to a great TNT pants pattern. You know, they are more precious than gold.
3/2/09 10:06 PM
michellep74 said...
Nice job on your new pants! I agree with Sherril--definitely check out the Sandra Betzina video on putting in a fly front zipper. It's the only method of putting in a fly zipper that I've seen that's made sense to me.
3/2/09 10:46 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Rejoyce, you did a wonderful job on your pants, I hope to try a pair myself soon. With the great tips given in the comments I'm sure the next pair will be even better and like Sherril says a good fitting pair of pants is like gold!
3/3/09 1:53 PM
bananaoil said...
Your pants look good. You could end up with a TNT pants pattern, a quest I've been on for years. Good luck!
3/7/09 4:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 3557 Easy to sew
photo
Review by tatterbat on 6/2/08
Read Review

New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3316 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Kalena on 1/31/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us