SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3881 (Misses skirt and belt)

16 more reviews
Viewed 262 times 
Reviewed by:lizziwhizz
photo

 
 
About lizziwhizzstarstar
ME USA
Member since: 4/22/07
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/09 7:56 PM
Last Updated:3/2/09 10:49 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jso4fun said...
Hi Lizziwhizz, I really liked reading this review. I think your skirt, although I understand your "issues" with it. Mostly I wanted to write to you because I am new to PR and looking for other petites. I am also 5' "tall" and wear RTW size 6, so I was really excited to see your profile! What have been your favorite patterns? Do you have any favorite patterns that have worked well for "our" figure type? Janet
3/21/09 3:04 PM
katlew03 said...
I know what you mean about the hem. I made a polyester print top with angel sleeves and had the same problem. I finally decided that the next time I would use self binding or serge and turn. The fabric refuses to press and there's just too much to hand finish. This print must have been popular in several fabrics because I just made DGD a skirt in rayon in different colors. I think it is so pretty. I think your skirt looks great.
3/3/09 10:20 PM
EleanorSews said...
The skirt looks cute in the photo, but I hear you on all the issues swirling in your mind... It helps the rest of us when we get this side of the experience. Thanks.
3/2/09 12:40 PM
Renren said...
Looks cute, but I know what you are talking about with the waist treatment. I have a UFO knit skirt from November I'm still toying with. It sits 1inch below the waist, but I swear, that thing is going to fall right off or, at least, expose my tummy. (Condition of tummy and my age would indicate tummy should STAY COVERED!!!) I have read an article in a past Thread's issue about using elastic at the waistline, not as part of an elasticized waist, but to help acheive a better fit. I'll probably revisit the skirt and try this method, and perhaps you will see my future review when I will either pan it or give it a thumbs up. Good luck, lizziwhizz! P.S. Your skirt does look nice.!
3/2/09 11:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 140

photo
by: Samantha82

Review
Simplicity 2648

photo
by: jlg

Review
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now