Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Line Designs: 60565 (By Popular Demand) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2181 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Tee Jay
photo
About Tee Jaystar
TX USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/03 8:51 PM
Last Updated:11/9/03 10:01 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mbarkle said...
Great looking jacket. I have the pattern, took her class, this may be the inspiration I need to get it made up. Very nice.
11/9/03 9:05 PM
CatherineN said...
Looks nice but nothing like the pattern drawing. I've heard others comment on that too. Very attractive on you.
11/9/03 9:49 PM
jlg said...
Tee Jay, your jacket turned out great. I think that I would leave the topstitching as is.
11/10/03 5:21 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Your jacket looks great on you, I wouldn't change a thing. Beautiful work!
11/10/03 6:12 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice. Great color. I think I'd leave the topstitching as is too.
11/10/03 7:26 AM
katharin said...
Thank you for the review. The darts are clever. The jacket looks great on you, and I am sure it will look great in corduroy too.
11/10/03 7:49 AM
Star said...
Thanks for the review. I bought this pattern from her this summer at Martha Pullen. I even got her to sign the pattern! (My family thought I was crazy.) One question, did you find this to be a tedious project? About how long (in hours) did you complete the process? Your jacket looks great!
11/10/03 8:22 AM
SansSouci572 said...
This jacket does not look boxy! Glad to see it, as I have the pattern! Thanks!!
11/10/03 10:22 AM
frogs2 said...
Great looking jacket. You've got wonderful shoulders, and I really like how crisp it looks.
11/10/03 12:19 PM
Tee Jay said...
Star--I was at same Expo--I just didn't think to ask Louise for an autographed copy of the pattern. Tedious? No--I had fun making it probably because there were no mistakes to speak of (up to the last topstiching of the front edges) and good instruction meant no down time trying to figure stuff out. I did a quickie muslin to check fit first. Topstitching takes time (and thread, I'll have to buy another spool of thread to finish), but time at machine is my favorite. I sew in spurts of time after work and never time myself (I'd probably quit sewing if I did, I'm slow). Best collar edge I've ever done due to Louise's special collar pattern piece. Give it a try.
11/10/03 9:46 PM
Mini said...
Tee Jay, nice job! This looked awful on me, but is very cute on you:). You can do the petite adjustment on this jacket the same as on other patterns, but I think it is easier to see what you're doing with the two piece sleeve if you temporarily make it one piece. You can butt the two parts together along the stitching line, folding the seam allowance out of the way. Or just trace it that way. The same applies to the back pieces-it is easier to visualize the adjusted fit with the back temporarily in one piece. (You can also make the jacket that way for a different look.)
11/11/03 4:49 PM
Mary Lesperance said...
Thanks so much for your review! The jacket looks great on you! Except for height, I have similar measurements, and your review helps me to decide on sizing. Louise's patterns have very little waist shaping, and your use of the darts is wonderful!
11/19/03 8:17 AM
patsijean said...
I love the pinch pleat suggestion, as I am not sure I would like all those pockets on a 'tad' overweight (I'm loosing) 5'2" figure. Consider using shallower pleats in the back also. It will give some curve to your figure.
3/11/06 3:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4568
photo
Review by Lori V on 3/2/06
Read Review

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5354
photo
Review by Gelbean on 6/3/10
Read Review

McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )
McCalls 6101 Pattern ( Size 3/4-5/6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5432 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us