Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-115 (Blouse w/ruched collar) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 846 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/09 9:18 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Oh, yes . . . hunchback billowing . . .NOT the hot new look for spring! Love your blouse with its perfect creative touch using Fabric Mart tie silks!
3/3/09 9:43 AM
cabinbaby said...
I love that blouse. I have that halfway made but the darts were giving me fits too. That and I cut it out in a too large size. Your review has given me hope. Thank you!
3/3/09 10:04 AM
amy in mpls said...
Brilliant! Love the menswear witty detail!
3/3/09 10:09 AM
Twinset said...
This is so nice! Love the color combination of the 2 fabrics together; beautiful shirt!
3/3/09 10:18 AM
Sew Shy said...
This is a great looking blouse on you - I especially love the trim on the collar and sleeves - what a fabulous idea!
3/3/09 10:21 AM
Jali said...
Very nice! The magazine version looks boring compared to your cool shirt. Yours looks smart and fun. Wonderfully done details.
3/3/09 10:35 AM
BeeBeeSew said...
Very cute and quite witty. Nice touches to make it unique.
3/3/09 10:35 AM
Mufffet said...
SO glad you could easily take care of the back billowing! Lovely shirt - love the collar underfabric!
3/3/09 11:07 AM
EleanorSews said...
You've taken a simple blouse up a notch or two with with contrast and the grouping of buttons. Sew smart!
3/3/09 11:20 AM
SueV said...
Nice! Like this blouse. This may be the one for my white 3/4 sleeve blouse that I *need*. Like the button detail and the contrast.
3/3/09 11:20 AM
frame said...
Very nice! Great idea to turn the back pleats into darts. Looks very nice and fitted.
3/3/09 11:44 AM
Deepika said...
Trena, you've done it again. This blouse makes me want to drop everything and go home and sew. Love the contrast silk tie in the collar. That really MAKES this blouse.
3/3/09 12:25 PM
Amanda S. said...
I thought this blouse was ugly in the magazine, but I LOVE yours! And I completely misses the shirred collar detail. Cute fabric choice as well, and I like the buttons in groups of two. Guess I'll have to add this to my never-ending list. Thanks for the inspiration!
3/3/09 1:28 PM
nellc said...
Really nice shirt, I like the contrast of the tie silk trim you have used.
3/3/09 1:37 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Trina, you really have a "blouse body" and this one is spectacular with its body conscious upper tailoring, exotic collar and tie silk accents. Also love the twin settings of buttons. BWOF should use you/yours as its model b/c your interpretation puts BWOF's to shame. (Thanks again for your recent Flickr help; deeply appreciated.) Lovely, Lily
3/3/09 1:50 PM
wendlesue said...
Such a clever combination of fabrics!
3/3/09 2:14 PM
Karen6790 said...
Much better than the magazine version. I recently used the two-by-two buttons on a man's shirt and think it's a wonderful detail - especially since you always use such fabulous buttons.
3/3/09 2:45 PM
MissCelie said...
You don't need me to tell you that this is FABULOUS!
3/3/09 5:06 PM
Puddin Pop said...
The way you fixed the back, makes it look amazing. Love the pleats and the long length, also. That skirt looks great with it.
3/3/09 5:08 PM
Izzie said...
Awesome blouse! I love the collar detail and the unusual button placement. It looks fabulous on you. Great review!!!
3/3/09 5:52 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sensational looking shirt, NiceGirl! You look great!
3/3/09 6:48 PM
Natasha B said...
What a great blouse - fab fabrics and excellent button details. The fit looks just perfect for you (I personally like to see good smallk bust patterns as well!). The finished result suits you enourmously - congratulations on a perfect fabric, pattern and personality mesh!
3/3/09 8:02 PM
Jill Giard said...
Love it!! Great detailing in the contrast fabric and button spacing.
3/3/09 8:44 PM
Kay Y said...
This looks fabulous on you - another winner shirt from WOF. Beautiful details, nice call to improve the fit; I'm thinking you have abandoned your slapdash ways.
3/3/09 8:46 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Very clever blouse. I don't know which detail I like better, the tie accents, the release pleat in the front, or the button grouping. Anyway, I'm sure to steal these details for future blouses I plan to make. Yours is so wonderful.
3/3/09 10:17 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Love the blouse! And that collar. What can I say? It's fabulous!
3/4/09 0:17 AM
SusiM said...
Really cute!! It looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
3/4/09 0:49 AM
FreyaStark said...
A clever and creative approach, and a smart and distinctive blouse. Well done.
3/4/09 2:40 AM
Huldra said...
Beautiful blouse! l love the peplum effect. I had not noticed this one in the magazine, but now I want to make it!
3/4/09 3:38 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute blouse! I love your use of contrast fabrics and the button detail. Fantastic!
3/4/09 6:27 AM
Fran G said...
After reading your wonderful review and all of the lovely comments, I'm not sure that I have anything original to say, but that is not going to stop me!! What a fabulous blouse..your idea of using the silk tie fabric on the collar and cuffs is genius. The fit is very flattering..like the peplum effect and the way you used the buttons. Love everything about it. A great inspiration for all!
3/4/09 8:14 AM
Erica B. said...
I love that blouse! I think the button placement is great!
3/4/09 2:18 PM
Byrdie said...
Great looking blouse- fits nicely.
3/4/09 2:33 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Wow, that is spiffy! You look sharp.
3/4/09 3:16 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I didn't even notice this shirt in the issue! Great, great take of this pattern, thank you so much for the review.
3/4/09 6:49 PM
Annette1 said...
I agree! Your idea of using the tie silk on the undercollar and cuffs make this oh-so-flattering blouse a real stand-out. I love it!
3/4/09 10:40 PM
cindy-lou said...
Dang... VERY cute!
3/4/09 11:34 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I love this blouse and am glad to see it works for a small busted person. Your blouse looks terrific!
5/31/09 1:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2007-3 3/4 sleeve tee
photo
Review by emailtk on 9/30/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1235 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by redsilvia on 7/8/11
Read Review

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3561 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3561 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us