SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-118 (tunic dress (shortened to top))

11 more reviews
Viewed 396 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/09 10:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Here we see the Lady in White with the Thames (I presume) in the background. Great job as usual. I can't help you with your hem, but once I used spray adhesive to good effect. These other folks will probably recommend a coverstitch machine. As far as the "Hey, here's my bra syndrome," as I recall you made a beautiful black/blue lace bra recently . . . so any of the HMBS will probably be met with "Nice top, smashing bra!" If I had a bra that lovely, I probably would be tempted to let it show!
3/3/09 10:41 AM
EleanorSews said...
Just might be that this style works just as well if not better as a top. Nice style with lots of possibilities for wear.
3/3/09 11:05 AM
squirrellypoo said...
hahah, RenRen you're hilarious! Yeah I hadn't thought about showing off my (under)wares like that! And yes, that is the Thames behind, and it looks like the tide was going out, judging by the scrap of mud in the corner... (and a coverstitch machine is on my birthday list, fingers crossed!!)
3/3/09 11:05 AM
pterion said...
Love this style. It looks wonderful on you. Great photo.
3/3/09 11:26 AM
michellep74 said...
I love this as a top--a very cute and comfortable-looking top!
3/3/09 1:00 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Squirrellypoo, It was brilliant to shorten this tunic to top length; all the design interest is really concentrated up at your face. Wool jersey is one of my favorite fabrics but yes, it can be a stinker as it does like to curl and wave. To tame my hems, I first secure the hem in place with double sided fusible tape (not sure what it would be called in UK) - and then stitch on top of the fusible double tape, lifting the presser foot frequently to minimize the "waves." You've inspired me to take a good long look at this pretty tunic/top. Lovely, Lily
3/3/09 1:41 PM
Geordie Girl said...
This came out great. I also think I like your shorter version better
3/3/09 2:38 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I love that top! I will have to go back and have another look at this pattern.
3/3/09 5:21 PM
Speech girl said...
Your top is lovely--well worth all the trouble your fabric gave you.
3/6/09 2:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Other Sew News Oct. 06

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
Simplicity 9453

photo
by: StarValkyr...

Review
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now