Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-120A (Tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 646 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:amy in mpls
photo
About amy in mplsstar
MN USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/09 3:51 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Cute tunic, love your fabric choice!
3/3/09 4:21 PM
pterion said...
Very cute tunic. This one caught my eye too, but I've never done a placket either and don't have the previous issue!
3/3/09 6:14 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very cute tunic. I especially love the contrast fabric in the cuff.
3/3/09 7:14 PM
darse said...
Cute top! The contrasting cuff is a really nice touch.
3/3/09 8:16 PM
sewcrazy53 said...
Cute cuffs. Congrats!! Was it difficult adding the seam allowances? I have NEVER worked with BWOF patterns. Someone let me know.
3/3/09 9:09 PM
Lori V said...
Cute tunic.
3/3/09 11:21 PM
figtree said...
very cute, thanks for the tip about the placket!
3/4/09 3:57 AM
donna mel said...
love the cuff with contrasting fabric...thanks for the picture!
3/4/09 7:52 AM
amy in mpls said...
Sewcrazy53, Thanks for your comment. It is not difficult at all to add allowances to BWOF. You do have to trace each pattern (from a master sheet with many overlapping patterns each indicated with a different color) to add allowance you could cut with a rotary cutter with an arm. I just measure five eights around and connect the dots. The one thing worth mentioning is that there are no pictures in BWOF instructions. I think that GLPnews.com gives you a free 1st issue when you subscribe. Give em a try, i have really grown fond of BWOF!
3/4/09 10:30 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you so much for mentioning the instruction of the placket, I will go back to the previous issue as you say when I try this pattern. CUTE cute top!
3/4/09 2:33 PM
Mahler said...
I love you tunic. The details at the cuffs are so nice. Great work !
3/4/09 10:03 PM
Sic said...
Very cute top...I have the same contrast fabric which I purchased from SR Harris - I really liked your use of it!
3/5/09 2:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2264
photo
Review by Crys0904 on 4/11/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5979
photo
Review by maedchen on 12/31/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us