SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1659 

2 more reviews
Viewed 939 times 
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/09 2:08 AM
Last Updated:3/4/09 2:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AngelaDawn said...
Very nice work! I'd love to make this pattern.
3/1/10 7:25 PM
Elle D said...
Beautiful! Ditto what everyone above has already said, and Christina Sonja is right: this has moved off my "maybe" list to "next Marfy splurge" list. Great collar, and thanks for pointing out how it is put together.
5/9/09 10:34 PM
Bonnie O said...
Fantastic dress! You look great in it.
5/3/09 10:49 AM
Spring said...
I've been wanting to try Marfy for a couple years now but the price and the lack of instructions have kept me away. This may be my first thanks to your review. Your dress looks great!
3/30/09 12:29 PM
RLL said...
How sassy. A real attention getter! You must be so proud and feel so good when wearing it.
3/6/09 10:42 PM
kasizzle said...
Beautiful!
3/6/09 5:11 PM
rosannec said...
Cindy this dress is wonderful! It's probably my favorite out of the Marfy shirt dress catalog. It looks very wearable and current!
3/5/09 9:19 PM
Secretsugar said...
What a knockout of a dress! Just perfect!
3/5/09 2:12 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Cindy, you rock this dress!! Fits you like a glove, and the denim and topstitching look so good. Interesting collar, I really though that was a notched collar, but now I see looking closely at the "model" photo that they overlap. Why that's not scary at all, especially now that I've seen your construction photos. I think you just sold a few more of these patterns for Marfy.
3/5/09 10:32 AM
Modiste Madness said...
What a cute dress. You did a great job on it.
3/5/09 10:24 AM
Erica B. said...
Cindy, that is gorgeous on you!
3/5/09 10:00 AM
lmg said...
CONGRATULATIONS on your first Marfy! What a great looking dress. And the fabric and top stitching is fabulous too.
3/4/09 11:22 PM
Annette1 said...
This is ADORABLE. You remind me of Penelope Cruz. :o) This is SUCH a cute pattern on you, just PERFECT. Your construction details are SUPERB. :o)
3/4/09 11:02 PM
Sew tell me said...
This dress is adorable and looks great on you. Good job.
3/4/09 6:54 PM
marjenann said...
That is the perfect dress for you! Beautiful!!
3/4/09 6:40 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! Your dress looks AMAZING!! Your topstitching looks EXCELLENT!!
3/4/09 5:37 PM
Fictionfan said...
Beautiful! Marfy is addictive for the exact reason you mentioned you like this: great fit and perfect drafting. If only they would have sale prices... Now you can upgrade yourself to advanced!
3/4/09 5:15 PM
Gold said...
Cute denim dress!:)
3/4/09 5:08 PM
jaeng said...
It's the dress that you want to wear it everday. I love your choice of fabric and topstitching. Really stand out.
3/4/09 4:47 PM
Kellie R. said...
I love this dress! It is a great style on you and very nicely made! Great job!
3/4/09 3:13 PM
Byrdie said...
Adorable dress! Love it!
3/4/09 2:25 PM
mylittleelephant said...
The way you describe Marfy pattern makes me want to try it, great dress!
3/4/09 2:21 PM
loohoo44 said...
Cindy this is so adorable!!! I LOVE it!! And what a great style for you, I hope I get to see it in person one of these days!
3/4/09 2:18 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Deb Fox, This dress would be excellent in a black linen with thick white topstitching. I started with a lightweight black denim at first but didn't have enough fabric. Thanks for the support everyone.
3/4/09 1:56 PM
michellep74 said...
Beautiful dress! You look like a fashion model in it!
3/4/09 1:46 PM
sewbehind said...
This dress looks pretty on dvmcindy! I keep thinking that you must be the best looking vet around. Oh, about the dress...fantastic. You look great! Thanks for the review.
3/4/09 1:28 PM
nellc said...
Really lovely dress, the neckline is so pretty.
3/4/09 1:28 PM
Twinset said...
Congrats on your first Marfy! This is a really pretty dress on a pretty girl, and the choice of fabric is excellent!
3/4/09 1:15 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is really a neat looking dress. Nice job.
3/4/09 12:42 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful dress Cindy!!!! Yay for conquering a Marfy, you're so ambitious!
3/4/09 12:22 PM
pterion said...
Stunning! Beautiful work on this dress. The shirtdress style has always been a favorite of mine and this looks fabulous on you.
3/4/09 12:01 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Cindy, very,very beautiful:-)
3/4/09 11:49 AM
Mahler said...
Wonderful ! I like your signature on the message... this is too funny. My DH does not understand why I keep loving so much an activity that sometimes stresses me ;-) or makes me cry to. Back to your dress, I am impressed, you did such great work with it. Thank you for all the pictures on Picasa, they are so use full. I never have put my feet in water as you said, and I intend to do it with a much easier pattern, a skirt... I feel like a kid beside the great work you did with this dress. As for the buckle, topstitches, etc., no one will look at you on the street with a magnifying glass ;-) It look perfect to me. Wonderful work really. Ok I should stop repeating my self. I am so intimated by Marfy. I am certain you will have fun wearing it.
3/4/09 11:25 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful result. It's a super dress and fits you perfect.
3/4/09 11:11 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Rebecca, actually in Picasa, if you click on the magnification button on the upper right, the photo gets large enough to see the ugly topstitching and buckle tab:)
3/4/09 11:01 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous dress!! You look fabulous.
3/4/09 10:58 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Cindy, I'm so impressed, not only with how wonderful the finished dress looks on you, but with your meticulous construction process (thank you for all those detail photos). You've done a particularly professional job on the collar/lapel, and it was fun to see the progression of your markings and bastings on your muslin. I think that you and Marfy are a perfect coupling, and you look absolutely gorgeous in your upscale jean shirtdress. Superb, Lily
3/4/09 10:50 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Just gorgeous. It looks wonderful on you. Congratulations on your first Marfy... one of many I am sure.
3/4/09 10:26 AM
Stitch4aLiving said...
Fabulous! I have this pattern and I really want to make it up in seersucker
3/4/09 10:13 AM
Opals Passions said...
This is a great dress and especially since its denim... I such a fan of denim... I could where it all the time.... You did a lovely job.
3/4/09 9:56 AM
marec said...
oohhh!! (speechless with shirtwaist envy!)
3/4/09 9:24 AM
Amanda S. said...
Well, you're absolutely right, I LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!! This is one of their patterns that has called my name on several occasions. You did a beautiful job. I had thought the neckline might be too low but it looks perfect on you. So, since you aren't planning to make another one, what are you going to do with the pattern? :)
3/4/09 8:52 AM
Deb Fox said...
I am in awe of your finished garment! It reminds me of a dress I saw in the window of a Chanel boutique in West Palm Beach a few years ago. Just gorgeous. I have this pattern, and you have inspired me to get to work on it. The dress I saw in Chanel was in almost tissue weight black linen, and I think this pattern is the closest I've ever seen! Congratulations on a tremendous job.
3/4/09 8:38 AM
SoMsGal said...
Very informative review. Love the dress and the fit is great. Looks like a nice spring/summer dress.
3/4/09 8:30 AM
Christas said...
Very nice dress! I have always been curious about Marfy patterns. Great review!
3/4/09 8:28 AM
doctorsirena said...
Wow - beautiful dress with perfect fit! I love the style.
3/4/09 8:22 AM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizing dress on you, Cindy! Wonderful work on this!
3/4/09 8:20 AM
Michelle L said...
Your dress turned out wonderfully! So chic! And thank you for such a thorough review.
3/4/09 8:16 AM
Re Becca said...
Stunning! Everything, the fit, the construction. I would love to see close up of the buckle and the topstitching.
3/4/09 7:41 AM
morzel said...
What a great dress! It looks absolutley beautiful on you.
3/4/09 7:32 AM
Lori V said...
Great dress and it looks fantastic on you.
3/4/09 7:09 AM
KateS said...
Lovely - beautiful finish and that style really suits you !!
3/4/09 5:33 AM
babsi1111 said...
Wonderful dress! Your first Marfy pattern is a real winner. It is on my to-sew-list, too and I really like to see it made up.
3/4/09 3:59 AM
petro said...
Really great dress! Thanks for the photos of the pattern pieces, I love to see these. The neckline and high waist make this shirtdress special.
3/4/09 2:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: Noile

Review
Nancy Ota Designs TI205

photo
by: SouthernSt...

Review
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now