SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-119 (Puff Sleeve dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 713 times 
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/09 3:54 PM
Last Updated:3/6/09 5:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said...
Cindy, you look cute as ANYTHING in this dress! Definitely worth your effort! But based on your review, I'll skip this baby and move on. Great review-- thank you!
3/6/09 4:07 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE!! CUTE!! I LOVE your new dress!! You look STUNNING in it!!
3/6/09 4:23 PM
pterion said...
Your dress is unbelievably cute and your review made me laugh. I'm in the middle of making the puff sleeve top. I puzzled over that 2nd step forever before I finally realized they just meant you should understitch the seam. Yeesh! Thanks for the helpful translations! Not that you need it now, but check out the reviews for #118 (the top). Angie a. and cabinbaby have some really helpful tutorials for that tricky armpit seam.
3/6/09 4:43 PM
kasizzle said...
You made it work, however tough it was. It looks great on you!
3/6/09 4:49 PM
Christas said...
This looks great on you!
3/6/09 4:58 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Well, it looks like nobody could figure it right out.. But yours looks totally gorgeous. Simple, elegant, but different. Very cool.
3/6/09 5:04 PM
Byrdie said...
Despite your issues with the contruction, you ended up with a darling dress!
3/6/09 5:04 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Well, the sleeves sound like a PITA but the end result is worth it. Looks like a great dress for many situations.
3/6/09 5:05 PM
Re Becca said...
That does look so darling! It was so worth the effort.
3/6/09 5:25 PM
CynthiaSue said...
yes, i really wanted to comment on CabinBaby's tutorial. I think we did similar things with the same end result. I know that she attached the inner sleeve, both the top and bottom of it to the puff sleeve before attaching the lower fronts and backs which is different than the order of BWOF. So go with what works for you guys or do it your own way as i'm sure there is another!
3/6/09 5:47 PM
marec said...
OK, I'm going to pass on this pattern but really, really like the dress on you. It is gorgeous and you look terrific in it.
3/6/09 5:49 PM
Markie1 said...
Cindy- you look adorable in that dress! I love your review, you are so funny and it was so helpful. Thank you!
3/6/09 5:51 PM
Gold said...
You look very cute in your dress!Great job!!
3/6/09 5:56 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is really cute! Looks like it was worth the effort.
3/6/09 6:41 PM
Vintage Joan said...
SO cute! Thanks for the translations. Burda's "English" wording really, really sucks. Your clarifications are extremely helpful.
3/6/09 7:00 PM
Elke said...
This dress looks very cute on you...definitely worth the effort!
3/6/09 7:07 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your dress looks soo pretty! I especially love the sleeves! It was definitely worth the effort! Great job!
3/6/09 7:52 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is absolutely charming, I'm sorry you don't like it. I hope you'll wear it as it looks fabulous on you. Amazing how some instructions are crystal clear and others like mud.
3/6/09 8:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
Cindy, this is really a fab looking dress with "global and overseas" appeal! I know a fellow PR mentioned you look like Nikki Taylor. You could also be a dead ringer for Cindy Crawford. Thanks for a very informative review!
3/6/09 8:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I like your dress! Glad to see you made it work even with poor instructions.
3/6/09 8:42 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That dress looks so cute on you. I got lost on the construction details but will pull them up again if I decide to make this one!
3/6/09 9:04 PM
Mahler said...
I am sorry you had trouble constructing it. I think we should all write a long letter to BWOF and explain to them that good translator are available on the planet. Their instructions are as bad in French. I wonder if they are good at least in German ? Anyway, you look great, on the other end, was does not look good on you ?
3/6/09 11:33 PM
cabinbaby said...
It looks fantastic on you even though you had trouble with the sleeves. I want to make another shirt with a stretch velour but haven't gotten up the nerve yet. :)
3/6/09 11:46 PM
morzel said...
Looks wonderful on you!!!
3/7/09 1:48 AM
SoMsGal said...
Very cute dress and the fit is fabulous.
3/7/09 6:26 AM
JEF said...
I have to add to the chorus - you look great in that dress!
3/7/09 7:30 AM
marjenann said...
Smart and sassy!! What a dress!!
3/7/09 9:30 AM
crisford said...
Looks so darn cute on you; lucky you have the figure to make those puffed sleeves look feminine.
3/7/09 11:09 AM
Diane E said...
Cindy, I really enjoyed reading your review. Thanks for all the helpful tips and thanks so much for the humor! I think your dress looks great and you look wonderful in it.
3/7/09 11:59 AM
LindsayT said...
I really love this dress on you.
3/7/09 12:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is gorgeous Cindy! It's really flattering on you. Looks great AND is comfortable - what winner all around!
3/7/09 5:01 PM
SueV said...
thanks for the tips on this.... I plan on tackling this this weekend
4/10/09 7:15 PM
chango said...
I was warming up to this pattern, but I guess I'll skip it! I was wondering if the english instructions were written better, but I guess not, the french one are really bad... Well it does look good on you, because of that I'm still tempted to try it, hoping it looks as good as yours...thanks for the review!
4/21/09 8:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop eDress

photo
by: jannw

Review
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now