Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2931 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 462 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Secretsugar
photo
Friend of PR
About Secretsugarstar
NC
Member since: 1/16/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/09 9:39 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
What pretty fabric. This top will get lots of wear this summer.
3/4/09 10:16 PM
sewbehind said...
Your ready for summer. Cute style in a fun fabric.
3/4/09 10:22 PM
poplin said...
I have the same fabric! I [heart] Naomi Ito's Nani Iro collection... I bought several in different styles. I admit: for a lightweight fabric, it does not act very drapey. I have a feeling that the double gauze is intended for cooler weather. Naomi Ito even has a heavy double gauze which would be very suitable for winter. Pls keep us updated on how the back bodice behaves over time of wear and wash--I'm curious myself.
3/4/09 10:34 PM
KateS said...
Lovely- what a great top!
3/5/09 3:16 AM
j222b said...
I'm not sure what the comment about purchased bias tape finishing means. I love the look especially on the inside. One of the PR members Amanda S finishes many of her seams with bias tape and the insides of her garments look almost better than the outsides. She has a tutorial, too. NAYY. See it here:http://amandasadventuresinsewing.blogspot.com/search/label/tutorials
3/5/09 11:03 AM
amy in mpls said...
Again....so cute!
3/5/09 12:20 PM
persevering said...
Yes, cute!!
3/5/09 1:41 PM
Secretsugar said...
j222b, I wasn't intending to sound snarky about the bias tape thing. I think it's a remnant of my (limited) experience with quilt sewing where it's much nicer to make your own bias strips to bind quilts rather than purchasing pre-folded quilt-binding bias. I also think I need to seek out sources for 100% cotton bias tape in cases where I'm too lazy to make my own. It might be silly, but it bugs me to put cheap polyester tape on a nice cotton or linen or what-have-you garment. It's certainly true that in principle it makes for a nice finish though--especially if you're as careful as Amanda S is! No offense intended, and I should've been more clear about my own goofy sewing issues.
3/5/09 2:02 PM
nglalala said...
ooo... love the fabric! great top!
3/5/09 3:45 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I am working on this top right now, but I totally love yours!! That fabric is outstanding!
3/5/09 5:09 PM
j222b said...
Secretsugar I didn't think you sounded snarky (but maybe I did)-lol-I just wanted to point out that nice things can be done with rotten old bias tape!
3/5/09 10:11 PM
busymomof3 said...
Very cute!! I'm sold on it now that I see it on you!
4/14/09 7:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7696
photo
Review by Renee B on 7/11/09
Read Review

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6123
photo
Review by wendlesue on 4/30/13
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2491 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 2491 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6641 Pattern
New Look 6641 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us