SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5246 (A-line Pullover Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 614 times 
Reviewed by:Melody
photo

 
 
About Melodystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/09 10:07 PM
Last Updated:3/4/09 10:10 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
This dress looks really nice on you -- and comfortable.
3/4/09 10:08 PM
merry-one said...
Your final version is extremely flattering and good looking. I also have a large bust and would not have thought that this would work. It does wonderfully. I'm going to have to rethink empire seams. Very nice!
3/4/09 10:25 PM
VelmaRooster said...
This dress looks just wonderful on you! Love the style AND the fabric! Very interesting review.
3/4/09 10:38 PM
JEF said...
Really great to see your 1st and 2nd version - thank you for that. You really improved it. Your 2nd version is super!
3/4/09 10:45 PM
Annette Wright said...
This is one HOT dress....and you ROCK it. I so prefer the dark neckband to the original. Great job.
3/4/09 10:58 PM
michellep74 said...
I really love your pairing of this fabric with this pattern. I think I'm going to have to knock this off with my own cut of this fabric (I'm thinking HP Cosmo dress, since I already own that pattern). I thought it was cute in the "before" pic, but with your changes, it's a "wow!"
3/4/09 11:17 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Very nice dress Melody! ...I left a comment on your blog
3/5/09 5:12 AM
donna mel said...
great review! love the dress. love the fabric. love the neckline tutorial.
3/5/09 6:15 AM
mars418 said...
I've looked at this fabric before and loved it--it looks great in your dress. I also like the FOE tip--where did you find your FOE?? My only 2 local fabric stores are Hancocks and Joanns--I've never seen it in there but will definitely look. Thanks for the great review.
3/5/09 7:20 AM
cmarie12 said...
This looks soooo good on you. I looked at that pattern and thought it would make me look like I was wearing a maternity dress. May have to rethink that one!
3/5/09 8:38 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Wow, great job on the alterations for the final version...you look GREAT!!!
3/5/09 9:50 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I have that pattern. Now I have an urge to make it right away after seeing your wonderful dress.
3/5/09 10:17 AM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! Even if you don't really like the wide neckline, your changes made a huge difference because you are really rocking this dress! Looks great!
3/5/09 10:23 AM
Melody said...
Thanks everyone for the kind words. I wanted to add one thing that I forgot. I got the fold over elastic from Sewzannes Fabrics. They have soooo many colors and it's really reasonably priced, NAYY, I'm just saying. Oh yeah and how rad is this, I just got my second star, I'm totally over the moon!!!!!
3/5/09 3:58 PM
MapleCandy3 said...
Melody you look really great in this dress!!
3/5/09 4:48 PM
Ody said...
That dress is wonderful, and I know it gave you fits, particularly the neckline, but you have provided great inspiration to those of us who are "Plus" that we too can sew an attractive dress for our selves. I have this yummy fabric I got from you that I have not cut into for fear of ruining it! That maybe the dress! Great review.
3/5/09 11:52 PM
kasizzle said...
This looks beyond great on you!
3/6/09 5:07 PM
sewbehind said...
Congratulations on a beautiful dress and your second star! Helen
3/6/09 11:20 PM
moushka said...
Love this dress on you. What a great pattern! Thanks for the review - I totally missed this one, now I have to get it :) Sue
3/8/09 9:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5390

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 2031

photo
by: petro

Review