Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5246 (A-line Pullover Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 614 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Melody
photo
About Melodystarstar
MI USA
Member since: 2/7/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/09 10:07 PM
Last Updated:3/4/09 10:10 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
This dress looks really nice on you -- and comfortable.
3/4/09 10:08 PM
merry-one said...
Your final version is extremely flattering and good looking. I also have a large bust and would not have thought that this would work. It does wonderfully. I'm going to have to rethink empire seams. Very nice!
3/4/09 10:25 PM
VelmaRooster said...
This dress looks just wonderful on you! Love the style AND the fabric! Very interesting review.
3/4/09 10:38 PM
JEF said...
Really great to see your 1st and 2nd version - thank you for that. You really improved it. Your 2nd version is super!
3/4/09 10:45 PM
Annette Wright said...
This is one HOT dress....and you ROCK it. I so prefer the dark neckband to the original. Great job.
3/4/09 10:58 PM
michellep74 said...
I really love your pairing of this fabric with this pattern. I think I'm going to have to knock this off with my own cut of this fabric (I'm thinking HP Cosmo dress, since I already own that pattern). I thought it was cute in the "before" pic, but with your changes, it's a "wow!"
3/4/09 11:17 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Very nice dress Melody! ...I left a comment on your blog
3/5/09 5:12 AM
donna mel said...
great review! love the dress. love the fabric. love the neckline tutorial.
3/5/09 6:15 AM
mars418 said...
I've looked at this fabric before and loved it--it looks great in your dress. I also like the FOE tip--where did you find your FOE?? My only 2 local fabric stores are Hancocks and Joanns--I've never seen it in there but will definitely look. Thanks for the great review.
3/5/09 7:20 AM
cmarie12 said...
This looks soooo good on you. I looked at that pattern and thought it would make me look like I was wearing a maternity dress. May have to rethink that one!
3/5/09 8:38 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Wow, great job on the alterations for the final version...you look GREAT!!!
3/5/09 9:50 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I have that pattern. Now I have an urge to make it right away after seeing your wonderful dress.
3/5/09 10:17 AM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! Even if you don't really like the wide neckline, your changes made a huge difference because you are really rocking this dress! Looks great!
3/5/09 10:23 AM
Melody said...
Thanks everyone for the kind words. I wanted to add one thing that I forgot. I got the fold over elastic from Sewzannes Fabrics. They have soooo many colors and it's really reasonably priced, NAYY, I'm just saying. Oh yeah and how rad is this, I just got my second star, I'm totally over the moon!!!!!
3/5/09 3:58 PM
MapleCandy3 said...
Melody you look really great in this dress!!
3/5/09 4:48 PM
Ody said...
That dress is wonderful, and I know it gave you fits, particularly the neckline, but you have provided great inspiration to those of us who are "Plus" that we too can sew an attractive dress for our selves. I have this yummy fabric I got from you that I have not cut into for fear of ruining it! That maybe the dress! Great review.
3/5/09 11:52 PM
kasizzle said...
This looks beyond great on you!
3/6/09 5:07 PM
sewbehind said...
Congratulations on a beautiful dress and your second star! Helen
3/6/09 11:20 PM
moushka said...
Love this dress on you. What a great pattern! Thanks for the review - I totally missed this one, now I have to get it :) Sue
3/8/09 9:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Green Pepper 401
photo
Review by cleverkitt... on 6/7/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8020 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 8020 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Indygo Junction IJ733
photo
Review by SewLil on 7/31/08
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Juliana Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Juliana Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us