SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jean Hardy> 630 (Misses' Riding Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 401 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/09 1:15 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diana M said...
BRAVO! for sticking this through -- your DD has a beautiful coat. After all this work, if it does end up on the floor of the barn, well, I'd think there'd be some more clapper-beating called for . . . LOL
3/5/09 2:55 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Awesome! Hat's off to your perseverance in the hunt to the end. & lucky daughter!
3/5/09 6:18 AM
mssewcrazy said...
After the years of putting together Suitability I hope now adult (horse loving) daughter never wants to fox hunt or wants me to revisit sewing competition jackets/clothes. Lol! Your daughter's jacket looks really great- nice work.
3/5/09 7:02 AM
mars418 said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket and great job completing what sounds like an impossible job! Love the canary vest also.
3/5/09 7:05 AM
marjenann said...
Totally awesome and amazing!! This is a once in a lifetime coat. I am sure your DD will cherish this forever. A true masterpiece. You have raised the bar!!
3/5/09 7:44 AM
HeyJane said...
Wow your work paid off...that's a beautiful coat. PLEASE do not let it hit the floor of the barn or any other floor !!
3/5/09 8:41 AM
nancy2001 said...
What a great jacket and what an adventure. Tally ho!
3/5/09 9:54 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is gorgeous! When I lived in England, I paid 250 pounds for my wool riding jacket (12 years ago) - You did a great job - it's just beautiful!
3/5/09 9:57 AM
amy in mpls said...
What a well done jacket! Shoot, i would wear it out with jeans its so cute! Best of luck to your DD!
3/5/09 12:14 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Well, wow. Yes, a pattern from the 70's would definitely be drafted for a "misses" which is a 16 yo stick figure perfectly erect body with no fat. Thats how they all were. Tailoring.....sigh. I had nothing but empathy for you. Even when you are good at it, there are just so many obstacles. I really like that the pattern is true to the current RTW one or vice versa! It is a gorgeous style. And with you being true to realy wool, and your tailoring, it won't matter that it's on the barn floor, it will last forever!!! That RTW jacket is probably 50%polyester and doesn't have hardly any internal construction at all! Congratulations. This is a fine piece of work you should be very proud of.
3/5/09 1:48 PM
AdaF said...
Good job!
3/5/09 2:52 PM
Christas said...
Simply beautiful jacket! Excellent review!
3/6/09 5:03 PM
PrairieTides said...
Nice job! I've tried the Jean Hardy 1017 Misses tops, the princess seamed top. I don't remember any problems with the instructions, but the muslin I made ended up too short in the body, too low in the front, and just looks bad on me! It looks beautiful on the hanger though! LOL!
7/7/09 1:33 PM
Saille said...
I found this really helpful as far as wondering about how hard the instructions where. I was thinking of buying #680, because i had already made a show coat from suitability and hated the instructions, but at least all the marking where there and the pieces fit together. When i made that show coat, I too went thru my vintage tayloring and sewing books as well as my newer ones! I did ask Jean Hardy if she knew if the instructions are difficult for her patterns and she some people have told her they where. so I guess I will use the suitability pattern again, cuz at least the patterns have all marking on they for lenthening/shortening etc.
1/28/10 11:10 PM
fourkid said...
I just bought this pattern on e-bay. After a few years since your review, there still isn't anything else out there for equestrian jackets. DD just asked me to do this for her. I have never done a tailored jacket - but I will do what I can. Thanks for the heads up on the difficult areas and the tips. I am hoping to persevere to the end and hope my jacket will look as good as yours - they are so expensive to buy new (or even gently used), aren't they?
2/18/11 11:37 PM
Arctic Mama said...
Wow. Just wow. Looks awesome, and after hearing the arduous battle to complete it, my hat is off to you!
9/9/13 7:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2010-107

photo
by: Sunkissedj...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now