Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8339 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 519 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 40 people   
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/09 1:24 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Flying Seamstress said...
What a striking jacket! Great workmanship and review!
3/6/09 5:34 AM
Camerio said...
Stunning jacket and certainly I will put this class on my list of must do.
3/6/09 5:55 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
WOW Your jacket just looks impeccable Like you have been tailoring since age 9... You have convinced me to do a PR class. Loved your Hi Girlfriends comment. Must be great to have support and comrades-in-pins as you work on a project. Fabulous results BRAVO to you!
3/6/09 7:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
I took this class too and just adored it. Shannon's welt pocket technique is the best ever! Looking forward to seeing more jackets from you.
3/6/09 7:24 AM
MissCelie said...
When the photo came up I thought, "What? She's tailoring jackets now?!" It's pretty awesome. Harder or easier the stripes are terrific!
3/6/09 7:36 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow. It looks like you aced this class.
3/6/09 7:36 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket, you did an amazing job. I am going to take this class, thanks for all the information. I took Shannon's shirtmaking class a few years ago and she is a great teacher.
3/6/09 7:37 AM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous! Love the pockets! You are so good.
3/6/09 7:46 AM
Kay Y said...
Thanks for the great review - it is wonderful that the online classes are so successful! Your jacket really looks great but I do have a suggestion, prompted by your "meh" comment re the back. You cannot match vertical stripes perfectly on a curved CB seam, as you found out. Your choices are to match at the bottom, which you did brilliantly, or at the top of the seam. If you try the top, you can match the stripes at the collar.
3/6/09 9:18 AM
cindyann said...
Great jacket and great review. The welt pockets were the perfect choice. I'm reallylooking forward to your updated picture.
3/6/09 9:45 AM
Byrdie said...
That is a great looking jacket. Almost nautical looking which is always in style it seems.
3/6/09 10:29 AM
Sew Shy said...
Fabulous jacket. Thanks for the great review.
3/6/09 11:09 AM
Elona said...
Spectacular jacket (love the side mitering) with a very sharp look, and the beige, self-drafted lining is too cool!
3/6/09 11:44 AM
Nancy K said...
Wonderful jacket. It sounds like a great on line class.
3/6/09 11:57 AM
sewtime said...
Every one has said it already,WOW, fantastic jacket!!
3/6/09 11:59 AM
amy in mpls said...
Wow, great looking jacket and super review, Shannon positively should give you a gold star! (Or 2)
3/6/09 12:16 PM
Christina Sonja said...
You have just convinced me that I need to take Shannon's class. This is one sharp blazer! The welt pockets were a great choice. I can't wait to see the rest of the outfit.
3/6/09 12:53 PM
michellep74 said...
I love your jacket! You matched the stripes beautifully, and the bias effect looks fabulous!
3/6/09 12:57 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. I always liked your jackets before, but this blows them all out of the water. I love the stripes. I love the way you worked with the stripes. I LOVE that you took advantage of having someone to walk you through your first welt pockets - looks like you've been doing them forever. Don't wait on the picture - we want to see you in it now!
3/6/09 1:16 PM
EleanorSews said...
Stunning... Love the side pieces ~ adds nice interest. This is a superb winner on all fronts.
3/6/09 1:21 PM
FurGal said...
Beautiful jacket, you did a wonderful job!
3/6/09 1:26 PM
Mahler said...
What a fantastic review. I could feel your enthusiasm for your jacket, the online class, everything. The final result is well worth your happiness. Good work ! You are very inspiring.
3/6/09 1:33 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful jacket and very thorough review - thanks!
3/6/09 3:18 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Have you ever heard a song that was so inspiring that you developed "chill bumps" while you listened? The photo of your gorgeous jacket affected me this way! The welt pockets are a perfect choice and are perfectly done. I love the fabric choice and the stunning layout of the stripes. Excellent review!
3/6/09 3:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very impressively and mesmerizingly gorgeous jacket, Markie! Superb use of stripes and you did such a fine job on matching! I am looking forward to see you in your new jacket!
3/6/09 3:56 PM
Birgitte said...
Wow- just PERFECT! You did an outstanding job on this jacket, Markie! The slanted stripes and welt pockets are to die for, you should be extremely happy- and PROUD!
3/6/09 4:24 PM
Christas said...
Fantastic jacket!
3/6/09 5:00 PM
AnitaJ said...
Very sharp looking jacket! Love your bias side panels and welt pockets! Glad to hear about your wonderful experience in Shannon's on-line class too. :)
3/6/09 5:21 PM
Elke said...
Great looking jacket...you did a fabulous job!
3/6/09 7:04 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE jacket!! Your stripes line up PERFECTLY!!! This jacket looks AWESOME!!
3/6/09 8:28 PM
cindy-lou said...
Markie, I am in LOVE with your jacket! You are my "Just Do It" welt pocket HERO. You're also my sleeve vent hero and my twill tape hero. I'm tellin' ya... you're GOOD, girl! And... LOVE your PR class binder-- GREAT idea!
3/6/09 9:57 PM
ALFALFA said...
i love that jacket--fantastic colours and design. lynne
3/6/09 10:43 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I saw those welt pockets from a mile away girl and they are perfection! I would kill for you fashion eye. everytime you make something, i'm like, "why didn't i think of that??" Fantastic review. Fantastic jacket!
3/6/09 11:12 PM
sewbehind said...
That is beautiful, Markie. Well done.
3/6/09 11:28 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Give the teacher an apple, because you were obviously a star student! What a great jacket! And so nice to have all the information at your fingertips.
3/6/09 11:36 PM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket and review! I love your enthusiasm.
3/7/09 0:31 AM
Woolygal said...
Your jacket is perfect.
3/7/09 6:36 AM
Sharon1952 said...
How absolutely adorable! It (for some unknown reason) makes me think of 1960s Carnaby St. fashions!
3/7/09 8:07 AM
carolynw said...
A real beauty - your terrfic work makes this look so high end couture - good going
3/7/09 9:38 AM
Karine said...
You are the queen of stripes! Great job! Your jacket is so professionally done - can't wait to see the picture with skirt on you!
3/7/09 3:40 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very sharp looking jacket. Beautiful workmanship and great style.
3/7/09 5:05 PM
Elle D said...
Markie, I for one really appreciated all of the questions that you asked in class, especially the week that I was on vacation and could only participate vicariously. Kudos again on your most excellent jacket and, in particular, those welt pockets. I'm glad they won the audition process and I commend you for putting so much thought into the design. This is definitely your jacket. (Great sleeve vents, too.)
3/7/09 9:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Self Drafted Pattern 29655-1000
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 8/5/07
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Camille's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-30 Groovy skirt
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/3/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6510 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6510 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7095 Pattern
Burda 7095 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us