Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2903 (JR. Trend) thumbsup - Type:Junior    printable version
Viewed 642 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Meggie LuLu
photo
About Meggie LuLustarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
patterns reviewed: 151
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/09 8:03 PM
Last Updated:3/10/10 6:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Junior    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Markie1 said...
Meggie LuLu- I really WANT TO SEE THAT NIGHTGOWN!!!! You are so funny--sometimes things just turn out hideous, don't they? But not this top, you look adorable as ever. You are the most prolific sewer I have ever seen. Keep it up!
3/6/09 8:12 PM
CynthiaSue said...
That is an excellent style for you. I adore the wide waistband! I have the pattern and you've inspired me to take it out again!
3/6/09 8:34 PM
Amanda S. said...
How cute! I'm planning to make this for summer, so am glad to know about the sizing issues. I'm right there with you with being super white. :)
3/6/09 8:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such an adorably chic top, Meggie LuLu! I (and certainly the entire PR community) nominate you to be on the cover of SEVENTEEN! Your natural inner and outer beauty is so refreshing!
3/6/09 9:30 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'd say the NIGHTMARE turned into a DREAM, because this top looks GREAT. Now WHIP UP ANOTHER NIGHTMARE, because WE ALL WANT TO SEE! (Actually, you could probably make a smaller size of the view with sleeves sometime, and I bet it'd be perfect too.) :o)
3/6/09 10:24 PM
Nana39 said...
cute top, it dosen't look like a nightgown now lol; you're not that white
3/6/09 10:25 PM
Pamaro said...
Your nightmare turned into a cute top. I applaud you for repurposing the original "nightgown" into something that really works for you. I would have given up after the nightgown experience.
3/6/09 10:59 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
First of all....you look fabulous...as always! Second....your sewing skills astound me! Third....that fabric looks familiar ;)
3/7/09 5:57 AM
jbsew said...
Cute top. Here's an idea for your pattern. I had a student take view C for the top added View A's lower band and then belted the tunic with a wide black belt. Her fabric was a matte jersey with a bold flowing circular colored stripes and she accented the neckband with black trim. That made it look really cute and no longer like a nightgown. We also modified the back neckline band and ran 1/4" elastic through it to pull it in tighter in the back and move the shoulder straps closer to keep them from slipping off.
3/7/09 7:58 AM
jbsew said...
Cute top. Here's an idea for your pattern. I had a student take view C for the top added View A's lower band and then belted the tunic with a wide black belt. Her fabric was a matte jersey with a bold flowing circular colored stripes and she accented the neckband with black trim. That made it look really cute and no longer like a nightgown.
3/7/09 7:59 AM
Sharon1952 said...
I love to read your reviews! I want to know when you have time to go to school with all the sewing you do!
3/7/09 8:11 AM
Catbird said...
Wow . . . good save to take your "old cheap NIGHTGOWN" and turn it into this adorable top! You're so funny. I was thinking that you might be able to use the lower band of either View A (as jbsew said) or View D with the cute top portion of View C and you'd have something with those great sleeves that you like. And I second Heatherrique's idea about getting you on the cover of Seventeen! Except I wouldn't want to see you lose your sweet nature in the world of modeling!
3/7/09 8:30 AM
Peggy L said...
Great save! This top looks really cute on you.
3/7/09 8:51 AM
Judy Kski said...
Thanks for another great review. I love to check out the tips you add to your write-ups. They're always so helpful. You look wonderful in your top.
3/7/09 9:06 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Tha top looks adorable and I loved your review. I guess we can all relate to that feeling when something we envisioned doesn't pan out the way we planned. I have to hand it to you for rescuing that"NIGHTGOWN NIGHTMARE" and turning it into a great little top. I probably just would have given up and worn it to bed. (Be careful in the sun, please use a lot of sunscreen!!!)
3/7/09 9:06 AM
Mahler said...
This is so nice on you ! Woaw! that was a nice Rescue 911 operation. As for the tan, just think that you are Japanese. They don't tan. They like white skin women... I speak of experience ;-) Take care of your skin... Anyway, your top is great, I am certain that the other view in the right size would look great on you.
3/7/09 2:08 PM
Karendee said...
MeggieLULU, You just never stop making these adorable tops. I think you'll really enjoy this one when it's warmer outside and everyone is in summer clothes. Anyway, it's adorable and looks so good on you, as always! Did you get a haircut? I know it's pulled back, but your hair looks a little shorter.Cute hairstyle.
3/7/09 2:45 PM
Barbara V said...
What great tops on you! Oh what a sewing adventure you had with the sizing and alterations. The outcome is fantastic and I must say your skin tone is gorgeous and healthy looking just as it is especially with the colors you wear!
3/10/10 6:41 PM
kim*brown said...
You are really growing up fast. Very cute!
3/10/10 7:46 PM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely! It turned out fabulous in the end!
3/10/10 7:56 PM
Rhoda K said...
I can only "ditto" all that's been said - glad to see a "youngster" in our sewing world. ;-) Always look forward to your reviews.
3/10/10 8:00 PM
Renren said...
So glad you could drop by for awhile and grace us with your presence . . . and with another lovely top!
3/10/10 10:08 PM
Lori V said...
Great tops.
3/10/10 10:59 PM
carolynw said...
Looks wonderful onyou - I like all three versions - great save on "the nightgown"
3/11/10 7:53 AM
Annette1 said...
This is just as cute as it can be, and I LOVE the way the back straps are. :o) BRAV-ISIMO!
3/11/10 3:08 PM
Karendee said...
Another darling rendition of this favorite pattern--thanks. As usual, you did such a good job and the top looks so cute on you!
3/11/10 3:14 PM
CynthiaSue said...
all lovely and chic!
3/12/10 0:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 5472
photo
Review by jannw on 4/21/10
Read Review

McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 2337 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1218 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 1218 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9499
photo
Review by AnneM on 6/21/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T-Shirt and Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T-Shirt and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us