SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2903 (JR. Trend)

5 more reviews
Viewed 642 times 
Reviewed by:Meggie LuLu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Meggie LuLustarstarstarstar
OK United States
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
patterns reviewed: 152
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/09 8:03 PM
Last Updated:3/10/10 6:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Junior    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Markie1 said...
Meggie LuLu- I really WANT TO SEE THAT NIGHTGOWN!!!! You are so funny--sometimes things just turn out hideous, don't they? But not this top, you look adorable as ever. You are the most prolific sewer I have ever seen. Keep it up!
3/6/09 8:12 PM
CynthiaSue said...
That is an excellent style for you. I adore the wide waistband! I have the pattern and you've inspired me to take it out again!
3/6/09 8:34 PM
Amanda S. said...
How cute! I'm planning to make this for summer, so am glad to know about the sizing issues. I'm right there with you with being super white. :)
3/6/09 8:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such an adorably chic top, Meggie LuLu! I (and certainly the entire PR community) nominate you to be on the cover of SEVENTEEN! Your natural inner and outer beauty is so refreshing!
3/6/09 9:30 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'd say the NIGHTMARE turned into a DREAM, because this top looks GREAT. Now WHIP UP ANOTHER NIGHTMARE, because WE ALL WANT TO SEE! (Actually, you could probably make a smaller size of the view with sleeves sometime, and I bet it'd be perfect too.) :o)
3/6/09 10:24 PM
Nana39 said...
cute top, it dosen't look like a nightgown now lol; you're not that white
3/6/09 10:25 PM
Pamaro said...
Your nightmare turned into a cute top. I applaud you for repurposing the original "nightgown" into something that really works for you. I would have given up after the nightgown experience.
3/6/09 10:59 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
First of all....you look fabulous...as always! Second....your sewing skills astound me! Third....that fabric looks familiar ;)
3/7/09 5:57 AM
jbsew said...
Cute top. Here's an idea for your pattern. I had a student take view C for the top added View A's lower band and then belted the tunic with a wide black belt. Her fabric was a matte jersey with a bold flowing circular colored stripes and she accented the neckband with black trim. That made it look really cute and no longer like a nightgown. We also modified the back neckline band and ran 1/4" elastic through it to pull it in tighter in the back and move the shoulder straps closer to keep them from slipping off.
3/7/09 7:58 AM
jbsew said...
Cute top. Here's an idea for your pattern. I had a student take view C for the top added View A's lower band and then belted the tunic with a wide black belt. Her fabric was a matte jersey with a bold flowing circular colored stripes and she accented the neckband with black trim. That made it look really cute and no longer like a nightgown.
3/7/09 7:59 AM
Sharon1952 said...
I love to read your reviews! I want to know when you have time to go to school with all the sewing you do!
3/7/09 8:11 AM
Catbird said...
Wow . . . good save to take your "old cheap NIGHTGOWN" and turn it into this adorable top! You're so funny. I was thinking that you might be able to use the lower band of either View A (as jbsew said) or View D with the cute top portion of View C and you'd have something with those great sleeves that you like. And I second Heatherrique's idea about getting you on the cover of Seventeen! Except I wouldn't want to see you lose your sweet nature in the world of modeling!
3/7/09 8:30 AM
Peggy L said...
Great save! This top looks really cute on you.
3/7/09 8:51 AM
Judy Kski said...
Thanks for another great review. I love to check out the tips you add to your write-ups. They're always so helpful. You look wonderful in your top.
3/7/09 9:06 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Tha top looks adorable and I loved your review. I guess we can all relate to that feeling when something we envisioned doesn't pan out the way we planned. I have to hand it to you for rescuing that"NIGHTGOWN NIGHTMARE" and turning it into a great little top. I probably just would have given up and worn it to bed. (Be careful in the sun, please use a lot of sunscreen!!!)
3/7/09 9:06 AM
Mahler said...
This is so nice on you ! Woaw! that was a nice Rescue 911 operation. As for the tan, just think that you are Japanese. They don't tan. They like white skin women... I speak of experience ;-) Take care of your skin... Anyway, your top is great, I am certain that the other view in the right size would look great on you.
3/7/09 2:08 PM
Karendee said...
MeggieLULU, You just never stop making these adorable tops. I think you'll really enjoy this one when it's warmer outside and everyone is in summer clothes. Anyway, it's adorable and looks so good on you, as always! Did you get a haircut? I know it's pulled back, but your hair looks a little shorter.Cute hairstyle.
3/7/09 2:45 PM
Barbara V said...
What great tops on you! Oh what a sewing adventure you had with the sizing and alterations. The outcome is fantastic and I must say your skin tone is gorgeous and healthy looking just as it is especially with the colors you wear!
3/10/10 6:41 PM
kim*brown said...
You are really growing up fast. Very cute!
3/10/10 7:46 PM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely! It turned out fabulous in the end!
3/10/10 7:56 PM
Rhoda K said...
I can only "ditto" all that's been said - glad to see a "youngster" in our sewing world. ;-) Always look forward to your reviews.
3/10/10 8:00 PM
Renren said...
So glad you could drop by for awhile and grace us with your presence . . . and with another lovely top!
3/10/10 10:08 PM
Lori V said...
Great tops.
3/10/10 10:59 PM
carolynw said...
Looks wonderful onyou - I like all three versions - great save on "the nightgown"
3/11/10 7:53 AM
Annette1 said...
This is just as cute as it can be, and I LOVE the way the back straps are. :o) BRAV-ISIMO!
3/11/10 3:08 PM
Karendee said...
Another darling rendition of this favorite pattern--thanks. As usual, you did such a good job and the top looks so cute on you!
3/11/10 3:14 PM
CynthiaSue said...
all lovely and chic!
3/12/10 0:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 6607

photo
by: mhoutz

Review
Vintage Pattern Lending Library T5918

photo
by: sezza899

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now