Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-134 (girls pea coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 394 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/09 11:45 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meggie LuLu said...
AWW!! She looks SOOOO CUTE in her new jacket!! I LOVE the fabric you chose!! It looks like a RTW designer jacket!!!
3/7/09 11:49 AM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful jacket for a beautiful girl. You are a fabulous mom and a talented seamstress. Thanks for such a great review.
3/7/09 11:55 AM
Christas said...
Your daughter is one very stylish young lady! What an excellent review. I appreciated the wisdom in pacing yourself while sewing this project.... good for me to remember when sewing a time consuming project! The results are SUPERB! So...... when will your "Mommy Jacket" be done so that you can both wear the jackets in style together?!
3/7/09 11:57 AM
Catbird said...
That is adorable! And what a little cutie Heather is in her new outfit! It will look great in denim, too.
3/7/09 12:00 PM
pterion said...
Wow, what a gorgeous jacket! Heather is styling in her very fashionable plaid peacoat. Love that you broke down the construction process for us. Thank you!
3/7/09 12:04 PM
michellep74 said...
Beautiful coat, and Heather looks adorable in it!
3/7/09 12:18 PM
21wale said...
What a darling jacket. And your daughter is beautiful!
3/7/09 12:34 PM
Em's Summer said...
AWW! Your DD looks soo cute in her little suit! You did a great job!!!
3/7/09 1:01 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, your little Heather looks so stylish and hip in her glen plaid jacket, and looks delighted to being wearing it. Absolutely fabulous review; I felt like I was in your sewing room with you. Lovely, Lily
3/7/09 1:32 PM
Annette1 said...
Louella, I LOVE this little jacket! No wonder Heather doesn't want to take it off. :o) I would love one of these in my size too -- ha! Your welt pockets look SOOOO nice. I've had Kenneth King's new book on my wish list at Amazon for quite a while now. I NEED to get it. I just LOVE this little outfit, and you've sewn it so beautifully! :o))
3/7/09 2:07 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- so cool!! :)
3/7/09 2:14 PM
Markie1 said...
What a wonderful review! Your daughter is absolutely precious and the jacket and skirt are perfect. I wish I had been sewing things other than Halloween costumes when my kids were little. She looks so proud. You chronicled the process so beautifully, well done on those pockets!
3/7/09 2:15 PM
cmarie12 said...
This jacket is just tooooo cute on your daughter!
3/7/09 2:36 PM
tanroc75 said...
Cute jacket! You did an awesome job!
3/7/09 4:07 PM
CatMukai said...
Lucky girl!! She looks fab. Well done!
3/7/09 4:21 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That is a beautiful jacket for a beautiful and stylin' girl. I have been looking forward to your review of this jacket. How do you find the time to do so much sewing? Great review too, I loved all the links to RTW styles. I bet Heather will be sewing along with you in a couple more years.
3/7/09 4:31 PM
Kay Y said...
Extremely cute! She does look pleased as punch in it too.
3/7/09 4:42 PM
Kellie R. said...
Your daughter is beautiful - she looks just like you! What a fabulous jacket. It's so classic and perfect for a little girl. She looks so happy wearing it. Great job!
3/7/09 4:53 PM
MamaSewing said...
Wow, what an inspiration you are!! Thanks for the great review!
3/7/09 5:55 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great Job! Your dd is adorable! I love Burda Wof for their RTW style details for the children.
3/7/09 5:55 PM
HeyJane said...
Oh my gosh what a great suit. Heather looks wonderful as always. I want that Tahari dress in my size!
3/7/09 5:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous and totally gorgeous !!!! Louella, you have made a beautiful outfit and many happy memories :)
3/7/09 6:14 PM
digs57 said...
Adorable outfit, and what a little sweetheart! I love the photo with the red underpinnings peeking out.
3/7/09 8:28 PM
EveS said...
It's official. Heather's better dressed than me! Oh my gosh, Louella, that jacket is to die for, whether it's a 6x or 16! What a fabulous seamstress you are and a WAY cool mom!!! You rock! :)
3/7/09 10:38 PM
Ody said...
That jacket is yummy to the extreme!! My dd will want one!
3/7/09 11:10 PM
shesflipped said...
This jacket is superb! Your daughter is absolutely adorable! She is one stylin' little girl in this pea coat. I've added a few lines to the Go-Go's song. "Doesn't matter what they'll pay, (at Nordy's, etc.) I can make it anyway, hey hey hey~ Our seams are sealed." Do they give a 'Bested Dress' award in Kindergarten?
3/8/09 7:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Soooo cute! Great job.
3/8/09 10:26 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Fabulous jacket! Very fashionable. What a lucky little girl. :-)
3/8/09 11:32 AM
shaggy said...
Lovely jacket. You probably wish she wouldn't grow for a while. Very neat that she picked out the pattern herself.
3/8/09 11:57 AM
Secretsugar said...
Really lovely coat, and a lovely little girl wearing it! Coats still seem so intimidating to me, so I especially appreciate your strategy of setting a goal per day to get this done.
3/8/09 9:18 PM
Karen8320 said...
Fabulous work again, Louella! What a really stylish jacket for a young girl. Heather must be the best dressed girl by far in her Kindergarten class. She looks adorable in this jacket.
3/9/09 0:46 AM
SoVintage said...
Incredible! I have not mustered up the courage yet to try a BWOF pattern, as far as I've got is tracing a pattern. You are inspiring! Thank You
8/1/09 2:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Other Merckwaerdigh BHS10 Bras
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 3/7/12
Read Review

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2638 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by sachalsmom on 3/10/11
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chelsea
Chelsea

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1333 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1333 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1268 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1268 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us