SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2009-134 (girls pea coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 394 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/09 11:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meggie LuLu said...
AWW!! She looks SOOOO CUTE in her new jacket!! I LOVE the fabric you chose!! It looks like a RTW designer jacket!!!
3/7/09 11:49 AM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful jacket for a beautiful girl. You are a fabulous mom and a talented seamstress. Thanks for such a great review.
3/7/09 11:55 AM
Christas said...
Your daughter is one very stylish young lady! What an excellent review. I appreciated the wisdom in pacing yourself while sewing this project.... good for me to remember when sewing a time consuming project! The results are SUPERB! So...... when will your "Mommy Jacket" be done so that you can both wear the jackets in style together?!
3/7/09 11:57 AM
Catbird said...
That is adorable! And what a little cutie Heather is in her new outfit! It will look great in denim, too.
3/7/09 12:00 PM
pterion said...
Wow, what a gorgeous jacket! Heather is styling in her very fashionable plaid peacoat. Love that you broke down the construction process for us. Thank you!
3/7/09 12:04 PM
michellep74 said...
Beautiful coat, and Heather looks adorable in it!
3/7/09 12:18 PM
21wale said...
What a darling jacket. And your daughter is beautiful!
3/7/09 12:34 PM
Em's Summer said...
AWW! Your DD looks soo cute in her little suit! You did a great job!!!
3/7/09 1:01 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, your little Heather looks so stylish and hip in her glen plaid jacket, and looks delighted to being wearing it. Absolutely fabulous review; I felt like I was in your sewing room with you. Lovely, Lily
3/7/09 1:32 PM
Annette1 said...
Louella, I LOVE this little jacket! No wonder Heather doesn't want to take it off. :o) I would love one of these in my size too -- ha! Your welt pockets look SOOOO nice. I've had Kenneth King's new book on my wish list at Amazon for quite a while now. I NEED to get it. I just LOVE this little outfit, and you've sewn it so beautifully! :o))
3/7/09 2:07 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- so cool!! :)
3/7/09 2:14 PM
Markie1 said...
What a wonderful review! Your daughter is absolutely precious and the jacket and skirt are perfect. I wish I had been sewing things other than Halloween costumes when my kids were little. She looks so proud. You chronicled the process so beautifully, well done on those pockets!
3/7/09 2:15 PM
cmarie12 said...
This jacket is just tooooo cute on your daughter!
3/7/09 2:36 PM
tanroc75 said...
Cute jacket! You did an awesome job!
3/7/09 4:07 PM
CatMukai said...
Lucky girl!! She looks fab. Well done!
3/7/09 4:21 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That is a beautiful jacket for a beautiful and stylin' girl. I have been looking forward to your review of this jacket. How do you find the time to do so much sewing? Great review too, I loved all the links to RTW styles. I bet Heather will be sewing along with you in a couple more years.
3/7/09 4:31 PM
Kay Y said...
Extremely cute! She does look pleased as punch in it too.
3/7/09 4:42 PM
Kellie R. said...
Your daughter is beautiful - she looks just like you! What a fabulous jacket. It's so classic and perfect for a little girl. She looks so happy wearing it. Great job!
3/7/09 4:53 PM
MamaSewing said...
Wow, what an inspiration you are!! Thanks for the great review!
3/7/09 5:55 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great Job! Your dd is adorable! I love Burda Wof for their RTW style details for the children.
3/7/09 5:55 PM
HeyJane said...
Oh my gosh what a great suit. Heather looks wonderful as always. I want that Tahari dress in my size!
3/7/09 5:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous and totally gorgeous !!!! Louella, you have made a beautiful outfit and many happy memories :)
3/7/09 6:14 PM
digs57 said...
Adorable outfit, and what a little sweetheart! I love the photo with the red underpinnings peeking out.
3/7/09 8:28 PM
EveS said...
It's official. Heather's better dressed than me! Oh my gosh, Louella, that jacket is to die for, whether it's a 6x or 16! What a fabulous seamstress you are and a WAY cool mom!!! You rock! :)
3/7/09 10:38 PM
Ody said...
That jacket is yummy to the extreme!! My dd will want one!
3/7/09 11:10 PM
shesflipped said...
This jacket is superb! Your daughter is absolutely adorable! She is one stylin' little girl in this pea coat. I've added a few lines to the Go-Go's song. "Doesn't matter what they'll pay, (at Nordy's, etc.) I can make it anyway, hey hey hey~ Our seams are sealed." Do they give a 'Bested Dress' award in Kindergarten?
3/8/09 7:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Soooo cute! Great job.
3/8/09 10:26 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Fabulous jacket! Very fashionable. What a lucky little girl. :-)
3/8/09 11:32 AM
shaggy said...
Lovely jacket. You probably wish she wouldn't grow for a while. Very neat that she picked out the pattern herself.
3/8/09 11:57 AM
Secretsugar said...
Really lovely coat, and a lovely little girl wearing it! Coats still seem so intimidating to me, so I especially appreciate your strategy of setting a goal per day to get this done.
3/8/09 9:18 PM
Karen8320 said...
Fabulous work again, Louella! What a really stylish jacket for a young girl. Heather must be the best dressed girl by far in her Kindergarten class. She looks adorable in this jacket.
3/9/09 0:46 AM
SoVintage said...
Incredible! I have not mustered up the courage yet to try a BWOF pattern, as far as I've got is tracing a pattern. You are inspiring! Thank You
8/1/09 2:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Amy Butler Style Stitches

photo
by: sagittmama

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now