Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-105 (Shirtdress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 677 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/09 1:02 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Very cute Dawn! I seriously wish you'd share half of your energy with me - you always get so much sewing done so quickly.
3/7/09 1:07 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Really yummy dress, Dawn, and you look so stylish in it. I don't think the fabric is bland, at all, but rather classically chic. Love your sandals, too. And yes, make another in denim with two rows of topstitching - totally different look. Lovely, Lily
3/7/09 1:28 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE shirtdress!! I LOVE the topstitching and your SHOES!!
3/7/09 1:42 PM
Markie1 said...
Another beautiful example of your well thought-out sewing. You always look immaculate in your clothes, and this is no exception. I love your blog--"sewing is taking over my life"--I hear you, sister!
3/7/09 2:05 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, that is VERY classy -- so pretty. Probably my favorite thing of all the fabulous stuff you've ever made. :)
3/7/09 2:18 PM
EleanorSews said...
You've done it again ~ this is a beautifully made classic. Your sewing is always impressive.
3/7/09 2:24 PM
PattiK said...
Beautiful!! Makes me wish I had not stopped the very expensive Burda subscription! Great work!
3/7/09 2:55 PM
Karen6790 said...
I didn't even catch this one in the February issue, but I'm going to have to trace it off. This is a great little dress - I like the neutral-but-not-boring fabric (and your shoes, as always).
3/7/09 3:54 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute dress! I looks so nice on you!! It reminds me so much of one I made when I was about 20 (which would be 1974). I may have to make a 2009 version. Mine was grey so when I saw your picture that was the first thing I thought of.
3/7/09 4:21 PM
nellc said...
Love this dress!
3/7/09 4:38 PM
angie.a said...
Ooh, I like this. The belt is a nice touch too!
3/7/09 4:58 PM
KristenI said...
Love it!
3/7/09 8:24 PM
Christas said...
Very cute!
3/7/09 10:12 PM
CatMukai said...
tres chic! I second Karen6790 on the shoes!
3/7/09 10:38 PM
pterion said...
Wow, very sharp looking dress! Great style and I like the fabric you've chosen for it.
3/8/09 1:15 AM
jkaori said...
Your dress looks great! Thank you for the review and the hint about the hips --- I think I have to make this one too, in addition to all of the other great patterns in this issue of Burda!
3/8/09 10:46 AM
Sigrid. said...
Very cute, love your version. Must remember this for in 2 months time.
3/8/09 10:51 AM
Meredith P said...
As usual, WOW! I'm so inspired by your sewing. I've been perusing my stash catalog, and think I found something suitable to try this. This looks so great on you!
3/8/09 10:51 AM
5sugarplumbs said...
The dress is awesome and you look great in it!!!
3/8/09 3:16 PM
CarolynGM said...
I do love a nice shirtwaist, and this one is exceptionally cute. Very good style for you.
3/8/09 3:50 PM
Byrdie said...
Great looking dress. Thanks for the tips!
3/8/09 4:36 PM
amy in mpls said...
SO cute, I love it. I have this cut out and waiting (somewhere...) Thanks for the hip tip. I love your dress, im going to dig this out!
3/8/09 7:06 PM
amy in mpls said...
SO cute, I love it. I have this cut out and waiting (somewhere...) Thanks for the hip tip. I love your dress, im going to dig this out!
3/8/09 7:07 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute, Dawn. This is such a great style and looks fantastic on you.
3/8/09 9:00 PM
Secretsugar said...
You look fabulous in this dress! It's just the perfect cut for your figure.
3/8/09 9:19 PM
BlossomKyle said...
That dress is gorgeous and fits you so well. Awesome!
3/8/09 10:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2007-102 Dress
photo
Review by carolineG on 7/30/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1882
photo
Review by CosmicCaro on 9/4/13
Read Review

Burda 8125 Pattern
Burda 8125 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6863 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6863 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us