Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5261 (Womans Shirt/Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 658 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Sally Sews
photo
About Sally Sewsstar
OH USA
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 33
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/09 7:04 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
I like it and your use of different trims gives it a "springy" look. Pretty~
3/7/09 7:26 PM
Aussiemom63135 said...
Thanks for reviewing this top. I made it also and had problems with it. It was so big I just did not finish it. Did you find the arms are very large and when you put it on the body seems to grow under the arm area?
3/7/09 7:41 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE!! It looks GREAT on you!!
3/7/09 7:52 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I have this pattern too and have been contemplating it. I think you definitely need to go down at least one size. Love the contrast trims you used. Hopefully, you'll wear this open as a shirt jacket so you won't have to waste your time and materials. It really is a pretty combination on you.
3/7/09 7:57 PM
mssewcrazy said...
At first I thought Oh no I bought this at the last butterick pattern sale I went to at a Hancock's after you said it did not work. After looking at the photos I actually like it. Just wear it open like a jacket as they are always larger. If you have any of the fabric left, perhaps you could applique a coordinated shell to wear under it or make a sleeveless shell from the fabric and have a neat set. I don't think I would give up yet on this one-just cut it down a bit if you wish. I still plan to try this one after seeing yours but will perhaps plan on the first one being a shirt jacket and a wearable muslin for fitting.
3/7/09 9:39 PM
Annette1 said...
I was just thinking that same thing. You can wear this one as an overblouse (if it doesn't bug you too much moving around), and then you can STILL make yourself another blouse whenever you darn well please. This is too cute not to wear, and you look so PRETTY in that color! You can even wear a SWEATER under if you have to, so it has something to "stick to" -- ha! I think it's SO pretty on you! Your extra touches with the coordinating fabric make it so fun, too. :o)
3/7/09 9:43 PM
Ody said...
Sally, great fabric, super detail, and if the fit had been better, you would have looked ready for spring. Is there no way to at least take in the sides for more of an illusion of a waist? I think I would wear it anyway like a jacket, since the color is so nice on you. Thanks for such an informative review. BTW, I saw you on some website that was really interesting and fun.
3/7/09 11:04 PM
Immelu said...
Sally, I really like the fabric too! Have you tried adding a fabric belt? I think it'd look great if you made one out of similar colored scraps, especially the print at the collar! I would take some scraps, wrap them around your waist, tie a knot about half way between your side and center, and see if you like the look. Belts solve alot of my problems. If you do'n't like the belt all the way around, another quick fix might be to make sort of a back belt and fasten it with a couple of buttons. I'm thinking a back belt like you'd see on a wool winter coat. You could use it to gather together some of that extra fullness.
3/7/09 11:41 PM
CynthiaSue said...
the color looks so nice on you! The raglan sleeves are a good fit. thanks for calling my attention to this pattern. thanks for the detailed review.
3/8/09 0:00 AM
goldesdottar said...
Another vote to try reworking it - one advantage of a raglan sleeve for fitting is that it is much easier take in an excess of fabric, from sleeves & sides from under the sleeves, or from the top of the sleeves and vertical under the bust darts. The combination of colors is too nice to reject without a wince.
3/8/09 1:04 AM
fourkid said...
I too am in the love it category. It is too pretty to give up on. You look wonderful in this fabric - with the extra ease it works as a jacket - and just take in what is take-in-able.
3/9/09 8:22 AM
tr1c14 said...
I agree, way too pretty to give up on yet. I love the colours and I bet if you can just take it in a bit, it will look way nicer. Could you save the overly-big neckline by finding some more interesting contrast fabric and converting it to a neckline with revers/lapels?
3/9/09 3:43 PM
4u2cme said...
I have this pattern in my stash. I'll be mindful of the sizing when I decide to make this shirt/jacket.
1/18/10 2:14 AM
sharonmy said...
this is helpful, as i bought this pattern on sale and want to make it next.
2/1/10 10:28 AM
Mc Donna said...
Pretty color on you! I just bought this pattern, and will definitely keep the considerable ease in mind when deciding which size to cut.
3/5/10 3:47 PM
Aless said...
You have done other sewers such a service by describing the problems with this pattern so well. I too will check the sizing very carefully before making up,as I really like raglan sleeves.
10/25/10 6:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 1195
photo
Review by powderpuff on 1/15/11
Read Review

Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4320 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 4320 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S OS009SB
photo
Review by isewstuff on 11/18/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 501 Pattern
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us