SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 824 (Taper/Wide leg pants)

14 more reviews
Viewed 2000 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/03 10:09 PM
Last Updated:11/12/03 0:06 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
I forgot to mention that I will definitely be wearing my tops over the pants--untucked!
11/11/03 10:12 PM
CatherineN said...
Thanks for reviewing, with pictures, a plus size pair of pants. They look comfy and not too tight. That type of fabric will make them good for work.
11/11/03 10:44 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Sherril you got the perfect fit! I love the purple. I have made 3 pair in cotton/lycra and wear them out in fall and winter!
11/11/03 11:31 PM
AnneM said...
I think they are great pants on you. I would say use pre-shrunk fabric the next time around since it worked well for you. This one is on my list of patterns to get.
11/12/03 4:29 AM
Linda E. said...
Sherril, I am plus size and have made these pants about 6-8 times I love them. The wide leg have become my favorite after reading the WNTW books. Fuller leg pants make you look thinner of so the books say so. You did a great job on your pants love the color.
11/12/03 6:58 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Sherril, these do fit you quite well - what a great basic! I do notice a pull going to the hip both front and back - this could be the way you are standing or you need to pull down the side seam a bit. Sometimes we just pull them up too far there, other times it's necessary to add a smidgen at the top of the side seam. Another benefit to sewing your own clothes: no size labels. :-) Have you thought of converting this pattern to a bootleg? That would give you another look.
11/12/03 7:09 AM
cindyann said...
These are a nice basic pant Sherril. Looks really good on you. Perfect for your teaching needs. I think this could be a pattern staple for you. Gigi's suggestion of a boot leg is also a great one. Boot legs are really flattering pants for almost everyone.
11/12/03 7:20 AM
Karen Bowers said...
sherril, i agree these pants look great, and i'm intrigued by gigi's alteration suggestion. sometimes i get that same line! thanks for offering up a photo of you in the pants. i learn much more seeing the reviewers in their garments rather than having the garments on a hanger.
11/12/03 9:39 AM
Mini said...
Sherril, this is a very good style for you. I would never have considered this pattern based on the pattern illustration-when will pattern companies wake up and show us how the clothes look on real people?
11/12/03 1:41 PM
Sarah said...
Sherril your pants look great - I haven't tried the taper leg yet, but your pic has inspired me to give it a go. Re Gigi's comment, I cut the waistline for these pants by tying elastic around my waist and tracing my waistline around the bottom of the elastic. The chalk mark dips in front, but peaks quite sharply at the sides - its a high hip thing! I always allow a bit extra on the sides now.
11/12/03 10:32 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Sherril, I think these truly look better on YOU than the 7 foot models on the pattern envelope and I'm not kidding. Great fit, great review.
11/13/03 1:08 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Ditto what Lee Ann said. Your comment about the pattern illustration models made me laugh. Those pictures really do not show what this pattern looks like, even on thinner people.
11/13/03 8:58 AM
terip said...
I've sized up several of these patterns to size 24. They are very easy to size up, unlike most commercial patterns. Now that I'm down to a size 20, I'm recutting them to fit my new shape! Definitely give these a try, even if you don't have a serger.
1/25/04 12:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2007-125

photo
by: liliv

Review
Monkeysbug Festival Bustle Skirt

photo
by: p3patch

Review
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now