Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 824 (Taper/Wide leg pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1996 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/03 10:09 PM
Last Updated:11/12/03 0:06 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
I forgot to mention that I will definitely be wearing my tops over the pants--untucked!
11/11/03 10:12 PM
CatherineN said...
Thanks for reviewing, with pictures, a plus size pair of pants. They look comfy and not too tight. That type of fabric will make them good for work.
11/11/03 10:44 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Sherril you got the perfect fit! I love the purple. I have made 3 pair in cotton/lycra and wear them out in fall and winter!
11/11/03 11:31 PM
AnneM said...
I think they are great pants on you. I would say use pre-shrunk fabric the next time around since it worked well for you. This one is on my list of patterns to get.
11/12/03 4:29 AM
Linda E. said...
Sherril, I am plus size and have made these pants about 6-8 times I love them. The wide leg have become my favorite after reading the WNTW books. Fuller leg pants make you look thinner of so the books say so. You did a great job on your pants love the color.
11/12/03 6:58 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Sherril, these do fit you quite well - what a great basic! I do notice a pull going to the hip both front and back - this could be the way you are standing or you need to pull down the side seam a bit. Sometimes we just pull them up too far there, other times it's necessary to add a smidgen at the top of the side seam. Another benefit to sewing your own clothes: no size labels. :-) Have you thought of converting this pattern to a bootleg? That would give you another look.
11/12/03 7:09 AM
cindyann said...
These are a nice basic pant Sherril. Looks really good on you. Perfect for your teaching needs. I think this could be a pattern staple for you. Gigi's suggestion of a boot leg is also a great one. Boot legs are really flattering pants for almost everyone.
11/12/03 7:20 AM
Karen Bowers said...
sherril, i agree these pants look great, and i'm intrigued by gigi's alteration suggestion. sometimes i get that same line! thanks for offering up a photo of you in the pants. i learn much more seeing the reviewers in their garments rather than having the garments on a hanger.
11/12/03 9:39 AM
Mini said...
Sherril, this is a very good style for you. I would never have considered this pattern based on the pattern illustration-when will pattern companies wake up and show us how the clothes look on real people?
11/12/03 1:41 PM
Sarah said...
Sherril your pants look great - I haven't tried the taper leg yet, but your pic has inspired me to give it a go. Re Gigi's comment, I cut the waistline for these pants by tying elastic around my waist and tracing my waistline around the bottom of the elastic. The chalk mark dips in front, but peaks quite sharply at the sides - its a high hip thing! I always allow a bit extra on the sides now.
11/12/03 10:32 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Sherril, I think these truly look better on YOU than the 7 foot models on the pattern envelope and I'm not kidding. Great fit, great review.
11/13/03 1:08 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Ditto what Lee Ann said. Your comment about the pattern illustration models made me laugh. Those pictures really do not show what this pattern looks like, even on thinner people.
11/13/03 8:58 AM
terip said...
I've sized up several of these patterns to size 24. They are very easy to size up, unlike most commercial patterns. Now that I'm down to a size 20, I'm recutting them to fit my new shape! Definitely give these a try, even if you don't have a serger.
1/25/04 12:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2406 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by peppercon on 1/27/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Silhouette Patterns 115 Ann's Top
photo
Review by NhiHuynh on 1/6/12
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6965 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6965 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us