SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 824 (Taper/Wide leg pants)

14 more reviews
Viewed 2003 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 139
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
patterns reviewed: 128
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/03 10:09 PM
Last Updated:11/12/03 0:06 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
terip said...
I've sized up several of these patterns to size 24. They are very easy to size up, unlike most commercial patterns. Now that I'm down to a size 20, I'm recutting them to fit my new shape! Definitely give these a try, even if you don't have a serger.
1/25/04 12:21 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Ditto what Lee Ann said. Your comment about the pattern illustration models made me laugh. Those pictures really do not show what this pattern looks like, even on thinner people.
11/13/03 8:58 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Sherril, I think these truly look better on YOU than the 7 foot models on the pattern envelope and I'm not kidding. Great fit, great review.
11/13/03 1:08 AM
Sarah said...
Sherril your pants look great - I haven't tried the taper leg yet, but your pic has inspired me to give it a go. Re Gigi's comment, I cut the waistline for these pants by tying elastic around my waist and tracing my waistline around the bottom of the elastic. The chalk mark dips in front, but peaks quite sharply at the sides - its a high hip thing! I always allow a bit extra on the sides now.
11/12/03 10:32 PM
Mini said...
Sherril, this is a very good style for you. I would never have considered this pattern based on the pattern illustration-when will pattern companies wake up and show us how the clothes look on real people?
11/12/03 1:41 PM
Karen Bowers said...
sherril, i agree these pants look great, and i'm intrigued by gigi's alteration suggestion. sometimes i get that same line! thanks for offering up a photo of you in the pants. i learn much more seeing the reviewers in their garments rather than having the garments on a hanger.
11/12/03 9:39 AM
cindyann said...
These are a nice basic pant Sherril. Looks really good on you. Perfect for your teaching needs. I think this could be a pattern staple for you. Gigi's suggestion of a boot leg is also a great one. Boot legs are really flattering pants for almost everyone.
11/12/03 7:20 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Sherril, these do fit you quite well - what a great basic! I do notice a pull going to the hip both front and back - this could be the way you are standing or you need to pull down the side seam a bit. Sometimes we just pull them up too far there, other times it's necessary to add a smidgen at the top of the side seam. Another benefit to sewing your own clothes: no size labels. :-) Have you thought of converting this pattern to a bootleg? That would give you another look.
11/12/03 7:09 AM
Linda E. said...
Sherril, I am plus size and have made these pants about 6-8 times I love them. The wide leg have become my favorite after reading the WNTW books. Fuller leg pants make you look thinner of so the books say so. You did a great job on your pants love the color.
11/12/03 6:58 AM
AnneM said...
I think they are great pants on you. I would say use pre-shrunk fabric the next time around since it worked well for you. This one is on my list of patterns to get.
11/12/03 4:29 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Sherril you got the perfect fit! I love the purple. I have made 3 pair in cotton/lycra and wear them out in fall and winter!
11/11/03 11:31 PM
CatherineN said...
Thanks for reviewing, with pictures, a plus size pair of pants. They look comfy and not too tight. That type of fabric will make them good for work.
11/11/03 10:44 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I forgot to mention that I will definitely be wearing my tops over the pants--untucked!
11/11/03 10:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 8679

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-115

photo
by: Sewingelle

Review
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now