SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2009-116 (Gathered yoke dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1053 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/09 8:37 AM
Last Updated:3/25/09 8:37 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
euriclee said...
My god, this dress is gorgeous and you look so good in it.
5/22/09 4:05 PM
Johanna Lu said...

4/7/09 2:50 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Very helpful review and as I said before the dress looks brilliant on you! I'm sitting with this pattern next to me and plan to start with it tonight. But I'm on the fence about the lining now, I don't want to start something that drives me up the wall and I like unlined dresses too
4/7/09 2:45 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Very helpful review and as I said before the dress looks brilliant on you! I'm sitting with this pattern next to me and plan to start with it tonight. But I'm on the fence about the lining now, I don't want to start something that drives me up the wall and I like unlined dresses too
4/7/09 12:52 PM
Beach Wolf said...
Brilliant on the bra retainer. I'm small busted so I love the plunging necklines but do have trouble with that portion of my bra showing! I'd considered using tape but this is better.
4/6/09 9:07 PM
mrsv83 said...
Very pretty, meticulous work. Happy Birthday! I really enjoy your blog.
3/27/09 11:25 PM
janet said...
Congratulations on your 100th review!. L-O-V-E your Birthday dress. Your 30th Birthday will certainly be "Unforgettable".
3/26/09 7:57 PM
amy in mpls said...
GORGEOUS!!! Happy birthday to you! That dress does have great lines and looks fabulous.
3/26/09 4:39 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I like the shoulder detail, beautiful job.
3/26/09 12:26 PM
crisford said...
Gorgeous dress! Wow! Silk Charmeuse! Thank you for your many helpful tips and critique.
3/26/09 10:30 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute dress, great review with extensive photos. Love the idea of the bra retainer!
3/26/09 1:26 AM
Elke said...
Great looking dress...love the green and happy birthday!
3/25/09 7:06 PM
darse said...
Happy Birthday! And kudos to you for wearing bright green instead of a more subdued color. The dress is beautiful.
3/25/09 4:41 PM
colourbynumber said...
I love it. Happy Birthday.
3/25/09 3:51 PM
clare said...
Happy Birthday! I love your dress!
3/25/09 3:46 PM
nellc said...
Happy Birthday! you have made a beautiful dress for your party.
3/25/09 2:38 PM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous dress! Happy birthday; you look a million bucks - or pounds!
3/25/09 2:20 PM
Karen6790 said...
Okay, that's a seriously festive birthday dress. I love the color on you - and while it would have been great as the Atonement dress, isn't it better that it got used already, and made into something so fabulous. Happy birthday!
3/25/09 1:21 PM
petro said...
Great fabric choice for this very pretty dress, the colour is marvellous on you.
3/25/09 12:55 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Happy Birthday Melissa! I'll leave a more detailed comment on your blog.
3/25/09 12:48 PM
michellep74 said...
Happy Birthday! I love the green on you! It's so nice to see that this turned out so well--I'm definitely still planning to make this (when I get around to it).
3/25/09 12:16 PM
Geordie Girl said...
Wow, that is gorgeous. Love the colour. Happy Birthday.
3/25/09 11:11 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Very pretty -- HAPPY 30th!!!
3/25/09 11:01 AM
Jali said...
Happy Birthday to you! The style and colour of your birthday dress are very lovely on you. It's just beautiful, really.
3/25/09 10:58 AM
nglalala said...
Very very cute! It looks great and green is a very pretty color on you!
3/25/09 10:47 AM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, the finished result is beautiful! I love the green.
3/25/09 9:54 AM
Gecko said...
This is stunning! Love it! Great job!
3/25/09 9:16 AM
pterion said...
Happy Birthday Melissa! You look radiant in your lovely green silk dress! All your hard work and attention to detail has certainly paid off. Have a fun party!
3/25/09 9:12 AM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous dress - I love it and the colour looks really great on you.
3/25/09 9:08 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Happy birthday! I hadn't heard of a bra retainer before; what a good idea to combat plunging BWOF necklines.
3/25/09 9:01 AM
Annette Wright said...
I love it (saw it in your blog.) And what a place to pose, terrific.
3/25/09 8:48 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I'll wish you a very happy 30th now, also congratulations on becoming a true Brit. I was reading your blog last week & read about the happy event! Hope I don't miss the unveiling of the finished product...you'll look smashing in the beautiful emerald satin!!
3/10/09 2:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
Looks like a very promisingly eyecatching dress!
3/10/09 1:26 AM
SusiM said...
It's a really cute style on you! Even the muslin looks good. Thanks also for the really detailed explanation of the instructions. That's so helpful!
3/10/09 0:20 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Looks nice so far..can't wait to see it in silk!
3/9/09 3:43 PM
cabinbaby said...
I think the wrinkles at the back are really minimal. I wouldn't worry about it or make a very small alterations. I wear the petite sizes too but I'm about 3" shorter than you. :) Too funny.
3/9/09 2:58 PM
digs57 said...
It does really look almost perfect. The dress might need a little more ease in the side seams around the waist & over the hips, to allow it to drop down and release the back fullness. Or you could pinch out a horizontal pleat across the back just above the waist. Looking forward to seeing the finished product!
3/9/09 2:55 PM
peaudane said...
the fit is great and it will look fabulous in the green silk!
3/9/09 1:17 PM
michellep74 said...
Just from the muslin, I can tell that this is going to be very cute and flattering on you. Thanks for posting your WIP review--I'm planning to start on a muslin of this in the next few weeks, too!
3/9/09 12:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Other k6ja2

photo
by: Ghainskom

Review
McCall's 5433

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

More Info