SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2009-116 (Gathered yoke dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1053 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/09 8:37 AM
Last Updated:3/25/09 8:37 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Just from the muslin, I can tell that this is going to be very cute and flattering on you. Thanks for posting your WIP review--I'm planning to start on a muslin of this in the next few weeks, too!
3/9/09 12:55 PM
peaudane said...
the fit is great and it will look fabulous in the green silk!
3/9/09 1:17 PM
digs57 said...
It does really look almost perfect. The dress might need a little more ease in the side seams around the waist & over the hips, to allow it to drop down and release the back fullness. Or you could pinch out a horizontal pleat across the back just above the waist. Looking forward to seeing the finished product!
3/9/09 2:55 PM
cabinbaby said...
I think the wrinkles at the back are really minimal. I wouldn't worry about it or make a very small alterations. I wear the petite sizes too but I'm about 3" shorter than you. :) Too funny.
3/9/09 2:58 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Looks nice so far..can't wait to see it in silk!
3/9/09 3:43 PM
SusiM said...
It's a really cute style on you! Even the muslin looks good. Thanks also for the really detailed explanation of the instructions. That's so helpful!
3/10/09 0:20 AM
Heatherrique said...
Looks like a very promisingly eyecatching dress!
3/10/09 1:26 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I'll wish you a very happy 30th now, also congratulations on becoming a true Brit. I was reading your blog last week & read about the happy event! Hope I don't miss the unveiling of the finished product...you'll look smashing in the beautiful emerald satin!!
3/10/09 2:25 PM
Annette Wright said...
I love it (saw it in your blog.) And what a place to pose, terrific.
3/25/09 8:48 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Happy birthday! I hadn't heard of a bra retainer before; what a good idea to combat plunging BWOF necklines.
3/25/09 9:01 AM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous dress - I love it and the colour looks really great on you.
3/25/09 9:08 AM
pterion said...
Happy Birthday Melissa! You look radiant in your lovely green silk dress! All your hard work and attention to detail has certainly paid off. Have a fun party!
3/25/09 9:12 AM
Gecko said...
This is stunning! Love it! Great job!
3/25/09 9:16 AM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, the finished result is beautiful! I love the green.
3/25/09 9:54 AM
nglalala said...
Very very cute! It looks great and green is a very pretty color on you!
3/25/09 10:47 AM
Jali said...
Happy Birthday to you! The style and colour of your birthday dress are very lovely on you. It's just beautiful, really.
3/25/09 10:58 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Very pretty -- HAPPY 30th!!!
3/25/09 11:01 AM
Geordie Girl said...
Wow, that is gorgeous. Love the colour. Happy Birthday.
3/25/09 11:11 AM
michellep74 said...
Happy Birthday! I love the green on you! It's so nice to see that this turned out so well--I'm definitely still planning to make this (when I get around to it).
3/25/09 12:16 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Happy Birthday Melissa! I'll leave a more detailed comment on your blog.
3/25/09 12:48 PM
petro said...
Great fabric choice for this very pretty dress, the colour is marvellous on you.
3/25/09 12:55 PM
Karen6790 said...
Okay, that's a seriously festive birthday dress. I love the color on you - and while it would have been great as the Atonement dress, isn't it better that it got used already, and made into something so fabulous. Happy birthday!
3/25/09 1:21 PM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous dress! Happy birthday; you look a million bucks - or pounds!
3/25/09 2:20 PM
nellc said...
Happy Birthday! you have made a beautiful dress for your party.
3/25/09 2:38 PM
clare said...
Happy Birthday! I love your dress!
3/25/09 3:46 PM
colourbynumber said...
I love it. Happy Birthday.
3/25/09 3:51 PM
darse said...
Happy Birthday! And kudos to you for wearing bright green instead of a more subdued color. The dress is beautiful.
3/25/09 4:41 PM
Elke said...
Great looking dress...love the green and happy birthday!
3/25/09 7:06 PM
kerrynw said...
Cute dress, great review with extensive photos. Love the idea of the bra retainer!
3/26/09 1:26 AM
crisford said...
Gorgeous dress! Wow! Silk Charmeuse! Thank you for your many helpful tips and critique.
3/26/09 10:30 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I like the shoulder detail, beautiful job.
3/26/09 12:26 PM
amy in mpls said...
GORGEOUS!!! Happy birthday to you! That dress does have great lines and looks fabulous.
3/26/09 4:39 PM
janet said...
Congratulations on your 100th review!. L-O-V-E your Birthday dress. Your 30th Birthday will certainly be "Unforgettable".
3/26/09 7:57 PM
mrsv83 said...
Very pretty, meticulous work. Happy Birthday! I really enjoy your blog.
3/27/09 11:25 PM
Beach Wolf said...
Brilliant on the bra retainer. I'm small busted so I love the plunging necklines but do have trouble with that portion of my bra showing! I'd considered using tape but this is better.
4/6/09 9:07 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Very helpful review and as I said before the dress looks brilliant on you! I'm sitting with this pattern next to me and plan to start with it tonight. But I'm on the fence about the lining now, I don't want to start something that drives me up the wall and I like unlined dresses too
4/7/09 12:52 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Very helpful review and as I said before the dress looks brilliant on you! I'm sitting with this pattern next to me and plan to start with it tonight. But I'm on the fence about the lining now, I don't want to start something that drives me up the wall and I like unlined dresses too
4/7/09 2:45 PM
Johanna Lu said...

4/7/09 2:50 PM
euriclee said...
My god, this dress is gorgeous and you look so good in it.
5/22/09 4:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

New Look 6386

photo
by: julliams

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 99383-1000

photo
by: julliams

Review
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now