Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2008-128 (Trench Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 570 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:loohoo44
photo
About loohoo44star
CA USA
Member since: 2/25/07
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/09 4:51 PM
Last Updated:3/10/09 5:00 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rosannec said...
Your trench is wonderful! I love all of the details - the time and attention paid is clearly evident. And, where did you find matching lining for the sleeves? I purchased the same fabric but never came across a lining. I love your coat - it looks fabulous. Now you can use the remaining fabric to make a coordinating tote!
3/10/09 5:03 PM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job!
3/10/09 5:17 PM
rsersh said...
This just looks so sharp! The collar might have been a pain but I love it!
3/10/09 5:28 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic.
3/10/09 5:35 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous trenchcoat. You did a fabulous job getting all those details.
3/10/09 6:12 PM
sewtime said...
Very cute, you did a great job!!!
3/10/09 6:26 PM
Elke said...
Lovely trenchcoat with attention to detail. It looks great on you.
3/10/09 6:40 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Definitely the investment for years to come, great job.
3/10/09 7:21 PM
Catbird said...
Your first coat, did you say?! It's outstanding and looks perfect in every detail. You'll be able to wear this classic for years!
3/10/09 7:35 PM
Kay Y said...
Beautiful job - it looks great on you too!
3/10/09 7:41 PM
Christas said...
Your coat looks amazing! So impressive!
3/10/09 7:49 PM
crisford said...
Fabulous coat--I love all the details, and the color/lining combination does look very sharp!
3/10/09 8:34 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice trench and a beautiful job. Your time spent was well worth it.
3/10/09 9:13 PM
Dei said...
Saw this on your blog. Fantastic!
3/10/09 9:25 PM
Lynnelle said...
Fabulous!
3/10/09 9:40 PM
Byrdie said...
Beautiful trench coat!
3/10/09 10:05 PM
Karen6790 said...
Gorgeous. I was there when Cidell found that lining fabric - didn't know it would go into such a great coat. All your hard work paid off. The details are immaculate and you'll wear this with pride for a long time to come.
3/10/09 10:33 PM
SusiM said...
Absolutely beautiful! The collar looks perfect.
3/11/09 0:35 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Your coat looks terrific, you did an amazing job on it!
3/11/09 0:45 AM
KathleenS said...
That's pretty amazing for a first coat (or a second or third or...!) Beautiful details and finishing.
3/11/09 0:50 AM
Margie T said...
Beautiful coat. Congratulations.
3/11/09 1:31 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous trench! Definitely something you will have for many, many years to come.
3/11/09 6:25 AM
cgHipp said...
It looks absolutely fantastic - the fit and construction are wonderful!
3/11/09 6:56 AM
jeanielynn said...
I looked at your blog for a few more pictures and you really did a good job especially with such stiff fabric.
3/11/09 8:05 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is one SHARP looking coat. Your attention to detail and time spent on it really has paid off. Great job!
3/11/09 10:36 AM
loohoo44 said...
thank you so much everyone!! rosannec Cidell found the lining during a shopping trip (apparently with Karen 6790) and grabbed some for me, it was a great find.
3/11/09 11:32 AM
AdaF said...
Georgeous!
3/11/09 12:00 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Impeccable job! A definite classic, you'll wear it for years. Excellent review, also.
3/11/09 1:05 PM
Gold said...
You did a wonderful job!!!Looks great on you.
3/11/09 1:51 PM
Stitchcakes said...
WOWW!!! Love it!
3/11/09 3:39 PM
CynthiaSue said...
i am doing some serious gawking Leslie! That topstitching is RTW perfection! and so are the insides! What thread did you use for topstitching? Have fun wearing it!
3/12/09 1:33 AM
Barbara V said...
Leslie, what a beautiful trench. You did an excellent job.....love your exact topstitching detail. Your efforts will certainly be realized for years to come with this classic gem.
3/12/09 11:54 PM
figtree said...
Wow, great trench, I'm so glad to see a review on this one, i wondered about the fit, whether it would be fitted like yours and on the model or a-line like the line drawing, now i know! I think i'd do the same taking in the sides a bit.
3/16/09 12:29 PM
MarionP said...
Lovely job!
4/10/09 5:47 PM
bettysparkles said...
There is so much finesse in this job. Perfection in the details. I am seriously impressed.
6/16/09 6:34 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow!!! I have been wanting to make this one. Thanks for the inspiration of creating such a gorgeous coat!!!
6/16/09 9:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Marfy 1494: asymm skirt
photo
Review by julesberry on 8/14/07
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3678 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3678 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1804
photo
Review by Rikki23 on 5/30/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us