SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2008-128 (Trench Coat)

Viewed 571 times 
Reviewed by:loohoo44
photo

 
 
About loohoo44star
CA USA
Member since: 2/25/07
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/09 4:51 PM
Last Updated:3/10/09 5:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rosannec said...
Your trench is wonderful! I love all of the details - the time and attention paid is clearly evident. And, where did you find matching lining for the sleeves? I purchased the same fabric but never came across a lining. I love your coat - it looks fabulous. Now you can use the remaining fabric to make a coordinating tote!
3/10/09 5:03 PM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job!
3/10/09 5:17 PM
rsersh said...
This just looks so sharp! The collar might have been a pain but I love it!
3/10/09 5:28 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic.
3/10/09 5:35 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous trenchcoat. You did a fabulous job getting all those details.
3/10/09 6:12 PM
sewtime said...
Very cute, you did a great job!!!
3/10/09 6:26 PM
Elke said...
Lovely trenchcoat with attention to detail. It looks great on you.
3/10/09 6:40 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Definitely the investment for years to come, great job.
3/10/09 7:21 PM
Catbird said...
Your first coat, did you say?! It's outstanding and looks perfect in every detail. You'll be able to wear this classic for years!
3/10/09 7:35 PM
Kay Y said...
Beautiful job - it looks great on you too!
3/10/09 7:41 PM
Christas said...
Your coat looks amazing! So impressive!
3/10/09 7:49 PM
crisford said...
Fabulous coat--I love all the details, and the color/lining combination does look very sharp!
3/10/09 8:34 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice trench and a beautiful job. Your time spent was well worth it.
3/10/09 9:13 PM
Dei said...
Saw this on your blog. Fantastic!
3/10/09 9:25 PM
Lynnelle said...
Fabulous!
3/10/09 9:40 PM
Byrdie said...
Beautiful trench coat!
3/10/09 10:05 PM
Karen6790 said...
Gorgeous. I was there when Cidell found that lining fabric - didn't know it would go into such a great coat. All your hard work paid off. The details are immaculate and you'll wear this with pride for a long time to come.
3/10/09 10:33 PM
SusiM said...
Absolutely beautiful! The collar looks perfect.
3/11/09 0:35 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Your coat looks terrific, you did an amazing job on it!
3/11/09 0:45 AM
KathleenS said...
That's pretty amazing for a first coat (or a second or third or...!) Beautiful details and finishing.
3/11/09 0:50 AM
Margie T said...
Beautiful coat. Congratulations.
3/11/09 1:31 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous trench! Definitely something you will have for many, many years to come.
3/11/09 6:25 AM
cgHipp said...
It looks absolutely fantastic - the fit and construction are wonderful!
3/11/09 6:56 AM
jeanielynn said...
I looked at your blog for a few more pictures and you really did a good job especially with such stiff fabric.
3/11/09 8:05 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is one SHARP looking coat. Your attention to detail and time spent on it really has paid off. Great job!
3/11/09 10:36 AM
loohoo44 said...
thank you so much everyone!! rosannec Cidell found the lining during a shopping trip (apparently with Karen 6790) and grabbed some for me, it was a great find.
3/11/09 11:32 AM
AdaF said...
Georgeous!
3/11/09 12:00 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Impeccable job! A definite classic, you'll wear it for years. Excellent review, also.
3/11/09 1:05 PM
Gold said...
You did a wonderful job!!!Looks great on you.
3/11/09 1:51 PM
Stitchcakes said...
WOWW!!! Love it!
3/11/09 3:39 PM
CynthiaSue said...
i am doing some serious gawking Leslie! That topstitching is RTW perfection! and so are the insides! What thread did you use for topstitching? Have fun wearing it!
3/12/09 1:33 AM
Barbara V said...
Leslie, what a beautiful trench. You did an excellent job.....love your exact topstitching detail. Your efforts will certainly be realized for years to come with this classic gem.
3/12/09 11:54 PM
figtree said...
Wow, great trench, I'm so glad to see a review on this one, i wondered about the fit, whether it would be fitted like yours and on the model or a-line like the line drawing, now i know! I think i'd do the same taking in the sides a bit.
3/16/09 12:29 PM
MarionP said...
Lovely job!
4/10/09 5:47 PM
bettysparkles said...
There is so much finesse in this job. Perfection in the details. I am seriously impressed.
6/16/09 6:34 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow!!! I have been wanting to make this one. Thanks for the inspiration of creating such a gorgeous coat!!!
6/16/09 9:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 261

photo
by: Renren

Review
Simplicity 2360

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now