SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3242 OOP (Vintage 49er Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 237 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/09 8:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mint Chocolate Chick said...
I'll definitely be looking for one of these patterns. I have an actual Pendleton jacket, and it's one of my favorites (but it's almost worn out!).
12/19/10 12:54 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's brilliant! I love it. It's also inspired me to make something similar, using a nineties pattern for an LL Bean style jacket in a tartan wool in my stash.
8/28/09 0:34 AM
snowleopard said...
Thanks, found this review via google while prowling for 49'ers, and have purchased pattern, fabric, buttons. Can't wait to pursue this adventure in 49'ers, and have started the search for the perfect pattern to do pendleton hipstitched pleated plaid skirts. No more paying a premium for vintage Pendleton. Thanks for the inspiration!
5/28/09 7:59 PM
bananaoil said...
I like your jacket. We're of the same vintage and this style appeals to me too. I keep trying to look at new jacket patterns, with peplums and ruffles, no pockets, bows, but this is the thing I've been looking for. Thanks.
3/13/09 7:24 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a fun project, I love how yours turned out--it looks great!
3/12/09 12:26 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Perfect Looking Jacket! and wonderful review. I was so lucky to find a vintage Pendelton at a shop (that fit perfect) but would like to make one as I see yours looks identical to mine! Great review and helpful tip on the sizing. I know the old patterns really run different.
3/11/09 2:15 PM
Rhoda K said...
What a gorgeous jacket and a great job matching the plaid! I love your colors as well as Pendleton wool. I had one of these jackets when I was in high school, a red plaid.
3/11/09 1:52 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a beautiful jacket! I love the colors in your plaid, classic and bright and cheerful. It's lovely and I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing this on crisp days!
3/11/09 10:30 AM
Woolygal said...
Very professional sewing job. Congrats.
3/11/09 10:26 AM
Woolygal said...
Very professional sewing job. Congrats.
3/11/09 10:26 AM
milo1000 said...
I LOVE these jackets. I think your version is so much nicer than the ones they have now. Really wonderful and I love the collar.
3/11/09 6:32 AM
MaryDB said...
Heidi, I bought the pattern on eBay. You could try there or Lanetzliving.com; also look for Butterick 7044, which is the same. If you click on the thumbnail of the picture, it should give you a larger view. Thanks for the positive comments!
3/11/09 0:31 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow I am so jealous that you have a pattern for one of those. Where did you find it? I wore an old one of my mothers when I was a teenager even though it had a couple of small moth holes. I have been trying to figure out how to make one. Yours turned out beautiful. I wish the picture was larger so I could see it better.
3/11/09 0:16 AM
sew2little said...
My mother had one of these jackets--and I have seen the re-issues. Yours looks great!
3/10/09 11:36 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Very nice -- beautiful work on the plaid. :)
3/10/09 9:48 PM
Em's Summer said...
I remember reading your post about this on the vintage thread. It turned out great! It looks better than the Pendleton jacket! Very sporty and very pretty!
3/10/09 9:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1292

photo
by: chenille

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

More Info
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

More Info