SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3242 OOP (Vintage 49er Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 237 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/09 8:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
I remember reading your post about this on the vintage thread. It turned out great! It looks better than the Pendleton jacket! Very sporty and very pretty!
3/10/09 9:32 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Very nice -- beautiful work on the plaid. :)
3/10/09 9:48 PM
sew2little said...
My mother had one of these jackets--and I have seen the re-issues. Yours looks great!
3/10/09 11:36 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow I am so jealous that you have a pattern for one of those. Where did you find it? I wore an old one of my mothers when I was a teenager even though it had a couple of small moth holes. I have been trying to figure out how to make one. Yours turned out beautiful. I wish the picture was larger so I could see it better.
3/11/09 0:16 AM
MaryDB said...
Heidi, I bought the pattern on eBay. You could try there or Lanetzliving.com; also look for Butterick 7044, which is the same. If you click on the thumbnail of the picture, it should give you a larger view. Thanks for the positive comments!
3/11/09 0:31 AM
milo1000 said...
I LOVE these jackets. I think your version is so much nicer than the ones they have now. Really wonderful and I love the collar.
3/11/09 6:32 AM
Woolygal said...
Very professional sewing job. Congrats.
3/11/09 10:26 AM
Woolygal said...
Very professional sewing job. Congrats.
3/11/09 10:26 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a beautiful jacket! I love the colors in your plaid, classic and bright and cheerful. It's lovely and I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing this on crisp days!
3/11/09 10:30 AM
Rhoda K said...
What a gorgeous jacket and a great job matching the plaid! I love your colors as well as Pendleton wool. I had one of these jackets when I was in high school, a red plaid.
3/11/09 1:52 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Perfect Looking Jacket! and wonderful review. I was so lucky to find a vintage Pendelton at a shop (that fit perfect) but would like to make one as I see yours looks identical to mine! Great review and helpful tip on the sizing. I know the old patterns really run different.
3/11/09 2:15 PM
MamaSewing said...
What a fun project, I love how yours turned out--it looks great!
3/12/09 12:26 PM
bananaoil said...
I like your jacket. We're of the same vintage and this style appeals to me too. I keep trying to look at new jacket patterns, with peplums and ruffles, no pockets, bows, but this is the thing I've been looking for. Thanks.
3/13/09 7:24 AM
snowleopard said...
Thanks, found this review via google while prowling for 49'ers, and have purchased pattern, fabric, buttons. Can't wait to pursue this adventure in 49'ers, and have started the search for the perfect pattern to do pendleton hipstitched pleated plaid skirts. No more paying a premium for vintage Pendleton. Thanks for the inspiration!
5/28/09 7:59 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's brilliant! I love it. It's also inspired me to make something similar, using a nineties pattern for an LL Bean style jacket in a tartan wool in my stash.
8/28/09 0:34 AM
Mint Chocolate Chick said...
I'll definitely be looking for one of these patterns. I have an actual Pendleton jacket, and it's one of my favorites (but it's almost worn out!).
12/19/10 12:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 2708

photo
by: Casalguidi

Review
Other Pristine Swing Dress

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now