Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 3242 OOP (Vintage 49er Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 236 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/09 8:59 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
I remember reading your post about this on the vintage thread. It turned out great! It looks better than the Pendleton jacket! Very sporty and very pretty!
3/10/09 9:32 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Very nice -- beautiful work on the plaid. :)
3/10/09 9:48 PM
sew2little said...
My mother had one of these jackets--and I have seen the re-issues. Yours looks great!
3/10/09 11:36 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow I am so jealous that you have a pattern for one of those. Where did you find it? I wore an old one of my mothers when I was a teenager even though it had a couple of small moth holes. I have been trying to figure out how to make one. Yours turned out beautiful. I wish the picture was larger so I could see it better.
3/11/09 0:16 AM
MaryDB said...
Heidi, I bought the pattern on eBay. You could try there or Lanetzliving.com; also look for Butterick 7044, which is the same. If you click on the thumbnail of the picture, it should give you a larger view. Thanks for the positive comments!
3/11/09 0:31 AM
milo1000 said...
I LOVE these jackets. I think your version is so much nicer than the ones they have now. Really wonderful and I love the collar.
3/11/09 6:32 AM
Woolygal said...
Very professional sewing job. Congrats.
3/11/09 10:26 AM
Woolygal said...
Very professional sewing job. Congrats.
3/11/09 10:26 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a beautiful jacket! I love the colors in your plaid, classic and bright and cheerful. It's lovely and I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing this on crisp days!
3/11/09 10:30 AM
Rhoda K said...
What a gorgeous jacket and a great job matching the plaid! I love your colors as well as Pendleton wool. I had one of these jackets when I was in high school, a red plaid.
3/11/09 1:52 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Perfect Looking Jacket! and wonderful review. I was so lucky to find a vintage Pendelton at a shop (that fit perfect) but would like to make one as I see yours looks identical to mine! Great review and helpful tip on the sizing. I know the old patterns really run different.
3/11/09 2:15 PM
MamaSewing said...
What a fun project, I love how yours turned out--it looks great!
3/12/09 12:26 PM
bananaoil said...
I like your jacket. We're of the same vintage and this style appeals to me too. I keep trying to look at new jacket patterns, with peplums and ruffles, no pockets, bows, but this is the thing I've been looking for. Thanks.
3/13/09 7:24 AM
snowleopard said...
Thanks, found this review via google while prowling for 49'ers, and have purchased pattern, fabric, buttons. Can't wait to pursue this adventure in 49'ers, and have started the search for the perfect pattern to do pendleton hipstitched pleated plaid skirts. No more paying a premium for vintage Pendleton. Thanks for the inspiration!
5/28/09 7:59 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's brilliant! I love it. It's also inspired me to make something similar, using a nineties pattern for an LL Bean style jacket in a tartan wool in my stash.
8/28/09 0:34 AM
Mint Chocolate Chick said...
I'll definitely be looking for one of these patterns. I have an actual Pendleton jacket, and it's one of my favorites (but it's almost worn out!).
12/19/10 12:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 200747-1000
photo
Review by CatSari on 5/25/10
Read Review

McCalls 6547 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6547 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 59811-1008
photo
Review by Blooms on 1/27/09
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us