Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 575 (Sonya's Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 1060 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:Ody
photo
Friend of PR
About Odystar
MO USA
Member since: 12/6/03
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/09 0:59 AM
Last Updated:3/11/09 1:36 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Too funny!! " Ody, if you make THAT face for too long, your pretty face will stay like that!!" Excellent review!
3/11/09 1:53 AM
Annette Wright said...
What a cute shirt....sorry you had so many alterations to make, but it's really nice. But, Ody...the capris in the photo are to die for. Talk about fit, what pattern are they?
3/11/09 7:41 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Thanks so much for the review -- I'm really curious about this line of patterns, and you certainly got great results, but that's probably because of your talent as a sewer, rather than the pattern itself. Glad you made it work!
3/11/09 9:22 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Melody, what a super fantastic review. You are a better woman than I to stay with this pattern. I gave up on it after pinning my complete redraft of the pattern to my dress form. All your hard work on it paid off though. It's a great fitting flattering blouse. Make it a dozen more times in some beautiful fabrics. Smart move putting in the side vents. Now we can have lunch too.
3/11/09 9:40 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That is a wonderful looking set. I need some capris that fit like that also. I think I would just make this set again and again as it is perfection.
3/11/09 10:02 AM
JEF said...
Thank you for the review. I think your shirt looks great on. I have this pattern and it's on my short list. You may have just pushed it a little further down since I'm not skinny-binny :)
3/11/09 10:08 AM
mastdenman said...
I love the blouse and love what you did with the collar. Love your review.
3/11/09 10:11 AM
mhk3boys said...
You did a great job on this shirt and you got 'er done!
3/11/09 11:45 AM
cecelia said...
Ody, it is so nice to really see you, and the blouse looks terrific. Lots of changes, huh? Ugh, I have this pattern, and I'm plus. If I ever do make it though, I'll refer to your review--thanks for doing it. And I like rebellious--you go, girl.
3/11/09 11:59 AM
OP Gal said...
Great review, Ody. We've been warned! That blouse fits like a dream, though. Your hard work paid off. I think you should use the stick-out-the-tongue picture for your bio pix! : )
3/11/09 12:32 PM
tr1c14 said...
I agree, the work you put into getting that blouse just right really paid off. It's a fantastic outfit. Know what I want to see? I want to see you wear it with crazy bright-coloured shoes!
3/11/09 12:56 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I'll start off by saying, Ody, your rework totally ROCKS. Gorgeous shirt, and you'll have to make more to make it worth the effort. But just so know - read this blog post http://www.fashion-incubator.com/archive/pop_quiz_477/ and the subsequent follow up posts. You shouldn't have HAD to do that much work.
3/11/09 12:57 PM
Ody said...
Luckylibbet's comment was so on target about this pattern, that I wrote a comment, but I am editing this to put it into the review itself. Ody
3/11/09 1:27 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Ody, what a beautiful woman you are; how nice to finally see all of you (including your tongue)! And what a patient, persistent person you are; I think I would rolled this pattern into a spitball, very early in the alteration process. You have miraculously transformed this into a chic and flattering blouse. The color is smashing, too, enhancing your hair tones. Lovely, Lily
3/11/09 1:32 PM
1betsy1 said...
Beautiful blouse. I gave up on this pattern after 4 muslins. Yours looks great
3/11/09 1:39 PM
michellep74 said...
Your blouse turned out great, despite all of the headaches. Thanks for posting this review and reminding many of us to stay away from these patterns...unless we want to totally redraft them. ;)
3/11/09 1:46 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review, and all of your reworking of this pattern was SO worth it, because the end result is SUPER flattering on you. I'd by-gosh make it a hundred times more at this point! VERY nice, and I'm bookmarking your review "rat now." :o)
3/11/09 2:01 PM
RLL said...
Your review just confirms what I have found about Peggy's patterns on the plus size woman. She doesn't get it for us. I have tried more than one, including this one, and depending on my mood either give up or have to completely reinvent the patterns. Alterations I understand on our bodies, but you shouldn't have to redraft.
3/11/09 2:03 PM
Stephenie said...
Wow! This looks great, Melody!! No wonder you were having a "fit" with this...(pun intended ;) Kudos to you, for hanging in there and making a flattering, beautiful blouse.
3/11/09 2:37 PM
RLL said...
Ody, I have to jump in here again and appoligize to you. I got my hackles up immediately from the memories of working with this line of patterns and forgot to mention that you deserve the sewer of the year award for sticking with this and making it work for you. It looks great on you, good color and fit (now) and I think you are a really pretty lady. Again, I am sorry for the previous rant.
3/11/09 3:03 PM
Nancy K said...
Well, it came out very nicely, obviously no thanks to Peggy. It seems that very few designers think beyond the box for plus sizes. This reminds me of the Project Runway episode where they just could not design for plus sized women. I agree with Lily, I would have tossed this early in the fitting process. You need to make this again just to recoup all your fitting time! It is very flattering.
3/11/09 3:04 PM
bluenines said...
very nice shirt , and a great fit, it was worth all the extra work, love the color and the capris, thanks for a great review ya made me smile after a really long day at work Happy sewing
3/11/09 4:23 PM
FurGal said...
Ody, what a great review! Now that you have solved the problems with this pattern, how about selling it to the rest of us? haha!! Seriously though, I really do like the blouse and you did a wonderful job, looks RTW. Keep up the good work!
3/11/09 6:52 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your new shirt looks wonderful on you, Ody. Peggy Sagers should have hired you to draft it for her.
3/11/09 7:34 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a lovely top! It looks fantastic on you!
3/11/09 7:46 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your hard work paid off! Your ensemble looks great on you. BTW, you have beautiful skin!
3/11/09 8:52 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful blouse, your achieved great fit. And the colour of both capri and blouse is very good with your skin and hair color. You look great.
3/12/09 9:27 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ody, I am so ecstatic that I get to see you model your creation! You are a gorgeous doll! Love that bonus picture with that priceless expression! I enjoyed your very helpful review and what a stunning top! The cool fit and style beats RTW anyday!
3/14/09 6:47 PM
grey ann said...
I, too, made a muslin and abandoned the pattern, bec I wasn't ready to deal with all the modifications it needed. It swam on me, but now I've had more experience altering patterns, so inspired by your end result, I will go back and try again. You resemble me and your outfit looks great! I, to, would like the capri pants patterns - they fit perfectly.
5/2/09 1:34 PM
LaurieEm said...
Wow - this review, and the incubator blog, have really helped me. I'm plus sized, have never had a good Silhouette sewing experience, and thought it must be me. After all, I was using "one of the best patterns I would ever use." Now at least I will compare the larger size patterns with the skinny versions.
6/6/09 4:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 2475
photo
Review by JasperJ on 11/15/09
Read Review

Butterick 5415 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5415 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0179 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0179 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7760
photo
Review by becca a on 2/1/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us