SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-108 (Knit Top with Bateau Neckline)

44 more reviews
Viewed 436 times 
Reviewed by:QuiltSewSewSue
photo

 
 
About QuiltSewSewSuestarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 122
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:3/12/09 3:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marilyn N. said...
Both your tops look great & fit you well. I really appreciate your thorough review!
3/14/09 2:15 AM
Jane S said...
What nice tops. The boat neck makes it very chic and the mesh double layers worked out beautifully.
3/13/09 7:25 AM
Karen8320 said...
Nice work here, Sue, and both tops look great on you. Cutting two fronts and backs in the mesh is a great idea. I have no doubt you will be making many more variations of this pattern.
3/13/09 2:48 AM
kerrynw said...
Great tops. Great review!
3/13/09 2:31 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Both of your tops are beautiful and that style really looks good on you. It is really cool the way the print from the lining shows through, I never would have thought to try that, it is a great effect.
3/13/09 0:11 AM
sewhappygrams said...
Great looking tops. I do like the quarter sleeves as well. Great job!!
3/12/09 10:33 PM
Caitycat said...
The mesh top looks great - and maybe if we could get access to real stretch interfacing then using it in the way Burda suggests would work - otherwise it's just too stiff!!
3/12/09 10:09 PM
Christas said...
Very cute..... nice fabric choice!
3/12/09 10:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
This is such a sensational top on you, Sue! I foresee that this will be a favorite pattern of 2009!
3/12/09 9:29 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty tops, especially the mesh version.
3/12/09 6:40 PM
FurGal said...
What a smart idea of sewing 2 fronts and 2 backs, automatic neckline finish! Love your tops.
3/12/09 3:15 PM
nellc said...
Lovely tops, this is such a flattering neckline.
3/12/09 2:30 PM
j222b said...
I love boat necks, too. I like the way you lined front and back version 2 and the sleeves are left unlined-this looks nice and is interesting to view.
3/12/09 1:54 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous! Wonderful idea about doubling the mesh knit front and back pieces!
3/12/09 10:37 AM
sewtime said...
Love your top!!!
3/12/09 10:34 AM
Byrdie said...
Great looking top! You can make this one in a different colors and prints.
3/12/09 10:13 AM
marec said...
Very nice neckline on these tops-it suits you perfectly. I am going to "steal" your idea on eliminating facings in this style.
3/12/09 9:19 AM
wendlesue said...
Nice looking tops. I like your idea to eliminate the facing. I don't like them either, especially on knits. I just love that mesh fabric.
3/12/09 8:11 AM
morzel said...
Thanks for the info on the neckline interfacing. You got two great tops!
3/12/09 5:16 AM
SewPie said...
Great idea to sew the fronts and backs together. I have been thinking about doing this as I often find facings show through and just don't look that great. I'll try your way next time!
3/12/09 5:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 7799

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now