Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-108 (Knit Top with Bateau Neckline) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 436 times 45 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:QuiltSewSewSue
photo
About QuiltSewSewSuestarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 119
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:3/12/09 3:27 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewPie said...
Great idea to sew the fronts and backs together. I have been thinking about doing this as I often find facings show through and just don't look that great. I'll try your way next time!
3/12/09 5:12 AM
morzel said...
Thanks for the info on the neckline interfacing. You got two great tops!
3/12/09 5:16 AM
wendlesue said...
Nice looking tops. I like your idea to eliminate the facing. I don't like them either, especially on knits. I just love that mesh fabric.
3/12/09 8:11 AM
marec said...
Very nice neckline on these tops-it suits you perfectly. I am going to "steal" your idea on eliminating facings in this style.
3/12/09 9:19 AM
Byrdie said...
Great looking top! You can make this one in a different colors and prints.
3/12/09 10:13 AM
sewtime said...
Love your top!!!
3/12/09 10:34 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous! Wonderful idea about doubling the mesh knit front and back pieces!
3/12/09 10:37 AM
j222b said...
I love boat necks, too. I like the way you lined front and back version 2 and the sleeves are left unlined-this looks nice and is interesting to view.
3/12/09 1:54 PM
nellc said...
Lovely tops, this is such a flattering neckline.
3/12/09 2:30 PM
FurGal said...
What a smart idea of sewing 2 fronts and 2 backs, automatic neckline finish! Love your tops.
3/12/09 3:15 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty tops, especially the mesh version.
3/12/09 6:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
This is such a sensational top on you, Sue! I foresee that this will be a favorite pattern of 2009!
3/12/09 9:29 PM
Christas said...
Very cute..... nice fabric choice!
3/12/09 10:03 PM
Caitycat said...
The mesh top looks great - and maybe if we could get access to real stretch interfacing then using it in the way Burda suggests would work - otherwise it's just too stiff!!
3/12/09 10:09 PM
sewhappygrams said...
Great looking tops. I do like the quarter sleeves as well. Great job!!
3/12/09 10:33 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Both of your tops are beautiful and that style really looks good on you. It is really cool the way the print from the lining shows through, I never would have thought to try that, it is a great effect.
3/13/09 0:11 AM
kerrynw said...
Great tops. Great review!
3/13/09 2:31 AM
Karen8320 said...
Nice work here, Sue, and both tops look great on you. Cutting two fronts and backs in the mesh is a great idea. I have no doubt you will be making many more variations of this pattern.
3/13/09 2:48 AM
Jane S said...
What nice tops. The boat neck makes it very chic and the mesh double layers worked out beautifully.
3/13/09 7:25 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Both your tops look great & fit you well. I really appreciate your thorough review!
3/14/09 2:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1061
photo
Review by Sandi S on 12/5/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Sheer Black
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Baby 33
photo
Review by movac on 3/8/07
Read Review

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7320 Pattern
Burda 7320 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us