Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Mrs. Stylebook Magazine: #149 pg. 61 (Cropped Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 278 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Jali
photo
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/09 12:07 PM
Last Updated:3/21/09 10:50 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewcrazy53 said...
Nice jacket. Keep up the good work.
3/14/09 12:30 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty jacket.... love the fabric!
3/14/09 12:54 PM
Re Becca said...
I love the sleeves, and the double buttons are very stylish.
3/14/09 1:21 PM
Dee2 said...
Lovely jacket! You did a wonderful job & I hope you enjoy wearing it.
3/14/09 3:52 PM
Mahler said...
Wonderful Jacket. This is a perfect combination of fabric and pattern.
3/14/09 4:48 PM
poplin said...
Nice jacket! Thanks for the lovely details and pictures.
3/14/09 8:55 PM
Tany said...
Beautiful jacket and excellent review, thank you so much for all the details!
3/15/09 5:41 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You did a great job of this, and the results are fabulous. Thanks for the tip about the shoulder dart, since I have the same build :-)..
3/15/09 9:56 AM
ALY said...
I always enjoy seeing patterns form LSB sewn up. YOur jacket is lovely and the fabric is gorgeous. Is this the jacket on Page 61? The neckline/collar on the jacket in the picture looks a lot smaller than yours. Your jacket looks more like what I would have expected from the drafting diagrams.
3/15/09 2:35 PM
Jali said...
Yes, ALY this is the jacket in the blue suit (jacket/skirt) on page 61. From the pattern picture it looks fair enough to be worn on its own but with how it turned out for me it is more of something you had wear over a dress, turtleneck top or a shell almost along the lines of a capelet. I am wearing pants sitting at waist in the picture and the jacket falls slightly over the waistband of the pants. The collar looks wider in the picture too with the decorative beads at the edges. Mine looks narrower perhaps because of the thickness of two layers of brocade and not the lightness of a linen for example. I did not alter the diagram dimensions but worked with my own sloper with just a little ease. I assumed the finished product looked like the pattern photo but I also think it is difficult to say with the sitting position and the model's hands covering part of the outfit.
3/16/09 1:43 AM
Rosebeee said...
What a gorgeous color for you jacket! It really makes the jacket pop, and the jacket fits you very nicely!
3/21/09 11:22 AM
VtMartha said...
Beautiful jacket and a great review. My goal is to be able to sew a project from Stylebook - someday.
3/21/09 2:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Hi Jali! This is such a very attractive and beautifully crafted jacket! The neckline flatters you very nicely and seems like a pattern you could use again and again, so versatile! Thanks for the details!
3/21/09 2:41 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!! What a PRETTY jacket!! LOVE-LOVE-LOVE the fabric!! The jacket looks FANTASTIC!!
3/22/09 2:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-117
photo
Review by ladylola on 9/3/05
Read Review

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $15.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5520
photo
Review by atmomma on 12/18/07
Read Review

McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us