SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3181 (Jacket and dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2111 times 
Reviewed by:SouthernStitch
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SouthernStitchstarstarstar
LA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/03 9:54 AM
Last Updated:11/13/03 10:05 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Looking good MaryT ! Amazing that your backwards sleeve feels OK when you wear it, but no one will know but you. (Do you have to keep your jacket on?) Did you make this since you came home from PR weekend? If so, I'm amazed. I'm still trying to recover...
11/13/03 10:03 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I sewed this before and wore it out the Friday night of PR weekend. I'm still recovering too. Have to keep the jacket on if I'm wearing a sloppy shell underneath, but I don't mind, cause it is comfy and cool.
11/13/03 10:07 AM
Lou. said...
Georgene Mary was wearing this jacket at the restaurant! Mary, non of us noticed the backward sleeve :-)
11/13/03 10:09 AM
Deepika said...
Mary!!! wow... you achieved your goal. I remember you said on the pj party that you wanted to review a pattern which nobody has reviewed it before. I loved this jacket and whole outfit looked fabulous on you. The points on the jacket are really really sharp! And that's brussels skirt right? Now I want that pattern too!
11/13/03 10:21 AM
MaryBeth said...
MaryT: This looked so good on you. The pattern in the jacket prevents the eye from seeing any irregularities. One possible suggestion: next time make the skirt a bit shorter like hte picture on the pattern (I should talk, my stuff was just slapped together mostly the night before I left) but it makes us short folks look taller when the skirt hem is nearer the knee. But then there's always the question of what shoes.....
11/13/03 10:25 AM
Mini said...
Mary, have you tried the "wrapped corner" technique. (I learned this years ago from Nancy Zieman's Busy Woman's Sewing Book". ) It makes a really crisp corner on everything, especially nice for collar points. Re the formard shoulder: the newer KS patterns seem to b drafted differently than the older ones. Anyone making the newer fall and winter 2003 patterns should be sure to check this before cutting out. This is a cute, versatile jacket-reminds me a little of the Javanese "kebaya" blouses that are worn with a sarong.
11/13/03 10:29 AM
Teri said...
Mary, I love your jacket. How lucky for you that the backward sleeve doesn't bug you. The style looks great on you!
11/13/03 10:47 AM
Peggy L said...
Sharp outfit!! I love the Brussels, too.
11/13/03 11:00 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Just beautiful, Mary! Backward sleeve, what backward sleeve? :-)
11/13/03 11:02 AM
AnneM said...
Hey, I saw the NY pictures and said "Wow, love that jacket Mary T is wearing." I thought you had mentioned making the clothes you brought, so I wondered which pattern. Very nice. Unique look while not being super trendy.
11/13/03 11:25 AM
Dale C said...
Can't tell the sleeves are backwards... looks stylish Mary.
11/13/03 11:49 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
This looks so flattering on you!
11/13/03 11:56 AM
Sammie said...
Your jacket is lovely, the fit is so flattering. Can't wait to make it for me!
11/13/03 1:56 PM
gabrielle said...
MaryT, that jacket looks great and I had completely passed that pattern by. It's nice to see it made up and looking sharp, and I can't wait to see it in your brocade.
11/13/03 2:12 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks everyone for such nice comments! I am sooo sold on KS since sewing this pattern. They do wovens just as great as knit patterns!
11/13/03 2:59 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Mary, I remember you saying you wanted to make this for PR weekend, and I thought I spotted it in the pix! Great job. And hey, if the sleeve doesn't bother you, who else would notice? Lovely!
11/13/03 3:45 PM
LittleShell said...
Mary, I loved this jacket when I saw it on Friday. I meant to try it on, but totally forgot. (Maybe I was tired that night? Duh.) Do you think I could wear this--with a smaller print or a tone on tone solid? I think it might work on me if the fabric drapes enough.
11/13/03 5:17 PM
oldsewandsew said...
Very Helpful review, and very good looking Jacket. Sounds like you and I have some similar problems to cope with, so I really appreciated your comments. Looks great Mary!
11/18/03 9:11 AM
lacidazy said...
Great review....gave me tips to look for that I appreciate.
3/13/08 12:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 177593-1002

photo
by: montanachi...

Review
Decades of Style 5002

photo
by: grafikat

Review
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now