Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3181 (Jacket and dress) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 2100 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:SouthernStitch
photo
Friend of PR
About SouthernStitchstarstarstar
LA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/03 9:54 AM
Last Updated:11/13/03 10:05 AM


Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Looking good MaryT ! Amazing that your backwards sleeve feels OK when you wear it, but no one will know but you. (Do you have to keep your jacket on?) Did you make this since you came home from PR weekend? If so, I'm amazed. I'm still trying to recover...
11/13/03 10:03 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I sewed this before and wore it out the Friday night of PR weekend. I'm still recovering too. Have to keep the jacket on if I'm wearing a sloppy shell underneath, but I don't mind, cause it is comfy and cool.
11/13/03 10:07 AM
Lou. said...
Georgene Mary was wearing this jacket at the restaurant! Mary, non of us noticed the backward sleeve :-)
11/13/03 10:09 AM
Deepika said...
Mary!!! wow... you achieved your goal. I remember you said on the pj party that you wanted to review a pattern which nobody has reviewed it before. I loved this jacket and whole outfit looked fabulous on you. The points on the jacket are really really sharp! And that's brussels skirt right? Now I want that pattern too!
11/13/03 10:21 AM
MaryBeth said...
MaryT: This looked so good on you. The pattern in the jacket prevents the eye from seeing any irregularities. One possible suggestion: next time make the skirt a bit shorter like hte picture on the pattern (I should talk, my stuff was just slapped together mostly the night before I left) but it makes us short folks look taller when the skirt hem is nearer the knee. But then there's always the question of what shoes.....
11/13/03 10:25 AM
Mini said...
Mary, have you tried the "wrapped corner" technique. (I learned this years ago from Nancy Zieman's Busy Woman's Sewing Book". ) It makes a really crisp corner on everything, especially nice for collar points. Re the formard shoulder: the newer KS patterns seem to b drafted differently than the older ones. Anyone making the newer fall and winter 2003 patterns should be sure to check this before cutting out. This is a cute, versatile jacket-reminds me a little of the Javanese "kebaya" blouses that are worn with a sarong.
11/13/03 10:29 AM
Teri said...
Mary, I love your jacket. How lucky for you that the backward sleeve doesn't bug you. The style looks great on you!
11/13/03 10:47 AM
Peggy L said...
Sharp outfit!! I love the Brussels, too.
11/13/03 11:00 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Just beautiful, Mary! Backward sleeve, what backward sleeve? :-)
11/13/03 11:02 AM
AnneM said...
Hey, I saw the NY pictures and said "Wow, love that jacket Mary T is wearing." I thought you had mentioned making the clothes you brought, so I wondered which pattern. Very nice. Unique look while not being super trendy.
11/13/03 11:25 AM
Dale C said...
Can't tell the sleeves are backwards... looks stylish Mary.
11/13/03 11:49 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
This looks so flattering on you!
11/13/03 11:56 AM
Sammie said...
Your jacket is lovely, the fit is so flattering. Can't wait to make it for me!
11/13/03 1:56 PM
gabrielle said...
MaryT, that jacket looks great and I had completely passed that pattern by. It's nice to see it made up and looking sharp, and I can't wait to see it in your brocade.
11/13/03 2:12 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks everyone for such nice comments! I am sooo sold on KS since sewing this pattern. They do wovens just as great as knit patterns!
11/13/03 2:59 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Mary, I remember you saying you wanted to make this for PR weekend, and I thought I spotted it in the pix! Great job. And hey, if the sleeve doesn't bother you, who else would notice? Lovely!
11/13/03 3:45 PM
LittleShell said...
Mary, I loved this jacket when I saw it on Friday. I meant to try it on, but totally forgot. (Maybe I was tired that night? Duh.) Do you think I could wear this--with a smaller print or a tone on tone solid? I think it might work on me if the fabric drapes enough.
11/13/03 5:17 PM
oldsewandsew said...
Very Helpful review, and very good looking Jacket. Sounds like you and I have some similar problems to cope with, so I really appreciated your comments. Looks great Mary!
11/18/03 9:11 AM
lacidazy said...
Great review....gave me tips to look for that I appreciate.
3/13/08 12:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 3242 OOP
photo
Review by MaryDB on 3/10/09
Read Review

Burda 7155 Pattern
Burda 7155 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3134
photo
Review by GailV on 8/10/12
Read Review

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us