SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1052 (MISSES' JACKET AND PANTS)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1046 times 
Reviewed by:Wagtail
photo

 
 
About Wagtailstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/15/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/09 5:19 AM
Last Updated:3/15/09 10:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tany said...
I've made the pants last year and I plan on maing this jacket for spring. Yours turned out fantastic!
3/15/09 5:43 AM
inkstain said...
Very impressive. This looks like a true designer item and you look very sharp!
3/15/09 5:52 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful jacket. I made mine of handkerchief linen and just love it. I have changed the back belt by cutting it shorter and sewing two buttons on top. I like this better than the ties.
3/15/09 6:26 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
So very helpful a review, you are sending me to the pattern store... I have wondered about this blouse since it hit the books. Your jacket/blouse looks fabulous, take a bow, BRAVO!
3/15/09 7:37 AM
Michelle L said...
Fantastic job! It looks great worn both closed or open. I really love the look of this jacket.
3/15/09 8:09 AM
solosmocker said...
This turned out looking very expensive, very attractive, and very wearable without being "Issey" weird. You mastered it beautifully and tempt me to try it.
3/15/09 9:01 AM
Ach said...
WOW! That looks just like the jacket worn by Barbara Walters on The View! Beautiful
3/15/09 9:38 AM
okie2thdoc said...
You did a great job. It looks fantastic.
3/15/09 9:44 AM
Byrdie said...
That is a great looking jacket! Very unique.
3/15/09 10:03 AM
amy in mpls said...
SUPER chic! Wow, great job, this looks fantastic on you, like it was made for you–( well i guess it was! :) great job!
3/15/09 10:38 AM
Mahler said...
Your version of that jacket is wonderful. I have the pattern as well. Your review is very inspiring. You look gorgeous in that jacket. You did an excellent work placing the buttons and button holes.
3/15/09 11:01 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Beautifully done, thanks for sharing the pics!
3/15/09 11:31 AM
Beek said...
Very avant garde! Your jacket is stunning and you've done a magnificient job sewing it up.
3/15/09 2:25 PM
Nancy K said...
Love it! Unusual, yet timeless. great jacket.
3/15/09 3:40 PM
layla said...
This is so cute on you .. love your fabric choice ... a great understated choice for this beautiful dramatic style ... nice !!
3/15/09 3:43 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This jacket is fabulous and looks great on you! I have this pattern and will one day work up the courage to try it. You give me inspiration! Can you tell me how you finished the edges on the collar? Is it serged with a rolled hem?
3/15/09 4:02 PM
Ann Smith said...
I love it buttoned up on you. It really looks wonderful. I chickened out on mine and left off the pockets.
3/15/09 4:47 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's fabulous. Well done. It works well with jeans, too.
3/15/09 5:00 PM
lmg said...
Wow. A great looking designer jacket. You've given me even more encouragement to tackle this jacket.
3/15/09 6:17 PM
Wagtail said...
In answer to imsewcrazy, I have added a paragraph to my review re. the collar. As this is my first ever posting, it took quite some time to do and somehow I didn't have the paragraph in the brackets. Hope this answers your question. Thanks for all your lovely comments
3/15/09 10:40 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Looks fabulous from the front, back, opened, or closed. Excellent job on this. Gorgeous fabric color and finish, too (looks like a slight sheen, maybe?).
3/15/09 11:24 PM
Karen8320 said...
An absolutely fabulous piece of work! I love it on you. The colour is great and will be very versatile. It definitely looks like a designer piece and I love your observation about this particular style - normal but different. Very! Great work!
3/16/09 0:21 AM
Phasionz by M said...
Too cute! I have this pattern and after seeing yours...I HAVE to make it! Thanks for sharing! Great job!
3/16/09 0:32 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Just echoing others: this top looks fantastic on you. Would be interested in knowing what type of fabric you used: it seems to be a perfect weight. Thanks for tips on sewing, especially the serger info.
3/16/09 8:55 AM
DorothyK said...
This is fantastic. I'm glad to see your review because it inspires me to make the pattern, which I already own.
3/16/09 10:30 AM
janet said...
What a lovely jacket. You look fabulous in it. Love the rolled hem finish on the collar.
3/16/09 11:43 AM
cgHipp said...
This looks wonderful! I bought this pattern for the pants, hoping to make the jacket when I'm more skilled. Great work!
3/16/09 6:57 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Thank you Wagtail Again, GREAT job!
3/16/09 10:43 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is gorgeous couture. so really beautiful.
3/17/09 1:12 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I have been thinking about whether I should get this pattern or not, and after seeing yours, I have decided to get it! Great to see it goes with denim very well and I may even want to crop my hair just because you and your hair style look great in it.
3/19/09 8:38 AM
Lalena said...
Wagtail, I echo all the other comments about how beautiful your jacket is! Can you make some comments on what kinds of fabrics you would and would not recommend for this jacket? Your fabric appears to have body, and thus the collar hangs in a crisp way. Do you think a softer fabric would work, or would it be too droopy for the collar?
3/19/09 9:35 AM
Wagtail said...
Lalena, Thank you and everyone, for your lovely comments. Re. the fabric, it's hard to describe. Its a cotton/synthetic, with a built in very tiny weave which form squares, and every alternate square is shiny. The cotton content would give it its slight crispness, which I think is necessary if you want the collar to sit like the picture on the photo. A softer fabric would be more drapey, and the bit around the neck would lie flatter. After wearing the jacket, I now realise I should have corded the buttonholes, as there is no interfacing, due to the two layers which are not joined.
4/12/09 3:17 AM
papago said...
Wagtail, this is just lovely on you! You did a fantastic job. Like many others have said, I, too, have this pattern. You are an inspiration. Thank you, Laura
4/12/09 4:26 PM
bettysparkles said...
I've been looking forward to seeing a review on this one as I have been tempted to buy it numerous times. Your treatment of the lapels is a clever idea.
6/11/09 7:24 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
very beautiful jacket
10/4/09 10:09 AM
knitknitknit said...
Absolutely stunning!!!!
8/17/10 7:46 PM
Gendun said...
NIIIIICE! Seriously, it's perfect! Congratulations on a beautiful garment!
3/13/13 10:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Violette Field Threads Vivienne -Skirt

photo
by: ConnieBJ

Review