SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1258 (Issey Miyake Skirt OOP)

4 more reviews
Viewed 394 times 
Reviewed by:lizpalmer
photo

 
 
About lizpalmerstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/16/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/09 1:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jintie said... (3/19/09 7:26 AM) Reply
I agree with Moushka - keep the top small and close fitting - see the current Vogue pattern books for how a small top balances full skirts, shoes to wear etc.
moushka said... (3/15/09 8:13 PM) Reply
Your skirt looks very elegant to me. I think stsimon has a great idea about the pockets if they are bothering you. Miyake is always interesting and your fabric looks perfect. Keep your top sleek and I think you'll find you will get a lot of compliments. Sue
Athene said... (3/15/09 3:12 PM) Reply
A very interesting design which you are able to carry off very nicely - lucky you. I am aways intrigued by Mikayke patterns.
stsimon said... (3/15/09 1:59 PM) Reply
Bulk certainly can be a problem with Miyake patterns. I made a Miyake cape out of Irish tweed, and I looked like a walking haystack in it; on a NYC street, I saw a tall, willowy women wearing the same thing made out of a light raincoat fabric that looked great. Years ago, I suffered over welt pockets in a skirt for my daughter--they didn't add much to the skirt, and the bulk over the hips was annoying. If I were you, I'd slipstitch the welts closed and cut off the pockets.
Catbird said... (3/15/09 1:40 PM) Reply
This is so interesting. I like the way it looks on you (luckily you're slim and can carry off the volume perfectly). I'm a Miyake fan and just finished a coat of his that I'm hesitant to review because it's so odd. It is an adventure with an unpredictable ending when you dive into a Miyake design! I think it would be amazing in black crepe. By the way, I don't think your photo is showing up in the Review Gallery, so you might miss out on some viewers.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Simplicity 2460

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review
HotPatterns Fringe Festival Knit Top

photo
by: quitereaso...

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Pattern Details