SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1258 (Issey Miyake Skirt OOP)

4 more reviews
Viewed 393 times 
Reviewed by:lizpalmer
photo

 
 
About lizpalmerstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/16/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/09 1:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catbird said...
This is so interesting. I like the way it looks on you (luckily you're slim and can carry off the volume perfectly). I'm a Miyake fan and just finished a coat of his that I'm hesitant to review because it's so odd. It is an adventure with an unpredictable ending when you dive into a Miyake design! I think it would be amazing in black crepe. By the way, I don't think your photo is showing up in the Review Gallery, so you might miss out on some viewers.
3/15/09 1:40 PM
stsimon said...
Bulk certainly can be a problem with Miyake patterns. I made a Miyake cape out of Irish tweed, and I looked like a walking haystack in it; on a NYC street, I saw a tall, willowy women wearing the same thing made out of a light raincoat fabric that looked great. Years ago, I suffered over welt pockets in a skirt for my daughter--they didn't add much to the skirt, and the bulk over the hips was annoying. If I were you, I'd slipstitch the welts closed and cut off the pockets.
3/15/09 1:59 PM
Athene said...
A very interesting design which you are able to carry off very nicely - lucky you. I am aways intrigued by Mikayke patterns.
3/15/09 3:12 PM
moushka said...
Your skirt looks very elegant to me. I think stsimon has a great idea about the pockets if they are bothering you. Miyake is always interesting and your fabric looks perfect. Keep your top sleek and I think you'll find you will get a lot of compliments. Sue
3/15/09 8:13 PM
jintie said...
I agree with Moushka - keep the top small and close fitting - see the current Vogue pattern books for how a small top balances full skirts, shoes to wear etc.
3/19/09 7:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Other Spice of Life

photo
by: Sharonspil...

Review
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1127

photo
by: Sewtox

Review