SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1258 (Issey Miyake Skirt OOP)

4 more reviews
Viewed 394 times 
Reviewed by:lizpalmer
photo

 
 
About lizpalmerstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/16/07
Reviews: 15 (patterns: 15)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/09 1:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jintie said... (3/19/09 7:26 AM) Reply
I agree with Moushka - keep the top small and close fitting - see the current Vogue pattern books for how a small top balances full skirts, shoes to wear etc.
moushka said... (3/15/09 8:13 PM) Reply
Your skirt looks very elegant to me. I think stsimon has a great idea about the pockets if they are bothering you. Miyake is always interesting and your fabric looks perfect. Keep your top sleek and I think you'll find you will get a lot of compliments. Sue
Athene said... (3/15/09 3:12 PM) Reply
A very interesting design which you are able to carry off very nicely - lucky you. I am aways intrigued by Mikayke patterns.
stsimon said... (3/15/09 1:59 PM) Reply
Bulk certainly can be a problem with Miyake patterns. I made a Miyake cape out of Irish tweed, and I looked like a walking haystack in it; on a NYC street, I saw a tall, willowy women wearing the same thing made out of a light raincoat fabric that looked great. Years ago, I suffered over welt pockets in a skirt for my daughter--they didn't add much to the skirt, and the bulk over the hips was annoying. If I were you, I'd slipstitch the welts closed and cut off the pockets.
Catbird said... (3/15/09 1:40 PM) Reply
This is so interesting. I like the way it looks on you (luckily you're slim and can carry off the volume perfectly). I'm a Miyake fan and just finished a coat of his that I'm hesitant to review because it's so odd. It is an adventure with an unpredictable ending when you dive into a Miyake design! I think it would be amazing in black crepe. By the way, I don't think your photo is showing up in the Review Gallery, so you might miss out on some viewers.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

La Mia Boutique Taglie Forti 09-2012-109

photo
by: wsm2408

Review
Mimi G Maxi Dress

photo
by: Ysenia

Review
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Pattern Details