Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1258 (Issey Miyake Skirt OOP) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 392 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:lizpalmer
photo
About lizpalmerstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/16/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/09 1:19 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catbird said...
This is so interesting. I like the way it looks on you (luckily you're slim and can carry off the volume perfectly). I'm a Miyake fan and just finished a coat of his that I'm hesitant to review because it's so odd. It is an adventure with an unpredictable ending when you dive into a Miyake design! I think it would be amazing in black crepe. By the way, I don't think your photo is showing up in the Review Gallery, so you might miss out on some viewers.
3/15/09 1:40 PM
stsimon said...
Bulk certainly can be a problem with Miyake patterns. I made a Miyake cape out of Irish tweed, and I looked like a walking haystack in it; on a NYC street, I saw a tall, willowy women wearing the same thing made out of a light raincoat fabric that looked great. Years ago, I suffered over welt pockets in a skirt for my daughter--they didn't add much to the skirt, and the bulk over the hips was annoying. If I were you, I'd slipstitch the welts closed and cut off the pockets.
3/15/09 1:59 PM
Athene said...
A very interesting design which you are able to carry off very nicely - lucky you. I am aways intrigued by Mikayke patterns.
3/15/09 3:12 PM
moushka said...
Your skirt looks very elegant to me. I think stsimon has a great idea about the pockets if they are bothering you. Miyake is always interesting and your fabric looks perfect. Keep your top sleek and I think you'll find you will get a lot of compliments. Sue
3/15/09 8:13 PM
jintie said...
I agree with Moushka - keep the top small and close fitting - see the current Vogue pattern books for how a small top balances full skirts, shoes to wear etc.
3/19/09 7:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 5472
photo
Review by PittyPat on 12/1/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 2002 Sewing for Beginners Wrap Skirt
photo
Review by celeste on 5/29/06
Read Review

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8517 Pattern
Burda 8517 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6741 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6741 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us