SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5184 (Prom Gown)

1 more reviews
Viewed 731 times 
Reviewed by:CA Eisenhour
photo

 
 
About CA Eisenhourstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/22/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 1:17 AM
Last Updated:6/8/09 2:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLynn said...
LOVE the finished dress, gorgeous color. Beautiful workmanship.
2/20/13 11:39 AM
MFontaine said...
thank you SO MUCH for the revision on the pattern. i was just starting when i realized the same mistake on my instruction and felt very frustrated. Im making the dress for my own prom and am really hoping i can figure this out. but thsi helped lots. thanks. =) as a question for you, did you try the dress without the optional sleeves? was it able to stay up without being to heavy? and im going to try to put a corset back on it.. as a not advanced sewer do you think it will be possible for me to do that? thank you! -Mel
3/5/10 3:27 PM
MFontaine said...
thank you SO MUCH for the revision on the pattern. i was just starting when i realized the same mistake on my instruction and felt very frustrated. Im making the dress for my own prom and am really hoping i can figure this out. but thsi helped lots. thanks. =) as a question for you, did you try the dress without the optional sleeves? was it able to stay up without being to heavy? and im going to try to put a corset back on it.. as a not advanced sewer do you think it will be possible for me to do that? thank you! -Mel
3/5/10 12:51 PM
saramiriam said...
ConnieAnne, how difficult was the drapery effect? I want to put it on a mid-calf jumper for my daughter for a wedding. Does it need to be full length?
8/10/09 1:55 PM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous!!!!!!!!
6/9/09 8:05 PM
RLL said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful girl! Nice job.
6/8/09 4:55 PM
SheriF said...
Gorgeous!
6/8/09 4:37 PM
kim*brown said...
Very pretty!
6/8/09 3:33 PM
maryfrana said...
This is just stunning -- the color, the draping. Such a work of art.
6/8/09 3:00 PM
rozzybabe said...
The dress looks really great! The fit is excellent, & I LOVE the rich blue colour. It's good that you took the time to contact the company regarding the error in the instructions, & also great that they replied promptly. I'll be stashing this pattern, so many thanks for the valuable info! Keep up the great sewing!!
6/8/09 2:24 PM
annie11 said...
Beautiful! You did such a great job, and she looks gorgeous in it! Thanks for the tip about the revised instructions. I have bought this pattern for the possibility of making a wedding dress from it someday, so knowing that ahead of time is a real plus.
6/8/09 10:21 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely lovely - wonderful work - Saea is stunning
6/8/09 9:32 AM
KathySews said...
This dress is beautiful. You were very brave to take on an emotional dress. It looks very expensive. You do realize you did such a great job you will not doubt be on the hook for wedding dresses.
6/8/09 9:11 AM
Yvonski said...
Wow, you said you were not good at writing reviews but that was compelling reading. Loved all the photos, loved the stretch limo, would love to know what was behind, the photo 'where were we meant to be'. Congratulations, you did your daughter proud. Well done.
6/8/09 4:50 AM
Ann Smith said...
Fantastic! Sara shines! I love the blue on her and the draped skirt is delightful. Congratulations on a job well done.
6/8/09 1:56 AM
callmeRuth said...
Connie, the dress is stunningly beautiful! Sera looks gorgeous!
6/8/09 1:35 AM
Deepika said...
Its going to be gorgeous. Thanks for posting the pattern instruction revisions.
3/16/09 9:12 AM
sewcrazy53 said...
Making prom dresses has its problems. I have made one for each of my two DDs. Good luck!!
3/15/09 9:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Burda 7252

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now