SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> Men's Bikini or Swimsuit (Men's Bikini or Swimsuit)

Viewed 2493 times 
Reviewed by:BrianSews
photo

 
 
About BrianSewsstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 2/16/08
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/09 1:30 PM
Last Updated:3/17/09 7:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bertiebaggio said...
WOW! Any chance of a PDF version for download?
8/5/10 3:45 AM
frankjath said...
I can't figure out how to download the pattern. Would really love to make this. There aren't a lot of men's bikini swimsuit patterns out there.
12/18/09 0:32 AM
frankjath said...
I can't figure out how to download the pattern. Would really love to make this. There aren't a lot of men's bikini swimsuit patterns out there.
12/18/09 0:24 AM
Jotham Bailey said...
Great looking suit (s) shown in the portfolio... amazing sewing, drafting and fabric selection!
7/10/09 4:44 PM
MarionP said...
Nicely done!
4/10/09 5:33 PM
Nancy K said...
These are amazing.
3/27/09 8:48 AM
stillgonnashine said...
This is so great! Is there a printable pattern or tutorial that goes along with this? This is exactly what my boyfriend has been looking for!
3/23/09 1:18 PM
Aless said...
I'd love to see more reviews of other garments you've made.My DH is also tall and slim,and a good fit is crucial!
3/21/09 3:08 AM
ggexpansive said...
good job!!! However i will ask for you to just lay them out TMI man TMI all the way.
3/21/09 0:10 AM
halleyscomet said...
I just showed my DH your review and told him I could try and start making him some undies and post the review on the forum. He just told me "I don't think so, scooter!"
3/19/09 5:42 PM
Reeseballs said...
Thank you, Pyrose. I agree totally - but then again I wasn't offended by Rocketboy's pictures. I think it's fantastic that he is sewing and putting his knowledge out for us to use! Thank you for the review and the blatant honesty!
3/18/09 7:26 PM
kittoness said...
RocketBoy, I too have been making swimsuits for years. Something I'm starting to explore is using small tubes of contrasting lycra instead of elastic. It adds a bit more "wow" as well as support where needed. Oh and BTW to avoid the "angle" issue in photos try shooting from farther away and face more towards the camera. More like in some underwear adds. Love the patterns! Makes me in the mood to go shopping...
3/18/09 7:19 PM
pinkli said...
Great review and sewing Rocketboy. I love how many views it has had - I for one think it's great to have another guy on the site. Your idea about cup sizes so much sense too - good thinking.
3/18/09 3:09 PM
SewLil said...
I disagree with the last 3 comments. I would love to see how underwear Really fit after they're made up. Seeing them flat doesn't work for me at all. I've tried to photoshop my pictures to try and show them bc I knew people here would be offended. But I'm not that good at using the software. Anyway, I found no offense. I'm certain his intent was not to get our panties all in a bunch LOL but to provide informative information.
3/18/09 1:51 PM
amy in mpls said...
Not only am I impressed with your techniques and creativity Rocketboy, I am equally impressed with the all the readers witty and encouraging comments. You ladies crack me up! I don't feel these posts are at all suggestive or inappropriate. The focus is obviously on style, construction and helping other achieve success. Which is what I love about sharing projects on this website. There are a few pun-ny things I would love to add, but I'll just stick with this– keep it up RBoy!
3/18/09 1:49 PM
cindyann said...
Great review!
3/18/09 10:17 AM
clearlysewcrazy said...
Rocketboy, I need to find heavy black spandex for my daughters running clothes. What weight is considered heavy? I have access to nothing around here so like you I shop online but most don't list the weight of the fabric. She wants thick fabric similar to the UnderArmor (I think I spelled that wrong and I don't know how to do a trademark sign on my computer). I have looked at the swimsuit fabric at Joann's and when you stretch it you can see through it.
3/18/09 10:12 AM
Elke said...
Love these swimsuits...you are both talented and inspiring. Keep up the good work and am looking forward to your next review!
3/18/09 7:37 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Bookcover as lycra source is an inspiration... Fabric is EVERYWHERE! Thanks for the am heart-start. I'm loving your outrageous prints, combinations etc. PR may never be the same. Patrick -- ditto above, please post!
3/18/09 6:38 AM
SewLil said...
Love all the swimsuits you've made. I got to see the pictures that you edited out of your album and saw them for what they were (educational tools) and scrutinized how precisely you matched up the seams of the front and back pieces. Fantastic stuff. I look forward to more reviews from you. Thanks for the tip as well. I used it tonight and looks like it's going to work out well in my girls' leotards.
3/18/09 0:20 AM
Tailypo said...
I love your 4-Wheelin' fabric -- priceless!!! I've admired all three of your reviews and hope to read more.
3/17/09 11:51 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow, you are going to beat a record for most viewed review. (839, last time I checked) Come on, some people must be looking more than once! I think you are on to something here, Rocketboy. Oh, the swimsuits are great too.
3/17/09 10:21 PM
Kellie R. said...
Swimsuit?... Oh! Yes, swimsuits! You found some great fabrics and did a great job sewing and fitting. I particularly like the Beetle Bailey version, although I couldn't concentrate when trying to read the comic! :p I look forward to more reviews!
3/17/09 8:50 PM
BrianSews said...
I just wrote up a tip on how to achieve perfect leg elastic in the tips area. I've never seen this technique before so I'm going to take credit for discovering it! Thanks again for all your great support. I really like it here!
3/17/09 7:51 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I'm going to have to agree with kkkkaty, reluctantly, that you've really breathed some new life into this forum!! I love love love your undies!
3/17/09 7:32 PM
kathleen1304 said...
I love the blue/purple ones. Good design!
3/17/09 7:00 PM
Elona said...
The subtle contouring of the pattern you've developed really is wonderful.
3/17/09 6:38 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Great review- what a surprise to see the photos. You're doing a great job- I'm going to go fan myself...
3/17/09 6:18 PM
BrianSews said...
I've edited this review to include the link again to the photo album. There was some concern in regards to a few of the photos showing the construction techniques and how this pattern solves the problem of squatting and bending over. If you'd like to see those photos I can send them to you. -Arline, Yes you are right about the slight umm.. angle. If I was having a pair of pants tailored I would be asked how I wear my pants and I would say to the left. I don't know about how to accommodate for that in a swimsuit. Maybe that sheds more light on men's fitting then you were expecting! I get my lycra from all kinds of places. Ebay, Walmart, Joann and Hancock. I'm a sucker for lycra and I have a nice collection that you can see in my picasa album. 1 yard makes many bikinis so sometimes I only buy 1/2 yard. I like to find it on sale and a good price is around $5 a yard. The cartoon print was actually printed to be spandex book covers with instructions and such right on the fabric. I'm glad you're all getting some inspiration! I'm having a lot of fun posting things and you're encouraging me as much as I seem to be encouraging you!
3/17/09 6:04 PM
kim*brown said...
You go boy! I agree with you on the cup thing. You are too funny though. I would like to see a bigger pic, but maybe you're modest. LOL. Keep up the great work!
3/17/09 9:16 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Great design! Don't you love it when you can make something for a song that costs a ridiculous amount of $$ when you buy it. Great review. I never really think about men's fitting issues.
3/17/09 0:08 AM
MaryDB said...
Very creative, and a wonderful construction job. Now, hand me my fan and some smelling salts, lol.
3/16/09 11:40 PM
Karen8320 said...
RocketBoy, impressive work yet again! I really admire your thinking in attempting to overcome fitting issues. You are getting things to work for you in a design sense as well as making sure that your garments look good. Your sewing is fabulous, your writing style is really great and you are providing a great deal of inspiration and motivation for the rest of us. Please keep your reviews coming!
3/16/09 11:10 PM
kkkkaty said...
sorry double post
3/16/09 10:34 PM
kkkkaty said...
Rocketboy, I hate to admit this, but I was perhaps getting a little bored reading pattern reviews. Not any more! thx for providing a lift (so to speak) and some fun.... and a note to PatrickS, please do post your reviews, this is a great and tremendously supportive community for all sewers and sewists, you'll find an eager and appreciate audience here....
3/16/09 10:31 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Like the original pattern you developed. Curved rear seam - hmm......, and no side seam, hmm..... Food for thought! Thanks for all the info.
3/16/09 9:33 PM
Mahler said...
This is great. I have a big swimmer at home. No way you swim 5 kilometres with boxer shorts type of batting suit ! I will give it a try. Thank you for the tips... And the cartoon fabric is just to much .. I have to find this for my self. Where did you buy it ?
3/16/09 9:29 PM
Arline said...
Gawd, Rocketboy - I just hope you NEVER demo a jock strap!!! I don't think I could take it. Is it my monitor, or is the center seam in the lower front sewn several times on various suits at a slight angle to the right? You might want to check that, but it could be just the way it was positioned each time. Nice looking suits, no question about that.
3/16/09 8:58 PM
PatrickS said...
These look absolutely fabulous. Keep up the good work--I may even be inspired to review some of the clothing and costumes I have made with patterns over the years. :)
3/16/09 8:56 PM
Kay Y said...
Have you looked at http://www.patternschool.com/? They also do a curved CB seam in a swimsuit bottom for women, but not, I notice, for men. Your pattern is intriguing, for sure!
3/16/09 7:40 PM
brrmm said...
I too make my own swimwear and I'm luvin those patterned lycras you're using !! Where are you getting your lycra from???? Here is Oz we are starved of any choice.
3/16/09 7:20 PM
cgHipp said...
These look great and I love the fun fabrics you've used.
3/16/09 6:54 PM
mendospot said...
Unfortunately I can't seem to zoom in on this one but it looks great from afar! I'm really thinking of sewing undies for my DH now.
3/16/09 6:41 PM
FreyaStark said...
Your persistence, skill and creativity are all very impressive.
3/16/09 6:34 PM
Sewliz said...
Brilliant! The separate cup allows the suit to stay close to the body elsewhere. Once upon a time I made (women's) leotards, tights, and more than a few bathing suits as a business. Funny isn't it how takes quite a bit of work to get to an excellent pattern for something that looks so absurdly small and simple. And yay for custom cup sizes for men and women both!
3/16/09 4:21 PM
Byrdie said...
RocketBoy... slow down, this is way too much to handle in one day:) These look great:)
3/16/09 3:57 PM
EastwoodFan said...
Your reviews are informative and entertaining. I could see you on Project Runway. By the way, I love the Beetle Bailey fabric. Happy swimming and sewing.
3/16/09 3:55 PM
Jan Flaherty said...
I think you're inspired. Three reviews in one day! Bravo. The subject matter, the perfect sewing, and gorgeous models all add up to entertaining and informative reviews. I hope your willing to share more of your sewing tips. I am anxiously awaiting your next review.
3/16/09 3:40 PM
j222b said...
Curved seat seam is great idea. Gorgeous bikinis!
3/16/09 3:04 PM
Andreahg said...
I loved looking through your album to see the effects of the different designs. This suit and the recent brief review has inspired me to get back to work on my husband's ever evolving muslin for the perfect brief!
3/16/09 3:03 PM
clare said...
what a colourful collection! nicely sewn!
3/16/09 2:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Simplicity 1909

photo
by: norsk

Review
New Look 6162

photo
by: Mazzygirl

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

More Info