Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8462 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE JACKET,) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 441 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR
About marecstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/09 11:34 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Your comment "useful jacket for covering up in cool buildings" totally cracked me up, sorry! :D (I have so many clothes that could be described this way!) If you are actually seeking opinions... I like the black version much better because it has a "comfy sweater" feeling to it. The blue one has a more sweatshirt-ish look -- less drapey -- so perhaps that fabric doesn't suit this style as well? Just a theory. ETA: I wrote my comment very late at night (early a.m.) and forgot to add ...Great review!/ great job -- both of these are very nice. :)
3/17/09 1:50 AM
pterion said...
This is why I love Pattern Review. You have given a definite 'heads-up' to anyone planning on making this pattern. I actually prefer the blue one. I agree that the fabric doesn't have the drape of the black lace, but it is a lovely color and appears to fit you very well. Nice job on all the adjustments! Very cool style as long as one is willling to put in the tweaking time that you did!
3/17/09 10:19 AM
MaryDB said...
Nice job on working with a difficult pattern. I think the color is gorgeous on you and makes a lovely jacket.
3/17/09 1:06 PM
Em's Summer said...
Marec--Both jackets that you made are great for casual wear. I agree that the style does have a comfy sweater look! You did a great job.
3/17/09 1:32 PM
Kellie R. said...
Your jackets turned out lovely! You'd never know that the instructions fall short-thanks for the heads up. I especially like the blue version. That shade looks fabulous on you!
3/17/09 4:38 PM
Annette1 said...
What a great review! I've always wondered about this pattern (which is already in my stash, so no need for me to borrow it). :o) FIRST of all, that BLUE is YOUR COLOR! By gosh, if you don't wear this jacket, turn it into a scarf or something. It's too pretty to give up. I actually think you wear these QUITE WELL. Some people can carry off "slouchy" and some can't. (I know I can't.) You look elegantly stylish in your jackets, though. As I look at your full-length pictures, I especially like the overall proportion of the outfits.
3/18/09 1:10 AM
Heatherrique said...
Useful jacket and totally chic! You remind me of the gorgeous Joan Severance....
3/19/09 1:18 AM
marec said...
Reading your comments has made me re-think these jackets. In retrospect, and after wearing both jackets, I see I have to make some sort of closure for the black jacket. I don't want a button, or a pin. Maybe a frog closure would work to pull it together and add some drape to the front. Thank you for taking the time to carefully read the review and give your opinion. I appreciate your knowledge and feedback!
3/20/09 3:11 AM
KatiCo said...
Thank you so much. As a petite--normally a 2P--your review was invaluable. I'm just about (and have been for a very long time) to start sewing after a long hiatus and I know if my first attempts are really awful, I'll be discouraged enough to quit. Back in the '70s, when I stopped sewing, patterns were pretty predictable. I remember being able to make an easy dress in a night (usually the night before something I was really against the wall about) without any real fitting issues. Now I'm afraid to start cutting. Reviews like yours are invaluable. I'd already purchased this as teh drawings looked like they would work, but I think I'll skip it. Thanks again :) P.S. Your own versions look great on you--especially the sleeveless top, but I'm too inexperienced to downsize or deal with any complications yet.
2/28/10 4:25 PM
KatiCo said...
Thank you so much. As a petite--normally a 2P--your review was invaluable. I'm just about (and have been for a very long time) to start sewing after a long hiatus and I know if my first attempts are really awful, I'll be discouraged enough to quit. Back in the '70s, when I stopped sewing, patterns were pretty predictable. I remember being able to make an easy dress in a night (usually the night before something I was really against the wall about) without any real fitting issues. Now I'm afraid to start cutting. Reviews like yours are invaluable. I'd already purchased this as teh drawings looked like they would work, but I think I'll skip it. Thanks again :)
2/28/10 4:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 2750 BAGS
photo
Review by valgal on 2/21/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 501 Pattern
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-115B Tunic Top
photo
Review by JuneHawk on 5/2/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3517 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3517 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6938 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6938 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us