SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Macphee sewing workshop> 311 (Best of Linda's Tops (BLT))

3 more reviews
Viewed 498 times 
Reviewed by:LBowman
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LBowmanstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 9/23/08
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/09 2:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LBowman said...
Measure the pattern front hem on the size you're making, and then measure yourself from one hip to the other across the front. I was 4 inches farther across than the pattern hem, because the pattern allows for negative ease. However, if you're busty, this is just going to make it too tight because it will pull down too hard on the top. I added a full four inches at the hem - that is, cut the pattern at the hem, separated it four inches, and taped in some tissue paper. In order to make it lie flat I had to cut the pattern all the way up to partway through the neck piece, and then fill in with tissue paper and tape it down. This gave me a triangle of tissue paper running up the middle of the pattern, with a 4" base at the hemline. I'm not sure if that's clear enough?
3/30/09 2:17 PM
Monica Walker said...
I'm not quite getting the "added a full four inches to the bottom hem at the front... in a wedge shape that extended all the way up into the neck." Was it length or width that you added? I'm planning to try this pattern for a slinky eveningwear top for formal night on an upcoming cruise, and am busty.
3/28/09 9:10 AM
Collette McManus said...
I LOVE THIS TOP! I've made it in slinky, cotton knit, and a rayon/spandex knit (this fabric REALLY drapes and grows in length). I took a workshop with Linda and had a problem with the sleeve being too big like you did. I cut the L4 (largest size) in both sleeve and garment. She suggested I cut the L for the sleeve...PERFECT fit! I'm short so the length is fine for my 5'2". The sleeves are a little long for me. I roll the cotton knit ones to 3/4 and like that length. This top is feminine, and quick to make. Yours looks great and your modifications don't drastically change the character of the top. VERY nice top and I love the color.
3/25/09 4:47 PM
nicegirl said...
I'm glad you went in and made this comfortable to wear! The fit is great and it looks nice on you.
3/19/09 10:15 AM
Athene said...
Very nice results. I have made the pattern a few times and really like it.
3/18/09 5:56 PM
kim*brown said...
Nice fit
3/18/09 10:31 AM
wendlesue said...
Your addition of the hip band is very nice. You did a great job of making the shirt work. Lovely color too.
3/18/09 8:14 AM
maidathome said...
Nice shirt. It fits you well. Glad you figured your problem out. I hate to sew something and then not wear it don't you?
3/18/09 7:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1150

photo
by: kealoha

Review
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

More Info
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

More Info