SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3300 (Bra)

16 more reviews
Viewed 926 times 
Reviewed by:cindyann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cindyannstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 8/5/02
Reviews written: 42
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/09 8:44 AM
Last Updated:3/19/09 8:49 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thirteenstitches said...
Excellent job! I would never attempt to make a bra. Very impressive.
3/19/09 8:57 AM
marec said...
Wow, you did a great job on this set. They are beautiful and I can't see where there is no match. BTW, gravity has done the same thing to me-darn it.
3/19/09 8:58 AM
nicegirl said...
Lovely set! I don't care what you all crazy people say, it seems ridiculously hard!
3/19/09 10:05 AM
Rhoda K said...
Gorgeous, but seems hard to me, too ;-)
3/19/09 11:02 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Are you sure you didn't buy these at Victoria's Secret and then take a photo on your cutting board? haha Just kidding. Fabulous job! I just might have to try this.
3/19/09 11:09 AM
SewLil said...
You and Squirellypoo are giving me a nudge to try this! BTW, my 4 yo asks why my boobs hang down. LOL Great looking set. Very inspiring.
3/19/09 12:09 PM
kim*brown said...
Can I place an order???? :)
3/19/09 12:15 PM
nellc said...
Very pretty set!
3/19/09 2:50 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"I do have problems finding panties that fit..." What is it about RTW panties that don't work for you?? (I'm looking for what your patterns correct ;) )
3/19/09 3:19 PM
cindyann said...
Rhonda, I have a hard time finding panties that cover my backside. I guess you could say I got "bootie" and it keeps on getting bigger. :0
3/19/09 4:38 PM
Peggy L said...
Very pretty!
3/19/09 4:42 PM
Erica B. said...
I've always said that I would never make a bra, but yours is beautiful! It looks like high end french lingerie!
3/19/09 6:48 PM
Athene said...
A very lovely high end looking set.
3/19/09 10:59 PM
sewing for fun said...
Suggestion from an experienced bra sewer...If cups do not give enough uplift, then I suggest stabilizing lower cup -perhaps by doubling fabric with stretch going opposite direction, and then increasing upper cup volume a little (in center front quadrant- or using a slightly more stretchy upper cup fabric. That allows "the girls" to be held up higher. Feel free to send private messages if you want more help. Happy bra sewing! It usually takes me three tries to refine a new pattern perfectly unless VERY lucky! Your bra looks great! Suggested websites: http://www.bramakerssupply.com and http://www.bramakerssupply.com/blog/ Two excellent books: http://www.bramakerssupply.com/cart/shopdisplayproducts.asp?id=16&cat=Books+%26+Videos
3/19/09 11:16 PM
creative1 said...
Well, w/o the photo only guessing - not enough support for the girls. Ttry to shorten the straps and /or the back. Also is the good idea by sewing for fun to stabilize the cups, especially the lower portion.
3/20/09 2:40 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I'm so glad I inspired you! These look absolutely fantastic!!
3/20/09 7:48 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Your bra turned out so nice! I want to make some bras too, but I just haven't gotten around to it yet!
3/20/09 8:35 AM
cindyann said...
Thanks Creative1 and Sewing for Fun for your tips. It very well could be a support issue or perhaps an underwire that isn't the right size/shape.
3/20/09 10:09 AM
Karen6790 said...
If this set hadn't been photographed on a cutting mat it would have looked like a catalog photo. Very professional looking results - I'm sure you'll tweak the fit as you go along, but I would never have guessed this was your first try. Beautiful.
3/20/09 11:59 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Lovely undergarments....very nicely constructed!
3/20/09 12:43 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Beautiful job!
3/24/09 6:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: relliotts

Review
McCall's 5927

photo
by: Sirena Sol

Review
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now