SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8561 (MISSES' SKIRT AND PANTS)

8 more reviews
Viewed 661 times 
Reviewed by:Kathryn
photo

 
 
About Kathrynstar
NC USA
Member since: 3/16/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/09 9:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
enniejo said...
This review was extremely helpful to me. i was beginning to think I had lost my mind. I will now follow her instructions and let you know the results. Thank you,Kathryn!
11/30/09 12:30 PM
Wagtail said...
Thank you for your very detailed instructions as to how to put this skirt together. I was about to cut this skirt out when I thought, I might just see if there is a pattern review. You have saved me a lot of confusion and trying to work out how it all goes together. It looks fabulous in your photo.
8/5/09 2:30 AM
MarshaG. said...
I've been looking at this pattern for a while now; seeing your beautiful version has convinced me that I should try it. I LOVE it shortened! Very nice work; great changes to the blouse too!
6/10/09 11:41 PM
Jules M. said...
thank you!
5/4/09 4:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is a great help! I'm in the process of tracing the 3 bias pattern pieces, but had only removed 5/8 inch of the seam allowances. I'll go back a remove an inch. I guess I can cut with the original pieces, press and stretch, then recut with my new pieces. Honestly, I'm horrified at Vogue for issuing a pattern with such major issues.
5/2/09 10:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I truly love your version of this skirt. I am drawn to the color and the use of the stripes. Thanks for a very helpful review.
3/21/09 11:47 PM
Denise L Perry said...
This was a great review, and it's a fantastic outfit! I would love to make the skirt, but fear I'm not as clever as you are to figure the corrections out. Great job!
3/20/09 10:34 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for the very clear and detailed review of this pattern. Your skirt is adorable. What is a triple stretch stitch?
3/20/09 9:44 AM
Ann Smith said...
So clever of you to figure out all those errors. I was able to put the skirt together more by trial and error once I determined that the SAs were too big. Now together with your review and Vogue's minimal help it will be a lot easier for everyone. I love your skirt.
3/19/09 7:59 PM
Kathryn said...
Thank you all so much for the lovely compliments on my skirt. Linda, I have just gone to Marcy's site and read her tutorial. It is the same info that Vogue Pattern Consumer Support gave me when I was scratching my head over the pattern to start with! :-) However, neither she nor Vogue in its correction discusses the other errors --the missing notches or the error in the instructions and picture about favoring the interfaced side of the pocket flap. Love Lone Star State, I purchased the cotton/poly shirt at Stein Mart with my 20% off coupon (yay!) and then brought it home and tricked it out with replacement buttons, second cuffs, and the appliqued interior collar band. I had a little fabric left over, so making that shirt a more cohesive component of the outfit seemed like a fun thing to do.
3/19/09 2:59 PM
Love Lone Star State said...
Nice work, and I do mean work with your need to contact Vogue for corrections to pattern. Vogue used to be one of the best but now I'm glad to have this site to "review before I do". Thanks for your helpful review. The blouse shown with the skirt is beautiful too. Is this your creation also?
3/19/09 1:31 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Great skirt! I have added this pattern to my shopping list, and I will refer to your excellent review for help. Thank you!
3/19/09 12:13 PM
Linda P. Parker said...
Kathryn, Look at Marcy Tilton's website for an explanztion of how this pattern should be. It's explained under her tutorials. Must have been frustrating but it is so cute!
3/19/09 12:11 PM
EleanorSews said...
Your version of this skirt is my favorite so far. It takes an edgy pattern but brings it into reach for someone like me who is not so venturesome. Kudos for following up on the errata and getting some answers. Great skirt, great review.
3/19/09 11:44 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such a sleek and chic skirt! Thanks for a very informative review! You are champ in bringing the errors to Vogue's attention! Vogue should put your skirt on the envelope!
3/19/09 11:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 8666

photo
by: kkmatti

Review
No Pattern Used 3

photo
by: rosequartz

Review
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now