Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8561 (MISSES' SKIRT AND PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 659 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Kathryn
photo
About Kathrynstar
NC USA
Member since: 3/16/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/09 9:07 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Such a sleek and chic skirt! Thanks for a very informative review! You are champ in bringing the errors to Vogue's attention! Vogue should put your skirt on the envelope!
3/19/09 11:15 AM
EleanorSews said...
Your version of this skirt is my favorite so far. It takes an edgy pattern but brings it into reach for someone like me who is not so venturesome. Kudos for following up on the errata and getting some answers. Great skirt, great review.
3/19/09 11:44 AM
Linda P. Parker said...
Kathryn, Look at Marcy Tilton's website for an explanztion of how this pattern should be. It's explained under her tutorials. Must have been frustrating but it is so cute!
3/19/09 12:11 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Great skirt! I have added this pattern to my shopping list, and I will refer to your excellent review for help. Thank you!
3/19/09 12:13 PM
Love Lone Star State said...
Nice work, and I do mean work with your need to contact Vogue for corrections to pattern. Vogue used to be one of the best but now I'm glad to have this site to "review before I do". Thanks for your helpful review. The blouse shown with the skirt is beautiful too. Is this your creation also?
3/19/09 1:31 PM
Kathryn said...
Thank you all so much for the lovely compliments on my skirt. Linda, I have just gone to Marcy's site and read her tutorial. It is the same info that Vogue Pattern Consumer Support gave me when I was scratching my head over the pattern to start with! :-) However, neither she nor Vogue in its correction discusses the other errors --the missing notches or the error in the instructions and picture about favoring the interfaced side of the pocket flap. Love Lone Star State, I purchased the cotton/poly shirt at Stein Mart with my 20% off coupon (yay!) and then brought it home and tricked it out with replacement buttons, second cuffs, and the appliqued interior collar band. I had a little fabric left over, so making that shirt a more cohesive component of the outfit seemed like a fun thing to do.
3/19/09 2:59 PM
Ann Smith said...
So clever of you to figure out all those errors. I was able to put the skirt together more by trial and error once I determined that the SAs were too big. Now together with your review and Vogue's minimal help it will be a lot easier for everyone. I love your skirt.
3/19/09 7:59 PM
Karine said...
Thanks for the very clear and detailed review of this pattern. Your skirt is adorable. What is a triple stretch stitch?
3/20/09 9:44 AM
Denise L Perry said...
This was a great review, and it's a fantastic outfit! I would love to make the skirt, but fear I'm not as clever as you are to figure the corrections out. Great job!
3/20/09 10:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I truly love your version of this skirt. I am drawn to the color and the use of the stripes. Thanks for a very helpful review.
3/21/09 11:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is a great help! I'm in the process of tracing the 3 bias pattern pieces, but had only removed 5/8 inch of the seam allowances. I'll go back a remove an inch. I guess I can cut with the original pieces, press and stretch, then recut with my new pieces. Honestly, I'm horrified at Vogue for issuing a pattern with such major issues.
5/2/09 10:30 AM
Jules M. said...
thank you!
5/4/09 4:09 PM
MarshaG. said...
I've been looking at this pattern for a while now; seeing your beautiful version has convinced me that I should try it. I LOVE it shortened! Very nice work; great changes to the blouse too!
6/10/09 11:41 PM
Wagtail said...
Thank you for your very detailed instructions as to how to put this skirt together. I was about to cut this skirt out when I thought, I might just see if there is a pattern review. You have saved me a lot of confusion and trying to work out how it all goes together. It looks fabulous in your photo.
8/5/09 2:30 AM
enniejo said...
This review was extremely helpful to me. i was beginning to think I had lost my mind. I will now follow her instructions and let you know the results. Thank you,Kathryn!
11/30/09 12:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 6044 MEN'S SHIRTS
photo
Review by Ravensara on 10/14/12
Read Review

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8553
photo
Review by pt6356 on 4/20/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4005 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 4005 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1448 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1448 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us