SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> 1103 (PM Curves)

Viewed 1443 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 200
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 187
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/03 9:29 PM
Last Updated:11/21/03 6:07 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
The paper is thin enough for me to line up the crossmarks. I have not tried triming to the marks. I just keep the paper as it is and lay it over the other sheet lining up the marks. I then use Mono Aqua to glue down. The article on neckline binding was in the April/May 2003 Threads issue and if you go to their website they have a video also. I have a very cheap digital camera so the photo does not do the neck and arm finish very well.
11/22/03 7:01 PM
Mollykat said...
Which issues of Threads did you use for the binding technique?
11/21/03 9:40 PM
LynnG said...
I use the same software. I never thought of using the MonoAqua. Have it in with my notions. I have always been trimming my sheets to the registration marks and taping. It's time consuming. Is the paper from Wal-Mart thin enough to see through so you don't have to trim? Love the PM software.
11/21/03 12:30 PM
Danvillegirl said...
AnneM, I have no trouble piecing the pattern together after printing it. As MaryBeth indicated there are registration marks to help you line up your printed pages. I use legal size as well as an inexpensive banner type paper that I get at Walmart in a huge box for about $10.00. Lasts me forever. I also use MonoAqua and I like that glue very much. I buy at Office Depot. Thanks for advice on typing outside the brackets. For whatever reason I did not do this and I can see how it seems to run onto everything.
11/16/03 8:33 PM
MaryBeth said...
That's "MonoAqua" (not aquamagic, sorry), good stuff: I get it at Staples but other office supply stores have it
11/16/03 10:44 AM
MaryBeth said...
Anne, I use the same software and have learned that the pieces go together wonderfully using "AquaMagic", a "pen" type of glue that dries quickly. Each sheet has registration marks that help you to fix alignment accurately. Personally I have less trouble with my laser printed pieces than with purchased pattern pieces. I started out using tape and that wasn't too bad but for longetivity of the pattern itself the glue has more holding power.
11/16/03 10:14 AM
AnneM said...
One of these days I will have to try one of the software programs. Tip on writing the reviews: they are easier to read if you keep your typing outside of the bold areas (which are in between the brackets <> w/ the B & the /B inside). Did you have any trouble piecing the pattern together after printing it out?
11/16/03 7:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 3875

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

More Info
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

More Info