SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> 1103 (PM Curves)

Viewed 1443 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 197
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 184
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/03 9:29 PM
Last Updated:11/21/03 6:07 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
One of these days I will have to try one of the software programs. Tip on writing the reviews: they are easier to read if you keep your typing outside of the bold areas (which are in between the brackets <> w/ the B & the /B inside). Did you have any trouble piecing the pattern together after printing it out?
11/16/03 7:50 AM
MaryBeth said...
Anne, I use the same software and have learned that the pieces go together wonderfully using "AquaMagic", a "pen" type of glue that dries quickly. Each sheet has registration marks that help you to fix alignment accurately. Personally I have less trouble with my laser printed pieces than with purchased pattern pieces. I started out using tape and that wasn't too bad but for longetivity of the pattern itself the glue has more holding power.
11/16/03 10:14 AM
MaryBeth said...
That's "MonoAqua" (not aquamagic, sorry), good stuff: I get it at Staples but other office supply stores have it
11/16/03 10:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
AnneM, I have no trouble piecing the pattern together after printing it. As MaryBeth indicated there are registration marks to help you line up your printed pages. I use legal size as well as an inexpensive banner type paper that I get at Walmart in a huge box for about $10.00. Lasts me forever. I also use MonoAqua and I like that glue very much. I buy at Office Depot. Thanks for advice on typing outside the brackets. For whatever reason I did not do this and I can see how it seems to run onto everything.
11/16/03 8:33 PM
LynnG said...
I use the same software. I never thought of using the MonoAqua. Have it in with my notions. I have always been trimming my sheets to the registration marks and taping. It's time consuming. Is the paper from Wal-Mart thin enough to see through so you don't have to trim? Love the PM software.
11/21/03 12:30 PM
Mollykat said...
Which issues of Threads did you use for the binding technique?
11/21/03 9:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
The paper is thin enough for me to line up the crossmarks. I have not tried triming to the marks. I just keep the paper as it is and lay it over the other sheet lining up the marks. I then use Mono Aqua to glue down. The article on neckline binding was in the April/May 2003 Threads issue and if you go to their website they have a video also. I have a very cheap digital camera so the photo does not do the neck and arm finish very well.
11/22/03 7:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8751

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review