SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3827 (One or two-piece dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1019 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/09 11:08 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
That looks great, and I am really impressed with the difference the trim made. It really spices up the dress; it really helps the style I think. The dress looks great. Hope you are still wearing it.
12/12/10 2:13 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks Freya. It is loud to me because I'm not used to it - I know other people are really into lovely prints, and you do great things with them, but they take some getting used to!
7/19/09 7:29 PM
FreyaStark said...
That's not a loud print! Prints come much louder than that. A lovely dress - breezy and summery. You should get a lot of wear out of it.
7/18/09 5:57 AM
Athene said...
Great fit - a very flattering look.
6/26/09 9:46 PM
Gold said...
Cute summer dress.
3/23/09 8:44 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks for the Simplicity 3881 tip. It does look a great shape! =)
3/23/09 4:42 AM
Mary Nanna said...
wow - what a great success, it looks fantastic! I think you've got a case of "I sewed it" but I hope you get to fully enjoy it in time. Now if you do plan to make a tiered skirt, simplicity 3881 view D is the one to make - the fitted basque at the top adds no bulk to the hips.. Looking forward to seeing whatever you come up with next!
3/23/09 4:01 AM
Secretsugar said...
This fabric doesn't strike me as busy in the least! It's a perfect choice for this pattern and the white ribbon really makes the dress. Lovely job!
3/22/09 9:35 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks for your lovely comments everyone. I guess that this dress is just a little bit outside my comfort zone as it is not what I usually wear. But I will certainly keep wearing it! =)
3/22/09 5:48 PM
Kellie R. said...
Such a pretty dress. It looks very nice on you; not matronly at all!
3/22/09 1:34 PM
KG2 said...
Very flattering dress, I love the trim!
3/22/09 11:14 AM
Rosebeee said...
I love the white piping/ribbon! It really ties the dress together! Great job!!
3/22/09 10:47 AM
Mahler said...
Claire-Emily, the fit with that dress is very, very good. As for the print being to busy... oh, if I may say so, I do not agree. You look wonderful with that dress, It is not very busy. The eye is attracted by pale colours. Therefore, while looking at your pictures, it is the border that attracts my attention at first glance. The rest is subtle and beautiful. If you do not feel comfortable... only you can judge. You could wear the dress with a simple white or off white bolero. I think this dress is lovely and the trim gives it even more style.
3/22/09 9:38 AM
Jane S said...
Such a great summer dress. I like the print on you. Thanks for this review since I agree that the pattern picture is awfully uninspiring.
3/22/09 9:26 AM
Judy Wentz said...
You nailed it this time. Great dress! I think that the fabric is perfect, especially with the white trim. jw
3/22/09 8:44 AM
TalyQ said...
I think I want to get my hands on that pattern. I think you did a very goo job with adding the ribbon. It looks nice.
3/22/09 5:08 AM
persevering said...
Oh my! Just saw the cake too - how creative you are!
3/22/09 1:11 AM
persevering said...
What a flattering dress on you. Thanks for your review. My daughter talked me out of making this in the large cotton print I had purchased for this pattern ... How nice to see what you have done.
3/22/09 1:04 AM
Izzie said...
Cute dress and great review!
3/22/09 0:27 AM
Josephine said...
Very pretty, and the print doesn't look loud to me at all. I've had this pattern a long time - seeing your version makes me want to get to it. And what a cool cake, too!
3/21/09 11:56 PM
Laurasews said...
I think you should be very proud of yourself. I would be. this is a wonderful dress with your alterations and with the trim. You totally have an eye for what makes things work or not work.
3/21/09 11:55 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE dress!! FABULOUS fabric choice!! The dress fits you very well and it is also very flattering!!
3/21/09 11:23 PM
Christas said...
I really like the fabric and think it looks great made into this dress. It is very flattering on you!
3/21/09 11:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity 1891 - 1956 OOP Blouses

photo
by: motorharp

Review
Vogue Patterns 1328

photo
by: mangoflavo...

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

More Info
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

More Info