Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1097 (MISSES' COAT) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 693 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/09 12:39 PM
Last Updated:3/22/09 12:43 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
Nice looking jacket. I love the color.
3/22/09 1:27 PM
frame said...
Your jacket looks great. I love the shiny fabric. It really stands out.
3/22/09 1:51 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!! Your coat looks FANTASTIC!! LOVE the fabric you chose!!
3/22/09 2:00 PM
Ann Smith said...
Love the color and style on you. Wearing hoods up is only for emergencies anyway...
3/22/09 2:24 PM
Tere Sews said...
I heve made this coat twice now and love it. The first was in a rayon nylon and the 2nd in a medium weight wool. Lots of compliments.
3/22/09 4:08 PM
Michelle L said...
Wow, what a fantastic color! Thanks for the great review!
3/22/09 8:45 PM
katie lynne said...
Well, I think you did a great job all the way around. It certainly looks like its got you covered from inclement weather, and that's what its supposed to do (goofy hood or no)! I can't stand a hooded jacket that doesn't do the job for the sake of fashion (but maybe that's just my age showing :o). Thanks for a thorough review, I think I'll tackle this since yours looks so nice. I bought this pattern and the new hotpatterns parka pattern, but will delve into this one first because of your great review.
3/31/09 6:17 AM
SheBear0320 said...
Love this jacket and have just picked up the pattern. Hope to get to work on it soon. Your pointers about the hood will have me taking a closer look to see if it can be altered to be more suitable. Also thanks for the tip on the amount of ease. Love your colour.
6/16/09 7:06 PM
Yvonski said...
I've bought this pattern to make for my DD who is a school teacher. Do you think I will be able to alter the hood, so it is more 'normal'? Thanks for an informative review.
7/4/09 4:35 PM
WildWyoming said...
Fantastic coat! As for the hip ease, I guess their sizing was correct if you made a smaller size than they recommended. Good to note. Also, I totally understand what you're saying about the hood, and I take it that you really don't expect to spend a lot of time outdoors in icestorms or cold rain. For those of us who have lived in environments where that type of weather is par for the course and one's personal safety is at stake, this hood is a great thing! It look fashionable and unique when down, and it keeps you covered when it's up. Like Katie Lynn said, perhaps it's my age (not ancient though), but that's to me a great thing. I hate hoods that look great down and cute up and leave your hair sopping and ears throbbing from vicious cold. Now, we don't get much weather like that where I live now, but being from Wyoming where the wise are prepared with a winter coat at hand 12 months a year, this feature is fantastic! Hey, wait a minute! You're from Canada! But, I do understand.
10/5/10 11:00 PM
WildWyoming said...
Does the lining show when you have the hood up? I'm considering this pattern and would love it if the lining showed because my lining color would help my complexion versus my black wool coating.
10/5/10 11:02 PM
spiffywherever said...
I loved your comment about the hood, LOL. I can see the look and maybe size of it have to be dealt with. Thanks for such a good review.
1/7/14 9:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 2316
photo
Review by RockNRoll on 10/28/10
Read Review

Vogue 8711 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8711 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5759 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5759 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2900
photo
Review by Diana M on 12/5/04
Read Review

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us