SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1097 (MISSES' COAT)

1 more reviews
Viewed 709 times 
Reviewed by:lmg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lmgstarstar
NA CANADA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/09 12:39 PM
Last Updated:3/22/09 12:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
spiffywherever said...
I loved your comment about the hood, LOL. I can see the look and maybe size of it have to be dealt with. Thanks for such a good review.
1/7/14 9:20 AM
WildWyoming said...
Does the lining show when you have the hood up? I'm considering this pattern and would love it if the lining showed because my lining color would help my complexion versus my black wool coating.
10/5/10 11:02 PM
WildWyoming said...
Fantastic coat! As for the hip ease, I guess their sizing was correct if you made a smaller size than they recommended. Good to note. Also, I totally understand what you're saying about the hood, and I take it that you really don't expect to spend a lot of time outdoors in icestorms or cold rain. For those of us who have lived in environments where that type of weather is par for the course and one's personal safety is at stake, this hood is a great thing! It look fashionable and unique when down, and it keeps you covered when it's up. Like Katie Lynn said, perhaps it's my age (not ancient though), but that's to me a great thing. I hate hoods that look great down and cute up and leave your hair sopping and ears throbbing from vicious cold. Now, we don't get much weather like that where I live now, but being from Wyoming where the wise are prepared with a winter coat at hand 12 months a year, this feature is fantastic! Hey, wait a minute! You're from Canada! But, I do understand.
10/5/10 11:00 PM
Yvonski said...
I've bought this pattern to make for my DD who is a school teacher. Do you think I will be able to alter the hood, so it is more 'normal'? Thanks for an informative review.
7/4/09 4:35 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Love this jacket and have just picked up the pattern. Hope to get to work on it soon. Your pointers about the hood will have me taking a closer look to see if it can be altered to be more suitable. Also thanks for the tip on the amount of ease. Love your colour.
6/16/09 7:06 PM
katie lynne said...
Well, I think you did a great job all the way around. It certainly looks like its got you covered from inclement weather, and that's what its supposed to do (goofy hood or no)! I can't stand a hooded jacket that doesn't do the job for the sake of fashion (but maybe that's just my age showing :o). Thanks for a thorough review, I think I'll tackle this since yours looks so nice. I bought this pattern and the new hotpatterns parka pattern, but will delve into this one first because of your great review.
3/31/09 6:17 AM
Michelle L said...
Wow, what a fantastic color! Thanks for the great review!
3/22/09 8:45 PM
Tere Sews said...
I heve made this coat twice now and love it. The first was in a rayon nylon and the 2nd in a medium weight wool. Lots of compliments.
3/22/09 4:08 PM
Ann Smith said...
Love the color and style on you. Wearing hoods up is only for emergencies anyway...
3/22/09 2:24 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!! Your coat looks FANTASTIC!! LOVE the fabric you chose!!
3/22/09 2:00 PM
frame said...
Your jacket looks great. I love the shiny fabric. It really stands out.
3/22/09 1:51 PM
Kellie R. said...
Nice looking jacket. I love the color.
3/22/09 1:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 9107

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Simplicity 4079

photo
by: Lori9999

Review
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now