SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8558 

8 more reviews
Viewed 3671 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 267
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/03 5:14 PM
Last Updated:7/13/04 2:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
DiDiva Adding seam allowances to Neue Mode and burda magazine patterns is easier than it seems. I use different methods depending on my needs. Sometimes I will just measure 1/4" from the stitching line, mark dots and join the lines. OR I will rubber band two pencils together and trace the cutting and stitching lines together. Yet another method is to use the rotary cutter guide and set it to the desired seam allowance. You can find a review of this gadget Here. Hope this helps.
7/14/04 2:54 PM
D1Diva said...
Your comments on the fit of these German patterns make me want to give them a try right now! What is your technique for adding seam allowances? Do you actually use tissue paper or mark the fabric before you cut? I've heard different ways. Your top has that one of a kind, boutique look...very pretty!
7/14/04 9:38 AM
Hope K said...
Deepika, your top is lovely. I made a dress from a Burda pattern using the same paisley fabric - that fabric drapes really well!
7/14/04 7:58 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone for such nice comments. This really is a great pattern! Grab it while its still not OOP. minieme to do the armhole binding, I first measured the circumference on the paper pattern (the stitching line) and then subtracted one inch from it and cut two strips with that length and 1.5" wide. Then I sewed both of them into circles, sewing the short sides together. After that quarter the armhole and the circle and sew it on right sides together. Wrap the binding over and under the armhole to the wrong side, enclosing the seam allowance and then topstitch (stitch in the ditch) to secure it. If there is excess left on the wrong side, I trim it using applique scissors. Let me know if this helps.
7/14/04 7:45 AM
Levone said...
Your new version is very nice.....I plan to try out the sleeveless version soon, so thanks for your review of it! Good to hear that the armholes fit nicely and don't gap.
7/13/04 8:28 PM
minieme said...
The fit is perfect! Q: How do you do the narrow binding? I hate doing necklines and armholes in knits, so am always looking for better ways.
7/13/04 4:53 PM
els said...
Great top and beautiful colors that suits you very well.
7/13/04 4:10 PM
MaryBeth said...
This looks very ladylike and fits well.
7/13/04 4:03 PM
jlg said...
This is beautiful on you. I like this sleeveless version.
7/13/04 4:01 PM
Ann B. said...
Very cute Deepika. Good thing we do not live too near each other... I just bought this same fabric to do the KS sleeveless cowl and flounce skirt. After seeing your NM skirt, I think I will leave off the flounce. I like yours better! Your top fits beautifully, and I also got to catch up with your skirt review that I somehow missed.
7/13/04 3:19 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Beautiful job, Deepika! Great fit--especially through the armholes.
7/13/04 3:13 PM
Skymom said...
Very cute top; this is a terrific alternative to the basic t-shirt, as it looks more dressed-up but still comfy--and what a nice fit. I love the print, too.
7/13/04 2:54 PM
Deepika said...
Wow penelope, I am so flattered :) thank you very much. Actually these are not supposed to be "My colors" according to the color me beautiful book but what was I to do? I was simply in love with the skirt fabric and I had to buy the solid to match it.
11/18/03 9:37 PM
JDpenelope said...
Love the top, and also the hair. Your cut reminds me of my dgd's--when she had surgery on her ear, the doctor recommended a haircut. She went from TONS of beautiful hair (like yours) to a very nicely coiffed style (like yours). Someday, I'm going to make a study of your reviews of tops, but it's getting difficult to keep up with you! The color of this one is particularly appealing.
11/18/03 8:14 PM
sewnew said...
Cute outfit, love the shape of the top.
11/18/03 7:23 PM
Julia Graham said...
Your haircut is beautiful! (Cute top too but a haircut is _always_ on so it's even more important.) :-)
11/17/03 4:56 PM
Deepika said...
You guys are so nice! That's why I love writing reviews. Not only do I learn something each time I review but I also get lots of great compliments which only my sewing buddies can give :) Thanks to everyone!
11/17/03 2:54 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Scrumptious, Deepika!! *Love* the fabric and the style is ultra flattering on you!
11/17/03 2:34 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Next time we go to Spandex House I will have to follow you around - love the fabic you found! Looks great on you.
11/17/03 10:04 AM
Kim Winson said...
I love the drape on the neck! Your outfit looks very cute.
11/17/03 9:39 AM
cindyann said...
Great top. Looks wonderful with the skirt. Nicely done.
11/17/03 7:40 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice top, and what a great oufit. I like the drape neck.
11/17/03 7:04 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Lovely! You look terrific. What cute clothes you've sewn up lately!
11/17/03 4:17 AM
Elona said...
The whole ensemble is just perfect, and your haircut is lovely. I remember reading a very old Vogue magazine article about the mag sending some famous hairdresser around the globe to coif various female royalty for a photo essay. This guy was delighted when he got to India, because he said that Indian women had the most wonderful hair in the world.
11/16/03 9:27 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Stunning new outfit and new do! Can't believe how fast you're sewing up that NYC fabric.
11/16/03 9:11 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks great. Color looks good on you.
11/16/03 8:23 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Oooh, that looks nice! Very flattering style and color!
11/16/03 8:02 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
You got just the right combination of fabric, pattern, and fit. Looks like this pattern is a winner!
11/16/03 7:59 PM
CatherineN said...
The neckline is so becoming to you and the color looks good too. And yes, your haircut is so becoming.
11/16/03 6:49 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Deepika, I tried to buy that pattern yesterday but the store was out. It looks wonderful on you. I love the fabric. -Ann
11/16/03 6:41 PM
Mel.J said...
Very very flattering. Fantastic choice & combination of fabric & pattern. (I like your haircut too)
11/16/03 6:20 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I like it with the long sleeves, I'll have to try it, too. This is a great pattern!
11/16/03 6:12 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty, Deepika. I like that neckline on you.
11/16/03 5:57 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful!
11/16/03 5:50 PM
Gloria Allender said...
Deepika, this looks great. I saw a top very similar to this at Nordstrom's on Friday for $68.00. The sleeves are exactly like the Nordstrom's top. I love the sleeves!
11/16/03 5:30 PM
Teri said...
Wow! That is so cute!
11/16/03 5:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

New Look 6202

photo
by: ashleyjewe...

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now