Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8558 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 3654 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/03 5:14 PM
Last Updated:7/13/04 2:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Teri said...
Wow! That is so cute!
11/16/03 5:23 PM
Gloria Allender said...
Deepika, this looks great. I saw a top very similar to this at Nordstrom's on Friday for $68.00. The sleeves are exactly like the Nordstrom's top. I love the sleeves!
11/16/03 5:30 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful!
11/16/03 5:50 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty, Deepika. I like that neckline on you.
11/16/03 5:57 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I like it with the long sleeves, I'll have to try it, too. This is a great pattern!
11/16/03 6:12 PM
Mel.J said...
Very very flattering. Fantastic choice & combination of fabric & pattern. (I like your haircut too)
11/16/03 6:20 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Deepika, I tried to buy that pattern yesterday but the store was out. It looks wonderful on you. I love the fabric. -Ann
11/16/03 6:41 PM
CatherineN said...
The neckline is so becoming to you and the color looks good too. And yes, your haircut is so becoming.
11/16/03 6:49 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
You got just the right combination of fabric, pattern, and fit. Looks like this pattern is a winner!
11/16/03 7:59 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Oooh, that looks nice! Very flattering style and color!
11/16/03 8:02 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks great. Color looks good on you.
11/16/03 8:23 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Stunning new outfit and new do! Can't believe how fast you're sewing up that NYC fabric.
11/16/03 9:11 PM
Elona said...
The whole ensemble is just perfect, and your haircut is lovely. I remember reading a very old Vogue magazine article about the mag sending some famous hairdresser around the globe to coif various female royalty for a photo essay. This guy was delighted when he got to India, because he said that Indian women had the most wonderful hair in the world.
11/16/03 9:27 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Lovely! You look terrific. What cute clothes you've sewn up lately!
11/17/03 4:17 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice top, and what a great oufit. I like the drape neck.
11/17/03 7:04 AM
cindyann said...
Great top. Looks wonderful with the skirt. Nicely done.
11/17/03 7:40 AM
Kim Winson said...
I love the drape on the neck! Your outfit looks very cute.
11/17/03 9:39 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Next time we go to Spandex House I will have to follow you around - love the fabic you found! Looks great on you.
11/17/03 10:04 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Scrumptious, Deepika!! *Love* the fabric and the style is ultra flattering on you!
11/17/03 2:34 PM
Deepika said...
You guys are so nice! That's why I love writing reviews. Not only do I learn something each time I review but I also get lots of great compliments which only my sewing buddies can give :) Thanks to everyone!
11/17/03 2:54 PM
Julia Graham said...
Your haircut is beautiful! (Cute top too but a haircut is _always_ on so it's even more important.) :-)
11/17/03 4:56 PM
sewnew said...
Cute outfit, love the shape of the top.
11/18/03 7:23 PM
JDpenelope said...
Love the top, and also the hair. Your cut reminds me of my dgd's--when she had surgery on her ear, the doctor recommended a haircut. She went from TONS of beautiful hair (like yours) to a very nicely coiffed style (like yours). Someday, I'm going to make a study of your reviews of tops, but it's getting difficult to keep up with you! The color of this one is particularly appealing.
11/18/03 8:14 PM
Deepika said...
Wow penelope, I am so flattered :) thank you very much. Actually these are not supposed to be "My colors" according to the color me beautiful book but what was I to do? I was simply in love with the skirt fabric and I had to buy the solid to match it.
11/18/03 9:37 PM
Skymom said...
Very cute top; this is a terrific alternative to the basic t-shirt, as it looks more dressed-up but still comfy--and what a nice fit. I love the print, too.
7/13/04 2:54 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Beautiful job, Deepika! Great fit--especially through the armholes.
7/13/04 3:13 PM
Ann B. said...
Very cute Deepika. Good thing we do not live too near each other... I just bought this same fabric to do the KS sleeveless cowl and flounce skirt. After seeing your NM skirt, I think I will leave off the flounce. I like yours better! Your top fits beautifully, and I also got to catch up with your skirt review that I somehow missed.
7/13/04 3:19 PM
jlg said...
This is beautiful on you. I like this sleeveless version.
7/13/04 4:01 PM
MaryBeth said...
This looks very ladylike and fits well.
7/13/04 4:03 PM
els said...
Great top and beautiful colors that suits you very well.
7/13/04 4:10 PM
minieme said...
The fit is perfect! Q: How do you do the narrow binding? I hate doing necklines and armholes in knits, so am always looking for better ways.
7/13/04 4:53 PM
Levone said...
Your new version is very nice.....I plan to try out the sleeveless version soon, so thanks for your review of it! Good to hear that the armholes fit nicely and don't gap.
7/13/04 8:28 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone for such nice comments. This really is a great pattern! Grab it while its still not OOP. minieme to do the armhole binding, I first measured the circumference on the paper pattern (the stitching line) and then subtracted one inch from it and cut two strips with that length and 1.5" wide. Then I sewed both of them into circles, sewing the short sides together. After that quarter the armhole and the circle and sew it on right sides together. Wrap the binding over and under the armhole to the wrong side, enclosing the seam allowance and then topstitch (stitch in the ditch) to secure it. If there is excess left on the wrong side, I trim it using applique scissors. Let me know if this helps.
7/14/04 7:45 AM
Hope K said...
Deepika, your top is lovely. I made a dress from a Burda pattern using the same paisley fabric - that fabric drapes really well!
7/14/04 7:58 AM
D1Diva said...
Your comments on the fit of these German patterns make me want to give them a try right now! What is your technique for adding seam allowances? Do you actually use tissue paper or mark the fabric before you cut? I've heard different ways. Your top has that one of a kind, boutique look...very pretty!
7/14/04 9:38 AM
Deepika said...
DiDiva Adding seam allowances to Neue Mode and burda magazine patterns is easier than it seems. I use different methods depending on my needs. Sometimes I will just measure 1/4" from the stitching line, mark dots and join the lines. OR I will rubber band two pencils together and trace the cutting and stitching lines together. Yet another method is to use the rotary cutter guide and set it to the desired seam allowance. You can find a review of this gadget Here. Hope this helps.
7/14/04 2:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Other Hot Scott Cargo Shorts
photo
Review by debbielnix on 5/23/10
Read Review

Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern
Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2009-106
photo
Review by jennybaxt on 2/22/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl Panel Bag
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1675 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1675 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1259 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 1259 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us