SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V8151 (Today's Fit Top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 816 times 
Reviewed by:Sharonspils
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharonspilsstarstar
NSW Australia
Member since: 5/16/07
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/09 6:50 AM
Last Updated:3/24/09 5:22 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
Great top. My muslin last year was bad as I fooled with the front so much I murdered the pattern- didn't know much about fit alterations or the Betzina series at the time. I want to revisit it as so many like you made a nice shirt. What sort of alteration did you make to the front neck for the gaposis? I know now I also need to do some of the other alterations that you did. Maybe it will go better the next time.
3/23/09 7:53 AM
Peggy L said...
Very nice! This is my TNT knit t-shirt pattern.
3/23/09 8:02 AM
AngieC said...
Love your top! The fit and fabric are perfect-
3/23/09 9:20 AM
morzel said...
You sure got those alterations for fit nailed - the top is perfect!! Looks great.
3/23/09 10:39 AM
Nancy K said...
This looks great on you. Terrific fit. This is my tnt t shirt and I have made it up with different necklines and into a cardigan. It is a terrific basic to have around
3/23/09 11:43 AM
j222b said...
I also would be interested to know exact alterations you made for the round shoulder and all that follow on your list.
3/23/09 1:39 PM
RMJ said...
What a nice fit!
3/23/09 4:46 PM
Sharonspils said...
Thank you ladies for your comments I really apprecaite them. I will try and get some photos together of the alterations I made to my pattern (these are my standard pattern adjustments) and edit the review.
3/23/09 7:26 PM
moushka said...
Looks like your alterations produced a perfect-fitting tee-shirt. Love the colour. Looking forward to more details as I need to make almost all the same changes to my patterns. (Your picture doesn't look in the least bit round-shouldered!).
3/23/09 7:33 PM
cecelia said...
Don't you just love this pattern? I was pleasantly surprised when I made it. It looks nice on you.
3/23/09 7:38 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your top fits you beautifully. I have this pattern, but I haven't yet tried the plain T.
3/23/09 9:04 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
repeat--argh!
3/23/09 9:04 PM
Athene said...
A really good looking top with a very nice fit.
3/23/09 9:23 PM
TalyQ said...
Well, apparently I am going to have to try mine again. I am curious as to your FBA. I see that you didn't slash through the existing dart? So what did you do with the french dart? Just drew new lines? Curiously I don't think I needed to do an FBA on this, but had to lower the dart a lot. I think I might have to make the sleeves wider like you. Great top. Wish my tops from this pattern would look so good. Thanks for the review.
3/24/09 8:21 AM
chloeE said...
Beautiful!! after i watched the FFRP and Thread fitting DVDs, I know exactly how you did your alterations, and I know how to do them myself. It's an empowering feeling. Congratulations on a terrific top and the great review.
3/24/09 10:39 AM
NC Carol said...
Nice fabric, very nice fit. Congrats!
3/24/09 10:39 AM
marec said...
wow, gorgeous top and the fit is perfect. I have this pattern and am going to move it up in the line. Thank you for a great review and the references...even page numbers! You have raised the bar on reviewing :-)
3/24/09 11:34 AM
j222b said...
Wow! Thanks so much for the helpful alteration instructions. Love your top.
3/24/09 12:21 PM
Heatherrique said...
Superb fitting top!
3/24/09 2:04 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I think we inherited the SAME BODY!! Thank you for your helpful hints!!
3/24/09 5:57 PM
Sharonspils said...
Taly Q, please don't take any notice of the FBA, this is the first one I have ever done and I started it using a very basic diagram and then when I got in trouble I dragged out FFRP and realised that it was a mess, however it did work. I didn't do a french dart just a normal bust dart.
3/24/09 6:49 PM
MareeAlison said...
Sharon - I love your top. I had no success with this one, so I may have to try it again.
3/27/09 8:01 PM
katie lynne said...
Great looking T on you. You've achieved such a good fit. Thank you for the detailed referencing to FFRP. I learned a lot from your input--now I'm jazzed to use this pattern.
3/31/09 7:39 AM
Bunny7 said...
Just getting around to making this up and like most patterns wouldn't dream of cutting without first reading the reviews. Great looking 'T" on you and thanks for the great fitting review.
6/22/11 6:25 PM
lazyjgirl said...
Good looking and very professional finish. The round back instructions are very helpful to me. I just bought the pattern, and will give your fit adjustments a try. Keep sewing and adding your reviews, please! Thanks
7/14/11 5:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6129

photo
by: mrsbewley

Review