SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2868 (Tankini & Shirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 295 times 
Reviewed by:goosegreen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About goosegreenstarstarstar
NSW Australia
Member since: 1/9/05
Reviews: 132 (patterns: 127)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/09 7:38 PM
Last Updated:3/23/09 7:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stargirl7 said... (5/19/09 10:52 PM) Reply
In the states, we call a "rashie" a "rash guard". They protect you from the sun, and also from getting "road rash" from being thrown against the sand (if you're surfing).
Stitchcakes said... (4/24/09 12:29 PM) Reply
Thanks for this review; I am thinking of making this for whitewater rafting as a happy medium between a swim top and a t-shirt. These are great tips!
goosegreen said... (3/27/09 6:48 PM) Reply
Lori, a rashie is something that one wears to stop getting sunburnt. So it's made of lycra (like a swimsuit) & you wear it in the water. These have only become "the norm" in the past 15 yrs or so now that we Aussies realise the dangers of the sun. Previously it was only children who wore them but it is becoming more common for adults to wear them too. HTH.
LoriU said... (3/25/09 10:36 PM) Reply
OK I just have to ask - is a rashie what we in the states would call a t-shirt? Or is it a swimsuit coverup? Thanks for your patience!
Heidi Ho said... (3/23/09 11:32 PM) Reply
Nice rashie, can't wait to see the rest of the suit!
MamaSewing said... (3/23/09 11:10 PM) Reply
I agree that your colors are great together. Nice job!
JEF said... (3/23/09 10:08 PM) Reply
Really nice - I love your color choice.
AnneMarie60 said... (3/23/09 9:07 PM) Reply
Your V-neck looks perfect. I love the print with the solid. I might give the pattern a whirl.
MelC said... (3/23/09 8:54 PM) Reply
I love the way you used the solid and print together. Great job!
Sew4Fun said... (3/23/09 8:09 PM) Reply
Nice rashy. This is the pattern I use for all mine too. Btw many swimwear lycras have more stretch on the lengthwise grain so that's why the pattern is laid out this way, that's all. If yours had equal stretch it can be cut either way saving fabric.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 260079-1002

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Pattern Details