SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2868 (Tankini & Shirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 290 times 
Reviewed by:goosegreen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About goosegreenstarstarstar
NSW Australia
Member since: 1/9/05
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/09 7:38 PM
Last Updated:3/23/09 7:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stargirl7 said...
In the states, we call a "rashie" a "rash guard". They protect you from the sun, and also from getting "road rash" from being thrown against the sand (if you're surfing).
5/19/09 10:52 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Thanks for this review; I am thinking of making this for whitewater rafting as a happy medium between a swim top and a t-shirt. These are great tips!
4/24/09 12:29 PM
goosegreen said...
Lori, a rashie is something that one wears to stop getting sunburnt. So it's made of lycra (like a swimsuit) & you wear it in the water. These have only become "the norm" in the past 15 yrs or so now that we Aussies realise the dangers of the sun. Previously it was only children who wore them but it is becoming more common for adults to wear them too. HTH.
3/27/09 6:48 PM
LoriU said...
OK I just have to ask - is a rashie what we in the states would call a t-shirt? Or is it a swimsuit coverup? Thanks for your patience!
3/25/09 10:36 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice rashie, can't wait to see the rest of the suit!
3/23/09 11:32 PM
MamaSewing said...
I agree that your colors are great together. Nice job!
3/23/09 11:10 PM
JEF said...
Really nice - I love your color choice.
3/23/09 10:08 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your V-neck looks perfect. I love the print with the solid. I might give the pattern a whirl.
3/23/09 9:07 PM
MelC said...
I love the way you used the solid and print together. Great job!
3/23/09 8:54 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice rashy. This is the pattern I use for all mine too. Btw many swimwear lycras have more stretch on the lengthwise grain so that's why the pattern is laid out this way, that's all. If yours had equal stretch it can be cut either way saving fabric.
3/23/09 8:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

StyleArc Creative Cate Top

photo
by: brissie71

Review
Burda 0006A

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

More Info