SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2868 (Tankini & Shirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 290 times 
Reviewed by:goosegreen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About goosegreenstarstarstar
NSW Australia
Member since: 1/9/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/09 7:38 PM
Last Updated:3/23/09 7:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Nice rashy. This is the pattern I use for all mine too. Btw many swimwear lycras have more stretch on the lengthwise grain so that's why the pattern is laid out this way, that's all. If yours had equal stretch it can be cut either way saving fabric.
3/23/09 8:09 PM
MelC said...
I love the way you used the solid and print together. Great job!
3/23/09 8:54 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your V-neck looks perfect. I love the print with the solid. I might give the pattern a whirl.
3/23/09 9:07 PM
JEF said...
Really nice - I love your color choice.
3/23/09 10:08 PM
MamaSewing said...
I agree that your colors are great together. Nice job!
3/23/09 11:10 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice rashie, can't wait to see the rest of the suit!
3/23/09 11:32 PM
LoriU said...
OK I just have to ask - is a rashie what we in the states would call a t-shirt? Or is it a swimsuit coverup? Thanks for your patience!
3/25/09 10:36 PM
goosegreen said...
Lori, a rashie is something that one wears to stop getting sunburnt. So it's made of lycra (like a swimsuit) & you wear it in the water. These have only become "the norm" in the past 15 yrs or so now that we Aussies realise the dangers of the sun. Previously it was only children who wore them but it is becoming more common for adults to wear them too. HTH.
3/27/09 6:48 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Thanks for this review; I am thinking of making this for whitewater rafting as a happy medium between a swim top and a t-shirt. These are great tips!
4/24/09 12:29 PM
Stargirl7 said...
In the states, we call a "rashie" a "rash guard". They protect you from the sun, and also from getting "road rash" from being thrown against the sand (if you're surfing).
5/19/09 10:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-117

photo
by: poppykettl...

Review
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now