SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5525 (Trench Jacket)

62 more reviews
Viewed 1992 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 416 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:3/24/09 1:38 AM
Last Updated:3/24/09 1:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
Thanks for pointing out the error:=)
9/30/09 10:20 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous jacket, Erica! Impressively constructed!
3/25/09 12:24 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Such a nice jacket! Thanks for the review.
3/25/09 12:13 PM
Grammy Gin said...
What a wonderful job you did with this jacket! ALL of those alterations....WOW! It is very flattering! Love your choice of material.
3/25/09 9:12 AM
Robin S said...
Stunning trench coat!
3/25/09 8:57 AM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous - in color, style, fit. This is a stunning jacket. I LOVE trench styles; they are so timeless. And this color really makes it stand out.
3/25/09 8:38 AM
Woolygal said...
It sounds like you spent a lot of time on details for this jacket, but it shows. It's beautiful. Enjoy it.
3/25/09 7:35 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful trench. You are an inspiration.
3/25/09 7:17 AM
Angien said...
Erica, I've had my eye on your work for some time now because you are such an inspiration. This trench jacket is absolutely gorgeous- you are very talented indeed! Just an idea- had you considered a spray on water repellant to make your jacket all-weather? Keep up the great work!
3/25/09 0:53 AM
MichelleE said...
Great job, Erica. Once again, your work is impeccable!
3/25/09 0:41 AM
Elke said...
Great looking trench jacket...the color is very pretty!
3/24/09 9:20 PM
Annette Wright said...
This is beautiful. I saw it on your blog and was so darn impressed. Lovely!!!!
3/24/09 9:19 PM
Linda S said...
You did an EXCELLENT job on this jacket.
3/24/09 8:56 PM
Tailypo said...
Alright, missy, now you are just buying divine, high-end garment and fobbing them off as your own creations on PR. ADMIT IT!!! No? Honest...? Well, dang. That is beautiful. Your work has become absolutely, unspeakably beautiful. You should be very, very proud of yourself. Brava!
3/24/09 7:57 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This jacket is FABULOUS! Your creations are AMAZING!
3/24/09 7:18 PM
washer_woman said...
Such a pretty jacket! Thank you for the great review!
3/24/09 6:31 PM
sewbehind said...
Lovely fabric, gorgeous trenchcoat. You just keep getting better and better, Erica.
3/24/09 6:23 PM
JaybirdNoel said...
Beautiful. And the bonus photos really show how the color of the fabric changes with the lighting.
3/24/09 4:18 PM
CynthiaSue said...
mojo shomjo! you didn't lose your mojo for all of 6 seconds:) this blue suits you well and the jacket looks just like all the trenches i've been seeing at Neiman. love it!
3/24/09 3:20 PM
Darla in PA said...
What a wonderful trench coat! It looks very professional.
3/24/09 3:19 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
A classic with pizzaz! Love the bright lining, too. Well done!
3/24/09 2:37 PM
JoanneM said...
Great color and construction. Wonderful!
3/24/09 2:28 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Super Fantabulous!
3/24/09 2:18 PM
RLL said...
Ditto on what everyone else said. I REALLY like this.
3/24/09 2:13 PM
Erica B. said...
@ Puddin Pop, I didn't make the sleeve heads. I purchased them from Atlanta Thread Co.
3/24/09 1:43 PM
Mahler said...
What a nice surprise, I thought you had sewn a longer trench coat after seeing the teaser on your blog. What a great length ! Very urban chic. You look so nice in that colour. It is a grayish blue on my screen. This is a fantastic colour on you.
3/24/09 1:37 PM
Puddin Pop said...
I've been looking for a good trench coat for the rain. How did you make the sleeve heads? I really like this style and of course, you did a great job, as usual.
3/24/09 12:41 PM
tklwa26 said...
Looks fabulous! The quality shows.
3/24/09 12:28 PM
Patti B said...
Wow, wow, wow! Just gorgeous. I can see why you fell in love with the fabric and the lining is the perfect foil. Another fantabulous sewing project from you.
3/24/09 12:17 PM
janet said...
How does one say P-E-R-F-E-C-T-I-O-N!!! That says it all. Once again you have outdone yourself.
3/24/09 11:59 AM
Erica B. said...
@ peaudane, I pre-washed this fabric and pressed it while it was damp. But I will still send it the cleaners when needed.
3/24/09 11:14 AM
Erica B. said...
@ Kim Brown, yep... same pattern. I still plan to do it in the royal blue.
3/24/09 11:10 AM
kim*brown said...
Erica, is this the same trench coat pattern, different fabric, you started last year and stopped? I love it!
3/24/09 10:51 AM
frame said...
Beautiful. Great job.
3/24/09 10:30 AM
Byrdie said...
Very nice trench... love the color!
3/24/09 10:29 AM
carolynw said...
BIG WOW!! This is beautiful
3/24/09 10:25 AM
JBsewmonster said...
Love it! You have a special talent for matching the perfect fabric to the perfect pattern. Your reviews are always an inspiration.
3/24/09 9:55 AM
kasizzle said...
Gorgeous!
3/24/09 9:50 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Absolutely gorgeous. I loved it when I first saw it. Great review and I love your alterations.
3/24/09 9:12 AM
Gold said...
Love it love all the details you added to the jacket. I am liking that fabric very different. Great job Erica B. :)
3/24/09 9:11 AM
JustTrina said...
this pattern is just TDF! your coat is FAB! I am also working on this pattern and came to look for some lining pictures so thanks for sharing those! your fabric selection is great and it looks great on you! thanks for always sharing.
3/24/09 9:07 AM
Michelle L said...
Gorgeous! You jacket is adorable!
3/24/09 8:46 AM
Dei said...
Erica, you already know that this jacket is TDF! I'd just be repeating myself how much I love this jacket. The fabric is fab.
3/24/09 8:30 AM
colourbynumber said...
I love the color on you! Great looking coat.
3/24/09 8:27 AM
peaudane said...
Such a fabulous looking coat!! I saw some coated linens (is that what this is? ) and the salesperson told me they were dry-clean only. So I'm curious: is your fabric washable? Is it waterproof?
3/24/09 8:25 AM
Nancy K said...
great looking jacket. You certainly recovered from lack of sewing mojo!
3/24/09 8:14 AM
Sic said...
Another gorgeous creation! I can see why you were drawn to the fabric - it is beautiful!
3/24/09 8:05 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic job, the fabric is wonderful.
3/24/09 7:04 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Erica, you might have outdone even yourself on this one....BRAVISIMO!
3/24/09 7:02 AM
Phasionz by M said...
GREAT JOB!
3/24/09 6:57 AM
Tany said...
Erica, you did an OUTSTANDING job on this garment! I really love it, all the details are so precious and the construction is flawless! You are a great inspiration!
3/24/09 4:42 AM
KG2 said...
Great Jacket! I love trench coats, you did an awesome job.
3/24/09 2:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 2975

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
McCall's 5548

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now